We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Apartments & Diving

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Apartments & Diving
Save
You added Bahia Apartments & Diving to your Saves list
Lagun 208, Lagun, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Vacations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My girlfriend and are just back from our vacations in Curacao. We stayed at two of the apartment units of this great complex of apartments and hotel. The first 3 days we were directly facing the Lagun bay. Incredible view! Then, we moved to another unit for 10 more days facing the pool. The view was not that good but the place was incredible cozy.

We went to Curacao looking for good snorkel and scuba diving and at a very good price. I must say we found it. Scuba diving here is not expensive and the places for scuba diving and snorkelling are amazing.

The complex is managed by Peter and Thea. Both were always very kind and willing to help us with everything from directions to best places to go and what to do. The SCUBA dive instructor there, Bas, also helped us with all our dives. He really knows the place. Any question or problem, the three of them are always there to help you. Great team!

The restaurant at Lagun is also very good and with very good prices.

The beach is small but cozy.

Try snorkelling in the bay at night! Ask for underwater lights to Peter or Bas and go for it! It is amazing!

The place is at the very north of the island, so if you want to go out at night, there are very few places to go. However, the few you can find are actually great! Try going Landhuis Misje one day. Ask Peter to make you reservations.

If you are looking for a quite place, dives, snorkelling, beaches, good food, vegetation, nice people and good price, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

not really the place to spend your holidays - it's quite expensive for what you can get on the island - the rooms are very small, hot, and the road just in front of the resort is very noisy, even during the night (you can't see it on the website) - even the diving lessons are not that great and you can easily get a best experience - the bar in front of the sea is nice, but "guests" spending all the night long drinking, too much, just at the bottom of the room's windows can get anoying, specially if, like me, you got children
Nonetheless, we had a great experience in curacao, which is a great little island and a diver paradise.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

don't go to this place, they are only interested in your money, we had a very bad experience there and moved to an other hotel as soon as we could - there is a lot of nice litlle hotel with nice peole in the island, don't go to this one, the owner is really rude...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahiaboris, Owner at Bahia Apartments & Diving, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
This review is a joke from somebody who stayed not at Bahia Apartments & Diving. As you can see the other reviews are good and thats the way it is..............
Petet Koster
Bahia Apartments & Diving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I went to Curacao with my fiance and came back with my husband! We choose Curacao for it's predictably good weather that time of year. The fall is hurricane season for the Carribbean, but Curacao just out of the belt. We selected Bahia Apartments because of it's amazing location. At first we were going to do the All-Inclusive thing in Willemstad, but the reviews (according to Trip Advisor) were terrible. We contacted Peter and Thea almost a year in advance to secure our reservation. During that time, we stayed in close contact and nothing was overlooked.

Beach: The beach was amazing! The reef was just steps in to the blue water. Just put on your snorkel and start swimming. The water is calm in the reef so being pushed in to the reef by the currents was not an issue. The beach was clean and the sand was white. The beach was never busy, yet it was a public beach open to everyone. We were able to get beach chairs all the time, even when it was busy. Busy was 30 people!

Accommodations: Our apartment was lovely. We would sit on the baclony during every meal and watch the lagoon. The kitchen was a great size and so was the bathroom. We had to pay for air conditioning but after 8 nights of keeping our bedroom cool, the total was only 20 US. The best part was the tap water. All the water that came from any tap in Curaco was deliciously clean drinking water. It tasted better than the water at home! No need to buy any bottled water!

Food and Car: We rented a car. It's worth it. Just do it! Food was very resonably priced at the grocery stores and so was beer.

Peter and Thea were gracious hosts and met our every need.

We also like that there not any vendors selling you things like on other islands! The people let you have your vacation and left you alone.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We had a great time at the Bahia. Tha apartments a long-ish drive from Willemstad (about 45 minutes), but we found this part of the island more charming, with plenty of local colour. The evening we spent with the domino-playing locals at a "toco" (small market/cafe) at Lagun was one of our favourite in Curacao. Almost all of the beatuiful beaches and some good restaurants are a short drive away too. And there is a regular bus service too. Our apartment itself was very clean and well equipped, with a full kitchen. Although it was at ground level, it had great views to the bay from its balcony. There is no swimming pool or such, but who needs a pool when a beautiful beach is only 20 steps away? A wooden stairs leads to it directly from Bahia. The bay is quite secluded and protected, with a sandy beach where you can even swim or dive at night (there is a floodlight on at all times), although there's some broken coral as soon as you step in the water. A turtle visits almost daily; it swam nonchalantly right next to us, about 10 metres from the beach! There was also a small snack bar that served cold beer and local food right on the sand.
The Bahia apartments are owned and ran by Pieter and Thea, who were absolutely great and helpful. They hold a BBQ every Thursday, but unfortunately we had to leave for Bonaire a few hours earlier and we missed it. They love their animals too; Pieter walks around with a parrot on his shoulder, and/or a three-legged dog attached on his back! We spotted one iguana that always came back at night to sleep on its favourite tree branch, although the branch looked to thin for the animal.
We do not dive, but Bahia provides divers with everything they need. We saw them enter the water from the beach all the time, even at night. The prices are good, too. We'd go back any time without second thought. Our only (very minor) problem was that the room was a bit hot, and not too airy. We don't like sleeping with the A/C on, but we had to do exactly that at Bahia. The top-floor apartments are probably better in this respect, and they definitely have a better view to the sea.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven, netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed one week at Bahia and we left it totally relaxed! The bay is wonderful and while sitting at your balcony you feel terrific! The place is very tranquil and every day there is swimming lessons for local children and somethings a hilaric aerobic class for the full-figured local ladys! Also the turtle visits more than one time a day and the snorkeling is very good. Do not expext any luxury from the apartment and the bed is very small. Also the service for putting some food and drinks in your fridge at arrival is a good idea but the price (30 euros) too much

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Apartments & Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Apartments & Diving

Address: Lagun 208, Lagun, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Lagun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lagun
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Apartments & Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.