We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno Hotel!!! Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Skokie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Skokie to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Skokie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bueno Hotel!!! Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good Hotel near of Chicago, the taxi can charge you around $30 to get Downtown, have a good pool, and the staff are very nice. A security person walk in the parking slots and that make you feel safe. Front of the most popular Hot Dogs place: Portillos and a Mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    35
    14
    15
See reviews for
40
24
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Originally had a reservation at Super 8 in Elk Grove. Decided to do some more checking and decided on Rodeway Inn. Stayed in a room with 2 double beds. Got a great price! They had everything you could possibly want. Free full hot breakfast, Amazing pool and hot tub, big rooms, exercise room, free use of computer and printer, free parking, super helpful front desk. Love Stewart! He got us directions everyday for our day and had a great personality. Each room had a balcony and unfortunately ours (room 202) faced the roof and the balcony had cigarettes all over it, but we weren't there for the view. The balconies should be checked after people check out. The room also had a sink outside of the bathroom which is very hard to find at a budget motel. The hotel is less than a mile from the train station. Tons of shopping and restaurants all around. If you are one of those people who want perfection, don't stay here because I am sure you will find something stupid to complain about. We loved it and the next time we are in Chicago will definitely stay there again! The only negative is the lack of lighting and outlets in the room. Definitely needs more of both. I gave the room a 4 only because of the lack of outlets and the lighting issue.

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't overlook the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikau
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was disappointed to 'win' this hotel through a Priceline bid as it hadn't come up as one of their hotels in the area and I felt the Rodeway brand was more of a 1-star than the 2-star I'd requested. But this appears to be a well-run establishment that provided what I paid for.

The location is excellent - easy to reach from O'Hare (with a $1.90 toll on I-294) and close to shopping, food, and northern Chicago suburbs. Jewel-Osco is directly across a quiet road and couldn't be more convenient for groceries and such.

I concur with previous comments about the TV - it's old. But functional. Bed was fine. Room decor was OK for what I paid and it was clean. The wi-fi worked. I did contend with a consistently loud TV next door but disguised the sound by turning on the AC. And there always seemed to be people hanging around the parking lots smoking - no doubt guests, but that encouraged me to park closer to the lobby than around the back where my room was located.

I did not use the pool or eat breakfast there so cannot comment. Check in was courteous and swift.

For $48 a night it delivered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There was ample parking, and they allowed us to park before check-in and long after check-out times. It was a dozen-block walk to the subway, which connected us to downtown Chicago. The room had comfortable beds, the usual amenities, AND IT WAS QUIET. Across the street were several restaurants and shops. The breakfast was so-so, but it was free. The staff was quite helpful and informed. Convenient and inexpensive, and a quiet sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Shopaholics will love having the mall and three other shopping plazas all within two blocks. The pool is huge, jaccusi is hot, and the rooms nicely renovated with large refrigerator and microwave. Hot breakfast in the morning with something for everyone. Despite previous negative reviews, this renovated, formerly "Skokie Hotel" is exceptional for its price, value, location and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Yes, I do. although they should pay more attention to the to some of the detailed cleanness of the rooms, for example, I found a popcorn in between the chair cushions, It's nothing major, maybe they missed it, who would really search there, but I guess with more stuff like that, might leave people less impressed, especially it's a humble hotel, they definitely need to upgrade their TVs, they are like from stone age, but they did improve their breakfast buffet, they added more options & fruits, which was really nice.
Overall, if you are looking for couple of days to crash in and need a place to stay! then; Yes I recommend it, it's safe, it's quiet, it's very close to Old Orchard Mall & only across the street from Jewel Osco, also public transportation is very common in that area, you can simply find your way to the city, and price wise I think it's convenient also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Was ok last year (2012), so we went back (July 2013) and unfortunately the cleanliness was very poor and floors were nasty. Entire carpet in first room was wet, so we got moved to another room without hassle from the staff, they do their best to help. New room had broken fixtures and ripped wallpaper (really). Baby couldn't crawl around because it was gross (see other comments about black feet). Staff try to help but the place NEEDS AN OVERHAUL. Breakfast on the weekend was good but during the week it was slim pickings. Pool is still the highlight.
I want to say its still a great value for visiting the city compared to others but its not a very nice place anymore and we will not be back. Disappointing!

Room Tip: Stay away from the smoking hallway. Keep expectations low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Skokie

Address: 9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Skokie 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Skokie Hotel Skokie
Skokie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.