We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Falafel Sandwich in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pita Inn

Pita Inn
3910 Dempster St, Skokie, IL 60076-2236
847-677-0211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 157 Restaurants in Skokie
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Falafel Sandwich in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pita Inn is very busy and it's hard to find a parking space but don't let that stop you. The food is all authentic mediterranean and delicious. Their Humous is delicious as are all their salads. Our favorite is the Jerusalem Falafel that tastes like you got it right off a street in Jerusalem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not sure why people flock to this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes, this place has rock-bottom prices, but really, the quality of the food is pretty terrible. My husband and I ordered grilled chicken and lamb, and we received desiccated, tasteless pieces of cardboard. We had to get more chili sauce to be able to chew a few pieces before we gave up. And how can anyone ruin Jerusalem salad? Well, the one I had was filled with mushy old cucumbers pieces. Also, the amount of styrofoam this place goes through is also incredibly depressing. How can you do that in this day and age? Even when you ask for a cup of water to drink in-house, you receive a styrofoam cup.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“"Best value restaurant"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food is outstanding with a great value! When you getting into the restaurant you can tell that this is the place to eat. The atmosphere is great; you can tell this place bring tons of people nationalities. I know why. The food starting with the lentil soup is make daily. Any of the chicken dishes are great. They have a daily special for lunch for around $5...incredible!! Its like a small taste menu of the restaurant. Don't expect to get a full restaurant service here. You have to make a line to get the food and you have to be called to pick you your own food, more like a cafeteria style..but is with it! Anything from the menu is good, babaganush, hummus, falafel etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still the Best Falafel in Chicagoland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Grew up on the food from this place and have never been disappointed with the quality of the food. Pleasant, no frills dining where you know people come for the food and great value. The vegetarian plate can feed just about anyone and the lamb schwarma is always great. A fantastic melting pot for the many cultures represented in the Northern Suburbs. Stop by for an unforgettable dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Healthy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Here is a place that has great food yet it suprisingly healthy. The never bland fare at this restaurant is amazing yet it is a comfortable casual setting. I eat here because I like great food but I don't want to sacrafice taste when chosing a healthier option. The flavors are fantastic! Try the Business Man's Lunch ar the Chicken Fatoush Salad or the falafel or the hummus or the....shall I go on????

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Inn also viewed

 
Mundelein, Lake County
 

Been to Pita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pita Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.