We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Easy to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you are looking for suites for a family stay, I would highly recommend this hotel. All areas of the hotel and the room were clean and in good working order, we never felt rushed out of the room by housekeeping, and all the staff was very professional and friendly. You can get a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette at a very competitive rate and enjoy all the amenities to make your trip enjoyable (including pool, large workout room, guest laundry, and complimentary continental breakfast). The staff did a wonderful job keeping up with the morning crowd at breakfast and the food was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Floors 3 and 6 have guest laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Hello, 6TXTravelers! We're glad your family enjoyed our suite accommodations. Your travel plans should never be complicated; it's great to see that you've found it easy to stay with us!

Happy New Year to you & your family. We look forward to welcoming all of you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    150
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
256
72
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in August with our kids.
We took the largest suite available to sleep all 6 of us. It was very crowded but we wanted to save the money of renting another room. We placed the extra matresses on the floor so that all kids slept on the living room floor. It would have been nicer if we had a second bathroom but this hotel did not have this accomodation nor did any in the area. The hotel facilities are less than average, but I was not expecting much in lieu of the price I paid ($188+tax). Breakfast: What is missing is healthy food - there is still much too much junk food served.
Fresh fruit and cereal is available along with a waffle machine toast eggs (from powder), other hot food (fatty stuff),
The computers in the lobby: only 3 units available and they are very very slow. A printer is also connected to them. In general WIFI is very very slow.
Connected to the hotel is a restaraunt which was very over priced. Local use many coupon deals making it a bit more financialy attractive. The food wasn't too bad.
Fitness room: very sparce very little equipment not everything was working - the treadmill was broken.
Swimming pool: indoors - very small not for doing laps, just splashing around. The water was not warm enough.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room that is not facing Edens Expressway - it is quite noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Since the renovation this has become a more popular destination. It's a good value, could be a bit cleaner, good location. All in all a solid, if less than glamorous choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Hello, Leatherman! Thanks for taking the time to review us again. Our housekeeping team tries their very best to keep the hotel in tip-top shape. We hope to earn your 4/5 star review next time you're in town. Happy New Year from our team at Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APPLETON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I cannot say enough about this Hampton location. From the phone call to set up the visit, to our departure after our stay, the staff is wonderful and the hotel wonderfully maintained.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff about your preferences, they are more than happy to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Happy New Year, BerkanaBeads! Thanks for a great review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. All the best for a new year of joy & prosperity to you & your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here for 10 nights to be with a relative who was in a nearby hospital. The room was spacious, comfortable, and immaculate. I loved the duvets and appreciated the easily-accessible outlets and charging stations. The bathroom was modern, spotless, and well-equipped with large shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel dispensers in the bath/shower combo. Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very good, with a wide variety of foods and ample, comfortable seating (even over a sold-out weekend). The staff -- from the front desk to housekeeping -- was very caring and accommodating. After long days and nights at the hospital, I really appreciated returning to this comfortable and welcoming hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites Skokie will be absolutely be my first choice on any return visits to the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for a nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the circumstances.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, wishing your family member a speedy recovery & great health for years to come!

Take care,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were very pleased with this property. Our check-in was handled smoothly and we enjoyed free Otis Spunkmeyer cookies. Our King Suite ($152/night) had a separate living room with a sofabed and nice LG flatscreens in both rooms. We had a working kitchen with a full-size fridge and a small cooktop.(We didn't use it but noted it came with dishes, pans and glassware). The bathroom had the tub and toilet in one area with the sink in another, so both parties could use the respective facilities simultaneously. The free breakfast featured make your own waffles, scrambled eggs with herbs and sausage patties, along with fruit, breads, yogurt, etc. Almost as good as a breakfast buffet at a Hilton. Seating was a bit crowded.
The hotel is convenient to the Old Orchard Mall (note that the mall is open air) and I-94. It's about twelve minutes to the Northwestern football field (Ryan) and twenty minutes to most locations in Evanston.
The shower amenities are by Neutrogena in Eco-friendly squeeze bottles - you get a separate hand soap and lotion.
I am trying to hard to come up with a con -- maybe the small, thin towels. But there seemed to be a lot of them so it was not an issue in any way.
A shout out to the personable front staff - Luigi, Andy and Hilda, I think.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Liked our king suite - well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thanks for a great review! We're glad you & your family enjoyed your stay.

I have forwarded your feedback to our team and gave special kudos to Luigi, Andy, and Ilda. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

After reading the glowing reviews, we decided to give this proprety a try. I don't know where the reviewers have stayed in the past, but this was an average room, with an average bed, with average amenities. We did not know when we booked, but we were here on a Northwestern football weekend and the room rate was over $200. If that is the case with you, drive a few miles and stay elsewhere. This is not a property that warrants that kind of money no matter how much I support capitalism:)

While not the hotel's fault, there were kids screaming in the hallways at 6 am. K

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaniceAlvarez, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear laplume9254,

We appreciate your feedback. Home games at Northwestern University definitely drive much demand in our market, causing rates to increase. As with any business, our rates fluctuate based on supply & demand.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie

Address: 5201 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites is an eight story contemporary hotel featuring interior corridors, exercise facility, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. The interior design of the guest rooms are displayed with cherrywood furniture and contemporary fabrics for your comfort. The hotel features free high-speed internet access in all rooms and a new breakfast buffet which includes a variety of hot dishes. Connected to the hotel is Ruby Tuesday Restaurant which offers roomservice to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie Hotel Skokie
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Hampton Inn Skokie
Skokie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.