We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous homely B&B with lovely hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Field Farm Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sulhamstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Field Farm Cottage
Save
You added Field Farm Cottage to your Saves list
Sulhamstead Hill, Sulhamstead, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sulhamstead B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous homely B&B with lovely hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

What a real find this place was! Stayed here on a 4 day charity cycling trip on our first night. Lovely characterful rooms in a beautiful farm cottage with an array of gorgeous pets wondering around. A bathroom with a huge bath and lots of lovely smellies to use. The owners Anne and Pat were lovely and went above and beyond the call of duty - even driving us down to the local pub to get dinner, and then picking us up again! Amazing! We went for a full English which was both huge and delicious, and included home made bread and jam. Can't recommend highly enough - wonderful place that gave us the strength to get back on the bikes again the following morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife says the bed is even more comfortable than at home!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Lovely room, lovely house, lovely lady, lovely dogs!

Its the little touches and the warmth and friendliness that make a difference. Looking for a place to stay near Theale? This is it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed for three nights as I was working just to the west of Reading during the day. It's 5 minutes' drive from Junction 12 on the M4 and is run by Pat and Ann Froom. I had the en suite (with shower) double room for £40 a night and the breakfast (included in the price) was fantastic. They have chickens there (no rooster that I heard!) and the eggs are FRESH.

Very comfortable bed and duvet with a small TV in the room, it was just what I needed. You do need a car to be able to get to this place but there is ample free parking away from the road. There is a pub (about a mile away) which serves food but the closest supermarket seemed to be the enormous Sainsburys just north of Junction 12.

Excellent all round and Pat and Ann are very good breakfast company too.

For those that might have allergy issues, they own two black labradors and two cats but they don't have free run of the house.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

A friend and I were visiting UK for a wedding. We wanted to sty somewhere typically English, no international overpriced Hotel chains were allowed. Over 6 mths before travelling I searched the internet for weeks from Australia until properties that suited my dates could be found. Initially Field Farm was selected as our preferred residence for out entire 3 weeks in UK, however it was already booked for some of the time, so I booked for 1 week around the wedding date. All correspondence was completed by email, and the booking completed in January. When we arrived it was exactly the same as the photos. We had the self contained cottage. Anne, and Pat and the animals greeted us warmly. It was a cold summer, so the fire was started as soon as we arrived and Pat ensured we didn't run out of wood, the outlook into the gardens from the unit, was magical, we were close to Reading, and the Motorway for further exploring of the area and the south of england. A major surprise was the wifi internet capability, which made it so much easier to plan where we going and how to get there on a daily basis. We could have stayed much longer. We were made to feel at home and that is just how we felt.

  • Liked — The Location, very English with an English Garden
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit small, it took a bit of manouvring to enter use and exit, but, you got used to it quickly and doesn't detract from the whole experience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

My friend and I booked Field Farm Cottage to stay overnight after having dinner at the nearby and excellent Wellington Arms in Baughurst. We couldn't have asked for a more delightful place to stay! Field Farm Cottage is in a beautiful rural location and we got a lovely warm welcome from owner Anne Froom and her dog and various cats! Anne was the perfect hostess and made us tea with shortbread biscuits which we had in front of a roaring fire in the living room's inglenook fireplace. Our room was ensuite and was lovely and comfortable, with tea-making facilities, a nice powerful hot shower, pretty red-checked gingham bedding and lovely views of the surrounding Berkshire countryside. Anne was really helpful and spent ages ringing round taxi companies to eventually find us someone to take us to the Wellington Arms for dinner. The next morning she served us a compote made from apples from her own garden, yogurt and then a full English breakfast, including eggs laid by her very own hens. Delicious! It was a Sunday morning and Anne joined us at the table and we had a lovely leisurely chat with her and another guest for a good couple of hours. Then, to compensate for all this food consumption, my friend and I went for a long walk along the nearby Kennet & Avon canal, which is about a 10-minute walk from the B&B, before setting off back home again. A marvellous experience altogether and heartily recommended.

  • Liked — The welcome we got from the owner
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Field Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Field Farm Cottage

Address: Sulhamstead Hill, Sulhamstead, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sulhamstead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sulhamstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Field Farm Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.