We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last year I gave a scathing review of the meal - this year - good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Last year I gave a scathing review of the meal - this year - good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last year I was unhappy with the food - the manager wrote back saying I should have said at the time - had there been staff on the floor i would have done but nope...

My mum had to tomato and veg soup for starters - which was good... the thai chicken and a mango pud - she liked them all.

This year there were several functions, I was in the quieter one... i had a fruity starter which was fine - the Thai chicken which was succulent and tasty.... when it came to pudding i looked pleadingly at the waitress and said do you have any cheese, please and bless she said oh we can do a plate for you. That was so lovely - i cannot eat sweet things since i had chemo - I thank you very much!


I hope this makes up for last year Mr Manager!!! Is the blonde 20 yo at the bar called Lee? Bless a sweetie!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    66
    27
    7
See reviews for
31
41
18
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly it is a long way out from reading, so car is essential. the staff are friendly and the accommodation clean and well laid out. breakfast is fine and i had room service which to be honest was average. There are walks close buy where you can get away from the constant traffic that continually streams past. The place is quite acceptable as a business stop with a friendly bar and good wifi, there are a number of pubs on the old Bath Road towards reading within walking distance and a chippy and Indian restaurant round the corner. But if I was taking the better half somewhere to stay for a weekend treat, i would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had two nights at the Calcot Hotel. I will not be going back. I was in one of the low cost small rooms and I must say it was small. It was also one of the most noisy rooms I have ever had. It was on the road side of the hotel and only had single glazing. What was worse is that it was over the restaurant so not chance of an early night before the restaurant closed as the noise of chattering and laughing was really very loud in the room. Only had a shower and a cloakroom basin in room. So every time you washed your face your feet got wet too because the sink was too small. Asked to move 4 times during my 2 night stay. As I am a platinum customer we would normally expect an upgrade. On the first night the hotel was not full but they would still not give an upgrade:( I was on DB&B rate so got a massively reduced evening menu to choose from. Not bad food, but not great either.

Room Tip: Don't go with a low cost room as they really are not worth the money. This is one occasion I wis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again had a fab Saturday night at the Calcot dinner dance. Staff attentive, food great and music really good. Ending with retirement to our comfortable bed at the hotel. We have been coming here for years and have always had a good time.

Would recommend this hotel

Sue and James Stacey

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Once again had a fab evening at the calcot hotel dinner and dance. I have been coming here for years and I must say that I have never had a bad evening. The staff are attentive, the food very tasty, music really good. Then to end the evening retiring to a lovely comfortable bed at the hotel.

I would always recommend this place.

Sue and James Stacey

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Once again a fab night at Calcot for Motown on 25/1 even better than the last one! Great food, wonderful Motown and Soul music as always from the wonderful Tony DJ who plays the best ever music for his very best fans. Friends who had not been before loved it and will certainly be coming again. Also a big thank you to Jim the very caring night porter. He is always a gem when it comes to looking after everyone late in the evening but he went the extra mile when my friend had to go to the desk twice in the early hours. He managed to open her case, and when she lost the use of one leg, with the assistance of more very kind female staff bandaged it up, she was full of praise and thansk to them. So roll on the next time and thank you Tony and Jim and ladies for exceptional service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, but not in great condition (especially the bathroom). I was on business so needed to work in the room, however the desk was very small and in a strange position so it was basically impossible to sit there. Staff in general was very nice and helpful, but they arranged a taxi for me which did not have any taxi sign or meter and ended up charging an overpriced fee. So all in all just below average for business travelers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calcot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.