We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean affordable and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Southland

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chicago Southland to your Saves list
Chicago Southland
17345 Halsted Street, South Holland, IL 60473 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Holland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean affordable and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Clean room nice place for a shop business trip. Will stay here again in future if we have a work here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I came in and asked for my room to be told that my room was not available.Because it was not clean,and my clothes had to stay in the lobby until another room came available at 3:45 pm.When I went up to ask the desk clerk or person was very sarcastic as if tho I was the one making her uncomfortable,I asked for a refund for the time I had to stand in the lobby while the rest of my family enjoyed themselves.They want you to pay every dime.Well same here for the time I did not spend in my room.Other than that the room was beautiful and the other staff was beautiful just that one staff person on evening shift who wouldn't let me have my room she make the rest of you all look bad.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't call in the evening time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LoveGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne washington state
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

we wanted a spot out of chicago as we were heading to ohio next morning. this place looked good on the website(have always had good luck with bw's). the room was acceptably clean. the swimming pool was filthy. the breakfast had bugs in the oj and the gravy was ice cold. the staff seemed as though they could care less.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank yarr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Stayed at this hotel because a training session I attended was hosted here. Also, the price was right and I am a member of Best Western’s rewards club. There was a Hilton Garden Inn right next door, but it was a little pricier. Upon driving up to the hotel (which was tucked away next to I-80), you could tell that it used to be a Hampton Inn. This property is in need of some TLC.

The check-in process was antiquated as they had no computers. The hallway in which our room was located smelled of smoke and felt like 100 degrees. Fortunately, our room was smoke-free and was relatively clean. On the plus side, it did have a mini-fridge and microwave. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding was in bad need of replacement; there was a cigarette burn on the blanket.

The “continental breakfast” was sparse and lackluster. At least the hotel had wireless Internet access.

I would not recommend this hotel, especially since there is a nicer, newer property right next door.

  • Liked — Location to the event (was held at the hotel)
  • Disliked — Condition of property
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EchoFifth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Holland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Harvey
0.0 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#2 of 4 in South Holland
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Southland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Southland

Address: 17345 Halsted Street, South Holland, IL 60473 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Illinois > South Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chicago Southland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Holland
South Holland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing