We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendliest home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We just got back from our third stay at this Hampton Inn while visiting family. We love it! This time I stayed without my husband, with only my 2 boys (6 and 4). I felt so comfortable and well cared for. There is a great full breakfast -- nothing fancy, but many options. Rooms are clean and spacious. We always get a suite, which has a full kitchen and of course a fridge for early morning milk and snacks for the kids. The shower is separate from the sink, so it's easy for a couple of us to get ready at once. The staff is as nice as can be. They think of everything -- even umbrellas to borrow when it rains. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    150
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
256
72
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

While the hotel is a bit off the 'main drag' for us, we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I don't like the multiple small pillows hotels are now using, but I chose one and slept well. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the tiny closet, not enough space for clothes, suitcase, and heavy coats/boots. The parking lot was not cleared very well but we knew a lot of snow fell in that area earlier in the week. The cold parts of the breakfast were fine, cereal, fruit, juice. Neither of us cared for the eggs. The staff was welcoming, the internet was perfect, and while we were next to the elevator, we didn't hear any outside of the room noise. We have stayed at most of the hotels in the area more than once in the past two years and wish we had originally stayed at this Hampton Inn. We didn't have a good experience at the restaurant attached to the hotel, being served iced coffee flavored water when we had ordered iced tea. Some sort of blip in the kitchen. But there are plenty of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Bingo47,

We value your feedback and appreciate you sharing your stay experience with others. I will share your review with our team to allow us to enhance our guest service even further.

Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I stay at the Skokie Hampton 1-2 times per month and have nothing but the best things to say about it. First, the hotel was recently refurbished with modern amenities and features. Second, the staff is beyond friendly and helpful. I don't believe I've been to a hotel (and god knows I travel ALL THE TIME) where everyone on staff: front desk, cafe, housekeeping goes the extra mile to ensure its guests are satisfied. Third, the fitness center, cafe and pool are great and offer ways to stay healthy while traveling.
I recommend this property for both business travelers and folks on leisure who want a clean, affordable and friendly stay in the Chicago North Shore.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Veronique,

We can't thank you enough for always sharing your experiences with our hotel & staff to the world!

As always, we enjoy welcoming you as our guest. We realize you have options when selecting your home away from home; our gratitude is sincere that you have continuously chosen ours.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We love this Hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent full breakfast with good coffee. The Hostess is a jewel. Wifi connection. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are very clean. A little more noisey on the highway 94 side of the hotel but not unbearable or a huge problem. We were here to visit family and the location was good for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear mrgoretex,

Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to tell the world about your experience with us.

We do indeed have a great team that loves what they do - and it shows! I have shared your nice comments with them as feedback like yours always reminds us why we love what we do.

You may follow us on Twitter @HamptonSkokie or like us on Facebook under Hampton Chicago North Shore for updates and specials.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stayed here with my family (boys 4 & 1) and had a great stay. I think Hampton Inns must take the best and friendliest people they hire and send them to this hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel was just renovated and is beautiful and clean. The lobby area is large, with comfortable seating, TVs, computers, printers and a small shop that sells drinks and snacks. Most hotel "gift shops" are really expensive and you feel like you are being ripped off, but this one is different. The drinks I bought cost less than if I had bought them at a convenience store. My four year old and I spent a couple hours in the pool. The whole area was very clean. The hotel is located right off of the highway, which makes it very convenient to get to, yet you cannot hear the highway from your room, which was really nice.

Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Scubasteven,

Happy New Year!

Pardon us for the slight delay in replying to your feedback. We are glad you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future. Meanwhile, you may follow us on Twitter @HamptonSkokie for updates and specials.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 4 separate times within the last 12 months and have always had a positive experience.
The updated rooms are roomy and comfortable, and the high speed internet works great.
The workout room has all the equipment one needs for a good workout and the attached Ruby Tuesdays is perfect to get a nice meal without leaving the property.
The staff has been helpful when needed and the hot breakfast in the morning is the perfect way to start the day.
Great place to stay, and I will always stay here when in the Chicago area.
********** Travel tip **********
If you drive here from O'Hare, make sure you have a few dollars in your pocket for tolls.The toll going towards the hotel is $1 and I have a toll going back to the airport that takes change only ($.80), so make sure you have some pocket change...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thanks, Brian32828!

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 209 cities Reviews in 209 cities
728 helpful votes 728 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed here becuase it is one of the closest and nicest hotels to Northwestern University in Evanston, which is about a 15 minute car ride down Golf Road. The hotel was quiet, we slept great, and everything was fine until we tried to take our shower. We literally had no hot water, which is the first time I have ever had this happen at a hotel.

We decided to suck it up and take a quick, cold shower because we didn't feel comfortable calling up maintenance while we were still not dressed. After we went down to the front desk and complained, the hotel did give us 25% off our stay and we were visited by a maintenance person shortly thereafter. After he confirmed our complaint, he left to try to fix it and we left the hotel since we were only staying one night.

One final complaint about this hotel. LIke all Hampton Inns, you do get a free breakfast in the morning but the size of the breakfast area was small and since this is a bigger Hampton Inn than is typical the breakfast area got extremely crowded and there was nowhere to sit.

Besides being close to Northwestern, you are across the freeway from Old Orchard Mall, which is one of the nicest malls in the Chicago area. This hotel is also very convenient to the freeway. Just make one left off the Old Orchard Rd. exit on I-94 (Edens Expressay). If you are going to go to downtown Chicago from here, either take the train or drive on the weekend. The freeway during the week is a parking lot and can be a very frustrating and long drive in and back out. A normal commute during rush hour from this hotel to downtown or vice versa would be about a hour.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonSkokie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Dear jpete02,

On behalf of our team, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you & your family experienced during your stay with us. We truly regret that we were unable to provide you with the level of service we consistently strive to provide each and every one of our guests.

Our team hopes to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as a guest to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Sincerely,

Janice Alvarez
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Address: 5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a new breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. Connected to the hotel is Ruby Tuesday Restaurant which offers roomservice to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.