We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool is a hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Skokie

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Skokie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Skokie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Skokie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The pool is a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You could spend 3 times as much downtown or at one of the larger chains, but you'll get a better value here. Stayed here when it was Howard Johnson, then Comfort Inn, & it's now called the Skokie Hotel. Staff's really nice & helpful. Huge pool, usually nice & quiet. Jacuzzi's great too. It would be nice if they reopened the restaurant, but there's plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    31
    14
    13
See reviews for
35
23
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I travel to this area 2 - 3 times each year. Heretofore, I have always stayed at the Doubletree Hotel next door, which is a fine place. This time, because of a $50.00/day price difference, I decided to try this hotel (now called simply the Hotel Skokie as, I presume, it is no longer affiliated with the Comfort Inn brand). I really can't say that my stay here was much different from my previous stays at the Doubletree. Yes, the Doubletree is a bit more "posh," but my room here was about equally clean, quiet, and comfortable. This place also has a small indoor pool and fitness room The included breakfast is nothing to write home about; but it is free, so I don't think it should lose any points on that basis. I do miss the wonderful warm chocolate cookie that the Doubletree bestows on you the first night of your stay but, in my opinion, that cookie isn't worth the $50.00/night price difference. If they were the same price, I would probably choose the Doubletree, well, just because .... But considering the considerable price difference, I think the Hotel Skokie is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed there so many times. Very reasonable prices and very clean and comfy rooms. Staff is very helpful too. Its close to shopping mall and most of the good restaurants. I would go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a clean hotel with friendly staff. There is free wi fi, a computer to use in the lobby and free continental breakfast. The bed was comfortable. It is a good value and worked well for a short stay in Skokie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here over Thanksgiving 2012. It is not posh, but very clean and well maintained. The room was dark and quiet 3 out of our 4 nights, and not too bad the night we had neighbors who talked all night. The pool is large and was nearly empty whenever we used it, although there are swim classes held there on weekdays. I am a sucker for that waffle breakfast, and considering the free the free breakfast, good location and reasonable rate, this place is a good choice.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are very quiet (not facing the parking lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 246 cities Reviews in 246 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is no longer a Comfort Inn, but rather is called the Skokie Inn. The room was nice but a bit on the small side. The bed was comfortable, and the room very clean. A good sized mini-fridge and microwave were included.

The breakfast was excellent, much better than we have experienced in most motels in this price range.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing Skokie Blvd. We were warned about this, and had a nice quiet room in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The room was actually pretty nice. Water pressure in the shower is really the only thing I would complain about, as far as the actual room goes. There's a great breakfast on weekends, not sure about weekdays since I wasn't there.

However, the guy pounding on the door of the room next door at two in the morning yelling 'where's my money, give me money, get out here, get out here, get out here' for five minutes, then coming back five times and yelling it again would be the reason I would recommend NO ONE stay at this property. I don't know what was going on, but it sounded like a drug deal gone bad or something.

Also, the people in that room had about 6 kids with them who were loud, kicking walls, running up and down the hallways screaming, yelling to songs on their balcony. We called the front desk who called them twice but would do nothing more. Fortunately, the bratty kids went to the pool.

We have one more night in this hotel. I am going to speak to the manager in a few hours about the 2 a.m. door banging, see if we can possible get our room changed tonight. Hopefully we don't get shot tonight.

Also, when we got home at one, we weren't thrilled that there were ice chips all over the first and second floors.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel where people won't scream at your neighbors about money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skokie hotels

Been to Rodeway Inn Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Skokie

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Skokie Hotel
Comfort Inn Skokie Hotel Skokie
Comfort Inn Skokie
Skokie Comfort Inn
Address: 9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Skokie 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Rodeway Inn Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.