We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Reading South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Reading South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Reading South
Goring Lane | Grazeley Green, Grazeley, Wokingham RG7 1LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grazeley
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived at this destination on a Friday evening as a stopover on a trip to South Wales.

The hotel is out of the way so nice and peaceful. Room was what you expect from a Premier Inn (Clean and Comfortable) The staff were very friendly pointed out that if we required extra tea coffee then just ask. We did and received plenty of extras. The weather was terrible woke up to 3inches of snow however by 8am the staff had salted all the footpaths.
The restaurant attached to this premier inn served nice dinners at a reasonable price

Will be visiting again on our frequent trips to Reading and Wales

Room Tip: From what we saw all rooms are well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Edward B!

Thank you very much for the comments. Sorry to hear about the terrible weather conditions that you encountered during your stay! We really do try to prepare for any and every possible emergency including that of snow and ice. For us guest safety is something that we take very seriously and are always trying to take pre-emptive measures to ensure that our guests feel at home and at ease when both inside their rooms and walking round the grounds.

Thank you for your compliments on our service! It is fantastic news that you felt at ease to ask us for anything during your stay.

The best piece of news is that you will be returning to our site again. We will be thrilled to have you back, please feel free to give us a call ahead of your stay and we can always look to place you in a room of your preference if its possible.

Thank you once again and see you soon!

Best Wishes,
The Team, Premier Inn Reading South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
56
44
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week. Weather was unseasonally cold but the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. Agreed the rooms are maybe a bit tired and sound proofing not brilliant, but a very happy stay in a delightful setting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Theodosiamoya!

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

Sorry to hear that you were with us during the unseasonable cold patch of weather that we had this march, but thrilled to know we put a smile on your face through the bitter cold!

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our premier breakfast! Do not forget it’s all you can eat so if you do fancy another hash brown or some more rashers of bacon let us know and we will satisfy that morning hunger even further!

If you are in the area again look us up as we would be thrilled to have you back!

Thank you once again,
The Team, Premier Inn Reading South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Seems to be overpriced compared to other Premier Inns. Maybe that is because it is in a popular business area and they are cashing in on expense claims. Food served next door in the pub is very average 'Chef and Brewer' or other similar type of restaurant. OK as a last resort but would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Roger B,

Thanks for the feedback on your stay with us. Our pricing is dynamically calculated according to demand, and how far ahead you book. We often have rooms available at special rates for those guests who are able to plan their trip in advance. Dynamic pricing is offered across all Premier Inns, we are no exception.

The Old Bell is indeed a Chef and Brewer and is a partner who supplies the breakfast and dinner service on our behalf to our guests. Since your last visit, the dinner menu has changed substantially and is certainly worth visiting again as many of our guests have welcomed the changes.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to give you an improved experience if you are in the area again sometime.

The Team
Premier Inn Reading South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I use this premier Inn around 3 times a year. My last visit was the usual excellent welcome but the rooms are tired and noisy, the walls are very thin and room 4 has an outside extractor fan in the wall which is draughty and allows traffc and train noise through. Also every time another room used water or flushed the WC my bathroom plugs started gurgling away!!. Combine this with a bed thats too soft and is not the best nights sleep you are ever going to get. Yes I know you have the sleep guarantee but I just dont have time to attempt to claim it when departing first thing.
Overall its fine, but I do feel at £90 its creeping into the budgets of hotels with better facilities.
The adjoining pub is fine, good service and a decent steak.
Needs some TLC!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 4, draughty extractor fan that allows road and rail noise through
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sayed for 2 nights over the new year. Hotel staff went above and beyond all expectations. Clean rooms and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The pub next door was great to. I would highly recommend this Premier Inn to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Footstepstours thank you so much for choosing Premier Inn Reading south to accommodate your needs last new years eve. Thank you very much for the kind comments about our staff, we always try and go the extra mile for every guest. It really gives us a smile to have such positive feedback.

Our housekeeping team are very good at making sure every room is kept to the cleanest standard and they were thrilled to hear the feedback of really satisfied guest, they would like to thank you for noticing their efforts!

The Old Bell deliver a great standard of food, drink and service and wanted to pass on the message that they would love you to come back for a meal anytime!

Thank you for your recommendation, if you are in the area again please look us up as it would be our absolute pleasure to have you back.

Once again thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

The Team
Premier Inn Reading South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Peaceful location, clean and very comfortable room. Staff very helpful.
Heating control didn't work at all, fortunately wasn't a very cold night.
Food was dreadful at the attached pub, we gave it a miss after one sitting of lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear mjekeg thank you for the feedback!

We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the location and quality of the room that you experienced when staying here at reading south.

Brilliant to hear that you found our staff to be helpful, we always try and go the extra mile or miles for our guests and love it when you give us a chance to put our service to the test!

Thankfully it was a warm enough night for you to not have to worry about the heating! If you do stay with us again in the future please come let reception know if the heating is not working in the room. We will have a look into the matter for you; often it is a simple as a quick change of battery to have the room back up to temperature again.

We have passed feedback across to the pub about the quality of food during your lunch and action has been taken to increase the quality of the food and product which is delivered to each customer who they have the pleasure of serving. Please do come back and try the pub again to see if you can notice the improvements.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

The Team

Premier Inn Reading South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We frequently use this hotel when visiting friends in Reading as it is cheap,convenient and of a very good standard. It's clean ,quiet and very comfortable. The staff are always very welcoming,helpful and friendly and appear to be genuinely interested in their guests. We also enjoy the Continental Breakfasts which are amazing value for money and are delicious. I'm particularly impressed by the fruit compote.It's beautifully sharp and tart and goes well with lashings of vanilla yoghurt.

Room Tip: all rooms are of a consistent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Tony D, it was wonderful to hear from you. Thank you very much for the feedback as it is always appreciated!

It was great news to hear that you use our site on a regular basis! Even better news that you found the room well priced and has such a good standard across all of our rooms.

As a member of the team I would like to comfort you in knowing that we really are interested in getting to know our guests as best as we can. As a smaller Premier Inn we are able to take the time to get to know all about you and with any luck help make those nights away from home a touch more homely.

Its great to hear you are taking advantage of our delicious continental breakfast menu. As you mentioned loads of the items on the menu actually go really well when combined together making your start to the day delicious and fuelling you for the day to come.

Please feel free to give us a call in advance if you ever have any special arrangements and we will make sure they are ready in the room for you when you arrive.

Best Wishes and look forward to seeing you in the future.

The Team

Premier Inn Reading South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Reading South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading South

Address: Goring Lane | Grazeley Green, Grazeley, Wokingham RG7 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Grazeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grazeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Reading town centre is only 6 miles away. Local attractions include Oracle shopping centre, Windsor, Reading Madejski Stadium, Legoland and Ascot and Newbury Racecourses. Our Reading South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Reading South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Reading South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.