We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Bargain.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Skokie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Skokie to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Skokie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Real Bargain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I travel to this area 2 - 3 times each year. Heretofore, I have always stayed at the Doubletree Hotel next door, which is a fine place. This time, because of a $50.00/day price difference, I decided to try this hotel (now called simply the Hotel Skokie as, I presume, it is no longer affiliated with the Comfort Inn brand). I really can't say that my stay here was much different from my previous stays at the Doubletree. Yes, the Doubletree is a bit more "posh," but my room here was about equally clean, quiet, and comfortable. This place also has a small indoor pool and fitness room The included breakfast is nothing to write home about; but it is free, so I don't think it should lose any points on that basis. I do miss the wonderful warm chocolate cookie that the Doubletree bestows on you the first night of your stay but, in my opinion, that cookie isn't worth the $50.00/night price difference. If they were the same price, I would probably choose the Doubletree, well, just because .... But considering the considerable price difference, I think the Hotel Skokie is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    42
    18
    21
See reviews for
49
30
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed there so many times. Very reasonable prices and very clean and comfy rooms. Staff is very helpful too. Its close to shopping mall and most of the good restaurants. I would go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a clean hotel with friendly staff. There is free wi fi, a computer to use in the lobby and free continental breakfast. The bed was comfortable. It is a good value and worked well for a short stay in Skokie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here over Thanksgiving 2012. It is not posh, but very clean and well maintained. The room was dark and quiet 3 out of our 4 nights, and not too bad the night we had neighbors who talked all night. The pool is large and was nearly empty whenever we used it, although there are swim classes held there on weekdays. I am a sucker for that waffle breakfast, and considering the free the free breakfast, good location and reasonable rate, this place is a good choice.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are very quiet (not facing the parking lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level Contributor
490 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is no longer a Comfort Inn, but rather is called the Skokie Inn. The room was nice but a bit on the small side. The bed was comfortable, and the room very clean. A good sized mini-fridge and microwave were included.

The breakfast was excellent, much better than we have experienced in most motels in this price range.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing Skokie Blvd. We were warned about this, and had a nice quiet room in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The room was actually pretty nice. Water pressure in the shower is really the only thing I would complain about, as far as the actual room goes. There's a great breakfast on weekends, not sure about weekdays since I wasn't there.

However, the guy pounding on the door of the room next door at two in the morning yelling 'where's my money, give me money, get out here, get out here, get out here' for five minutes, then coming back five times and yelling it again would be the reason I would recommend NO ONE stay at this property. I don't know what was going on, but it sounded like a drug deal gone bad or something.

Also, the people in that room had about 6 kids with them who were loud, kicking walls, running up and down the hallways screaming, yelling to songs on their balcony. We called the front desk who called them twice but would do nothing more. Fortunately, the bratty kids went to the pool.

We have one more night in this hotel. I am going to speak to the manager in a few hours about the 2 a.m. door banging, see if we can possible get our room changed tonight. Hopefully we don't get shot tonight.

Also, when we got home at one, we weren't thrilled that there were ice chips all over the first and second floors.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel where people won't scream at your neighbors about money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for the Chicago marathon about 3 weeks prior to the weekend. It was the closest we could get to Chicago. A few days before our arrival date, we received an email stating that the hotel was no longer a in the Choice Hotel family. We were concerned, but didn't really have an alternative. The hotel has seen better days. It is in need of an update, as well as a good thorough cleaning. Wallpaper is peeling, bathroom fixtures are worn, etc. In our room, we found a fresh piece of gum stuck to the carpeting and a few spent sunflower seeds sitting behind a chair. The pool area was roomy and nice, but again, the whole thing was a bit aged.

On the plus side, the bedding was clean and comfy. The hotel staff was helpful. It was also close to multiple restaurants and shopping.

I would not choose to stay here again, especially at the price that we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Plaza
3.0 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#3 of 7 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Skokie

Address: 9333 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Skokie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Skokie 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Skokie Hotel Skokie
Skokie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.