We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be on the beach. Now.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lagun Blou Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lagun Blou Resort to your Saves list
Lagun Blou Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Playa Lagun, Lagun, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Be on the beach. Now.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Lagun is one of the best of the charming beaches of Band Abou (the west end of Curaçao). Five minutes' walk from room to water makes for a prime location. Snorkeling here is great, and it's one of the few beaches with a decent shady area for those sensitive to sun.
The property is (as others note) undergoing some renovation; the owner wants this to be a 4-star property. Right now it's a 5-star location but a (barely) 3-star apartment, so Tom (new owner) has a way to go. Why put a king-size bed (decent) in a room that barely holds it? Why have two faucets in the mediocre shower stalls if there's no temp control? Why not have some overhead kitchen cabinets so that the dinnerware isn't in a deep cavern underneath the cooktop? Why not have two real pillows on the bed? And maybe note in the property description that there is no TV (which is not a deal-breaker but a bit surprising). Lots of minor quibbles like this, but overall a great option for the west end.
I will definitely consider this property when we return to Curaçao. But I might give them until 2017.

Room Tip: Three choices: sea view, lagoon view, and neither. I actually prefer lagoon view unless you REALLY w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The apartments are very roomy and if you have a sea view (which is most of them) it's simply amazing. The older units are a bit long in the tooth but the current renovations being done look wonderful. The service and staff are super friendly and welcoming. If you're in Curacao for beaches, snorkeling or scuba diving, Lagun Blou is a great location. The prices are very reasonable, it's a great bargain. We loved it and would return in a heartbeat.

It is, however, about a 30min drive from Willemstad though, so if you're in Curacao for shopping it may be better to go to a resort closer to town.

One caveat re: the wifi- it is intermittent and very slow. If all you require is to check some emails once a day, it's fine. But if you need wifi to do anything more- browsing trip advisor for restaurant reviews or directions for instance- be prepared for long loading times and restarts. Frankly, we had better wifi reception from the Bahia resort across the lagun.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We brought our 3 kids and had a blast! The owners really make this place feel like home. We felt very comfortable and safe there! The pool was refreshing because it does get very hot in Curacao. The beach and resruaraunt at the bottom of the hill were perfect and quaint. Updating is happening so I am sure all the units will be gorgeous soon. Thanks for the great time!

Family of 5 from America

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Claro, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stayed from Dec 13th to 21st in the unit 17.

Pros
Definitely the sea view is the differential of this place, there is a locker in the closet and the safety of the property it is something we have to congrat. There are two restaurants, one in a walking distance and another one really close. The resort is few steps of one of the best dive spots in curaçao and there was one adorable cat stayed with us (we love cats)
Honesty of the owner (Tom) was something outstanding, always calm, told us they are under improvements and renovations which was evidenced by us by one brand new bungalow right into the entrance some workers were finishing up.
In the bedroom there was veil over the bed to keep the mosquitoes away from you during the night, really useful.
Lots of information are giving by the owner himself when checking in, which we really appreciated.
There are tanks for wash and clean dive gadgets and equipments and cylinders available.
If you look for quiet, calm place and dive in Curaçao, this is definitely the place to stay.

Cons
No further info regarding gate password and no adv informing there is no one to welcome you in the night (we were lucky to find someone who knew the owner and called him at night to pick us up), so if you are going to arrive later than 4PM, call the resort on e-mail them in advance.
It was clear for us the place haven't offered breakfast but It would be a differential.
Ar conditioning (A.C.) noisy (seemed it would fall over our heads) it was also leaking (dropping water over the bed) so we have to shift the bed and lost the sea view to sleep dry. which kinda bother us a little.
There were two bathrooms but one useless with a broken shower.
It was a pretty because we came back late every day so we could not complain of the items above in person but we are sure they are going to take care of it.
Cleanness could be improved by removing spiders in the roof and adding some citronella when swiping the floor.

Overall as explained by Tom they are under renovations so Lagun Blou is a place we would stay again when in Curaçao. We recommend!

Room Tip: Pick up a room with sea view! You won't be regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

We joined the resort im august 2014 and found a wonderful place to stay, relax and a base for dive and snorkeling trips in the north of Curaçao.
The appartements (houses) are clean, with nice interior and have enough space on two floors.
But the best was the direct ocean view we had in combination with out own BBQ grill.
It was perfect having a BBQ while the sun goes down in the ocean.
The owner started to "redesign" the houses and we had a look into one of these, very nice interior.
Won't be our last stay in the resort :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Our stay in Lagun Nlou was superb. the cabins are going through a demodulation but the personalize attention of the owners made our stay the best in Curacao! The recommendations to buy fish at the beach, and then to grill it in front of our cabin was so good.
Highly recommended. Expect quietness, tranquility, and relaxation with everything you need to be happy!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My Husband and I have traveled a fare amount and we enjoy staying in quaint local resorts, away from cities & traffic. We found Lagun Blou to be a perfect place for us. The resort is located on the Northwest part of the island, we swam in the number of great beaches in the area, ran, biked & hiked the parks in the area, found a great restaurant - Sol Food, and enjoyed our friendly and peaceful accommodations. The property is doing some upgrades but I hope they do not add Tv's or Phones in the rooms.
Thank you Tom
Douglas Carlson

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunBlouResort, Owner at Lagun Blou Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for your positive review. Our upgrade will not include TV's or phones, we prefer our resort to be the perfect, tranquil hideaway people like you and your wife are looking for.

We hope to see you again soon.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lagun Blou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagun Blou Resort

Address: Playa Lagun, Lagun, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Lagun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lagun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagun Blou Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lagun Blou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagun Blou Dive And Beach Resort
Lagun Blou Dive & Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagun Blou Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.