We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay but friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
E Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average stay but friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Standard double room was clean and pleasant enough. Ground floor room with small window looking out at boundary fence and residential neighbours' windows. Felt uncomfortable having the blinds open as I felt the neighbours could see in. Creaky floor boards in room above meant I was kept awake for a while after attempting to turn in. In the bathroom, when I turned on cold tap to clean my teeth, hot water came out! Ran it for a while expecting it to run cold, but no change. Double checked the hot tap in case they were wrongly labelled, but even hotter water emerged!
On the plus side, the reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the dining room staff. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning before the busy day ahead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    70
    29
    9
See reviews for
36
45
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Staying at the hotel for a few weeks due to business. Found it to be a great stay for the following reasons:

- Great location for travel
- Really friendly staff and good service
- Room was very tidy and clean!
- Nice sized bathroom for the small room I had
- Free wifi and parking

Overall an enjoyable stay and using them again when down in reading for business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Felt ripped off for the price due to the following reasons:
Next to main road junction.
Dated, dark (small window), tired room with sqeaking floorboards, could hear person next door snoring.
Constant dripping/running basin tap.
Dust all around edge of freshly run bath, indicating room had not been cleaned for a while or more likely not wiped if it looked 'clean'.
Enamel bath coating missing due to age where guests stand to have shower with tired shower curtain.
Shower head was permanently fixed.
Extra charge to have a room with a bath, to be told upon arrival most rooms have baths.
Two closed toilets off bar.
Extremely noisy party taking place, unbearable to stay for food.
Poor selection of hot drinks in room.
TV wires not fixed to wall (hanging down from TV 1ft away from wall under wall elevated stand).
No Sky TV as advertised.
Bed was way too floppy.
Hand soap dispenser was empty. No minature soaps/gel included.
Staff either ditsy or non-compliant.

On the plus side.
Free wi-fi.
Hot water.
No hairs on toilet.
Car parking.
Pretty frontage.
Clean sheets and towels. Although one set of towels hidden in wardrobe.
Curry house round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calcot hotels

Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nice hotel in good location and look to be recently upgraded rooms which are quiet and comfortable, and very clean, staff where very helpful and pleasant and efficient. The restaurant is like a step back in time with old but well maintained décor, food was OK, though one of my colleagues had the beef which was definitely left over from Sunday lunch.!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having driven 328 miles from Sunderland, to take my daughter for an interview for her first job, we were relived after such an arduous day with delays and roadworks. We were given a smiling, warm welcome from reception staff Alice and Samantha. Our room was clean and comfortable though the shower head was a bit 'dangly'. Extra milk for coffee was given freely and courteously.
In preparation for her interview my daughter washed her long hair but she had forgotten her hairdryer. The room one was working fine but was not powerful enough. Alice and Sam came to the rescue of my very upset daughter by finding a new one from housekeeping and brought it to our room. Day saved! Not only that but Alice, feeling sorry for my daughter, offered to walk home and bring a more powerful one in to help out. It wasn't needed but what an offer and a gesture!
In passing other staff, they all smiled and were very polite and friendly. If businesses are about people I would have no hesitation in returning on the next occasion. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked directly with the hotel for the cheapest room but were up graded to a standard. The cheapest rooms appear to be in the oldest part of the hotel above the bar. Some reviews appear less than complementary about these rooms so I'm pleased we had an upgrade. Thank you Calcot staff. Our double room was a standard configuration found in countless hotels everywhere perfectly good for a night or two. We asked for a quiet room and were given room facing away from the road, we did hear our neighbours but this was not excessive and we heard absolutely no road noise. Room was clean, comfortable with a TV ,some additional seating but no fridge. There was hair dyer . Bathroom was modern and clean we had no complaints.
We cannot comment on the food however the bar on the Sunday night we stayed was really lifeless with staff who perhaps having had long day did not want to be there. The bar could do with some kind of makeover as it's not too inviting. Breakfast was fairly standard but agin ok. We have friends in the area and if staying over would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing upstairs room in the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 7 days with my Fiance. We have been in different hotels and had a lot of different experiences and this hotel is one of my top 5 favorite.

Service: With the staff, we were always greeted with a smile and always welcomed when it came time to breakfast. They helped us get transportation with no problems and helped us when I lost the key to our room.

Value: With the room we got, we got at an affordable price, surprisingly enough. Didn't break the bank at all. Actually, it was about 50 pounds less than I thought we were to pay so that was cool.

Sleep Quality: I guess this depends on person to person, but for us we had quality sleep and while we were in the room, we couldn't hear anyone from and of the other rooms.

Cleanliness: The room was always cleaned every day by the staff and our towels and other accessories were replaced promptly. They were also quick to replace what needed to be replace on demand.

Location: The location was ideal for my Fiance and I because it was so close to the bus station which took us into town. The hotel was right down the street from the gas station and close to a store . Everything was within walking distance.

Rooms: The rooms were very well kept and had everything that is needed to have a nice trip.

Also, the food was good when it came to breakfast. My Fiance wanted me to include that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.