We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up to 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Portland, United States
1 review
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are regular visitors to the Hampton Skokie. In our initial stay, we had a few difficulties with room service, shuttle access, and such. We voiced our concerns and the staff were wonderful in making sure our concerns were addressed and future stays have never been a problem. In fact, we are greeted in a very personal and welcoming way. The staff remember our names and go out of their way to make sure we have everything we need. The food is fresh and hot (though could use more non-soy vegan options). The hotel is always clean and fresh feeling. The reason why I didn't rate this hotel as excellent is that excellent to me would include a clear message that this hotel is about going beyond protecting the comfort of the visitors and being gentle on the environment. Excellent would be actively dong and promoting socially, economic and environmental care and awareness in everything the hotel does. So my Very Good could easily be someone else's Excellent if their standards don't include the social, economic and environmental standards I care about. My daughter who was with me had trouble falling asleep and said the halls and neighbors were loud and kept her awake. I won't go into detail here... but I was not kept up by noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Heather,

Thanks for an excellent review! We certainly understand & appreciate your high standards and we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant overall.

If we may further assist with your future trips to Chicago's North Shore, please let us know. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    132
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
232
65
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After leaving the hotel we were to stay at for 2 weeks we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn Skokie. The staff went out of their way to help whenever they could. Their attitude was always sooooooooooooooooooooooooo positive! Hotel is well maintained. We were so happy to find an outdoor grill available for guests to use. The front desk staff, Chim, Erin, Fatima, Stephen and Diane are a huge asset to the hotel. No request was not doable !And Pat, the breakfast attendant, she bubbles happiness with all the guests. STAY HERE YOU WON"T BE DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Greetings, Joe!

Thanks for an excellent review! I have shared your comments with our entire team and we're humbled your kinds words.

If we may further assist with your future lodging needs, please let us know. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Location....near shopping for all......complimentary breakfast...excellent....coffee etc..available in lobby..swimming pool...great...plenty of towels..plenty of easy parking...even for guests of guests!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Greetings, Carole!

Thanks for the excellent review. We're happy that you & your family enjoyed our complimentary amenities and Westfield Old Orchard mall.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome all of you back next time you're in town. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property 2 years ago. While it was nice then, it's definitely aged and needs some TLC.

Pros: staff was polite, friendly and helpful; good location; breakfast okay (selection is limiting when you're there for a week); free parking; cookies, coffee lemonade; clean

Cons: no bathroom ventilation; loss of water pressure when another room flushes; stool didn't shut off; TV had few channels and poor picture; poor wifi in the rooms - had to sign on multiple times throughout the day, dropped every few minutes, strong in the lobby; chirping fire alarm; poor quality toilet paper; broken dresser drawer

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Robin,

Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay. I have shared your comments with our team, particularly, our chief engineer & operations manager, for further follow-up on the items mentioned.

We value your comments and look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future. I will also follow-up with you privately for further information & to ensure all is in working order for future guests.

Sincerely,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located just off I94 on Old Orchard Rd in Skokie. The Westfield Mall is within walking distance and there is a Ruby Tuesday downstairs. We got a king whirlpool tub suite for under $200 a night on a weekend. The room was very spacious and included a full size fridge and stove top stove and microwave with a sink and dishwasher. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The morning breakfast is also very nice and quite good. Our stay was awesome. We didn't get to partake in the Indoor pool. But, we looked at it and it was great.
Overall A++

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Greetings, CWat1260!

We appreciate your A++ rating. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

Many guests love our whirlpool suites. I'm glad you're one of them! It is quite spacious indeed.

Don't hesitate to connect with us when planning your next visit to Chicago's North Shore. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This Hampton Inn, while not the newest, delivered with good maintenance and a great staff. The location is convenient and the parking is free, unlike many other options closer to the Loop. The only two, minor concerns (not really complaints) that we had were that the A/C was hard to control and that there was no switched exhaust fan in the bathroom (just the low-volume central system).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello, James!

We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay. I'm glad you found our team & location to be above par.

I have shared your comments with our operations team to ensure all items are considered when planning for our next remodel. Thanks again for taking the time to write about your experience. Let us know anytime we may be of assistance with your lodging needs in Chicago's North Shore.

Safe travels,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. I am from the area so I knew what was around but the gentleman that checked me in suggested restaurants - fast food, fine dining, healthy, etc. The charge for "incidentals" is $35. There is complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby as well as ample seating.

The room was immaculate. The carpet was in great shape and was clean. The bed linen was pristine white and the bed itself was very comfortable. The room was a nice size with a large flat screen, HD television (with pay-per-view movies), a desk with ergonomic chair and another chair with an ottoman. The bathroom was extremely clean and was a nice size as well. Their toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and lotion) were Neutrogena. The only "minor" issue was the air conditioner only cooled the room sufficiently if I switched it to "high fan" rather than leaving it on "auto fan." I did not report this issue because the room was not uncomfortable temperature-wise, it just did not stay as cool as I liked without being on "high fan."

The fitness center has about 6 treadmills, 4 ellipticals and 2 bikes. There is a full set of dumbells, a set of medicine balls and benches. There is a water cooler in the fitness center as well.

The complimentary breakfast includes meat, eggs and waffles, as well as donuts, yogurt, fruit and juices. I will say that cranberry juice tasted a bit watered down.

I did not go to the pool area or use the business center.

The hotel is a block from Old Orchard Mall and there is a shuttle that will take you within a few miles.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay! This Hampton definitely had a Hilton flare to it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear tmgatty,

Wow, thanks for a great review! We appreciate your keen attention to detail.

Any unused portion of the $35 incidental authorization upon arrival is released and returned back to your account. Please keep in mind that it may take 7-10 business days for your financial institution to post such credit back to your available funds.

If we may further assist with your future lodging needs in Chicago's North Shore, please let us know. Thanks again for choosing Hampton Skokie. We value your business and look forward to another opportunity to serve.

Take care,

Janice Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Address: 5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a new breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. Connected to the hotel is Ruby Tuesday Restaurant which offers roomservice to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.