We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and slightly interesting hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9599 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Special
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent and slightly interesting hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is a little strange, part older high rise and part older low rise. It was clearly fancy in its day, and they have kept up the lobby and common areas, but not the rooms. What makes this a good place to stay is the location: not far outside the city of Chicago, near but not too near OHare (many international visitors and flight crews, so many that they have a flight board in the lobby showing departure times and delays), right across the street from an upscale mall with great restaurants (Maggianos), and super friendly staff. Indeed, the staff are one of the main reasons to stay. They are really friendly, helpful, and there are lots of free things, such as a cookie, water, drinks, and sometimes breakfast depending on your Hilton Honors level. The rooms are not drab and have been updated, but some rooms can be noisy with thin walls. Personally, I would expect Hilton to sell off this property sometime, but I still stay here whenever in the area and recommend it wholeheartedly. I ask for rooms in the east wing (low rise part) because they seem larger and the climate control can be set to "on" for white noise. It is not as pricey as hotels in the city, and is similar to others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We thank you for wholeheartedly recommending our hotel! I'm so glad you consider us the place to stay in the North Shore. As a frequent guest, we look forward to showing off our continued improvement projects on each of your future visits.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and value you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    238
    110
    31
    18
See reviews for
217
91
36
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree due to its location to downtown Chicago. We know we have to do some driving so my daughter can see her friends so we like to try and be with/in 1/2 hour. This is 15 min with no traffic. However the weekend we went was the parade in Dwtn Chicago with 3 Million extra people.
Our hotel was awesome. Upon checking in we were given 3 warm chocolate chip cookies that were out of this world. Desk clerk was extreemly friendly and helpful.
It was a drag late friday when the hotel was full and only 2 elevator working. and a real drag on Sunday when only 1 elevator was working.
Rooms were clean, small fridge was nice in room. great resturant on site food was excellent.
Mall right across the street so when girls were sleeping off their hangover I could go shop

If there was one thing to change and this is HUGE. they need to put queen beds in the room. Double beds just dont fit 2 people unless your kids

Room Tip: We had room 217. it was wonderful to put our water and pop out the window on the roof to stay cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad your girls weekend was a success and that we got to be a part of it. You will be happy to know that by the time you plan your next trip we will have 3 brand new modernized elevators to bring you to your room in record time! Thank you again for your kind words and we cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I wanted to be in the Skokie area, and I couldnt of been happier, really nice hotel, good size room and nice ammenities. Pool is nice and lobby is comfortable, free wifi and free parking. Nice westfield shopping centre over the road. I have to say a really pleasent and enjoyable stay. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay as well as some of our great amenities like complimentary high speed WiFi and complimentary parking. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travel and would love to be your choice the next time you are in the area. Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBG
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My grandson's night-time party was held in the ballroom in the top floor of the hotel, with an exciting view of Chicago. The hors d'oeuvres, food and service where all very good. I would recommend it for your event.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are so glad your even went will in our top floor Monaco ballroom! We will share your compliments with our chef and event staff. Your recommendation means everything to us and we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i picked a busy time to travel to chicago-with the ryder cup and the marathon back to back...left with little to choose from i stayed at the doubletree in chicago for 3 nights before moving into downtown...
it's a standard doubletree-the plus is the very cheerful front desk and service staff in the restaurants...whether its organizing cabs or suggesting restaurants in down-town. the breakfast was good, and has enough choices for a vegetarian like me...
its in a far away suburb, so one would stay here only if they need to be in that side of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are glad you found our front desk staff so welcoming and accommodating. I can tell you that they truly enjoy helping our guests enjoy the North Shore area. Next time your travels bring you to the area we would love to have you back again as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stay at the Doubletree- Skokie for business a few times a year. The meeting rooms are nice the hotel staff is friendly and responsive. The restaurant is adequate.

I have experienced a clear decline in the upkeep of the property over the last couple of years...especially the common areas. The hallways to the rooms are in need of new carpet, paint and a good cleaning. The rooms are very tired, especially the bathrooms. Elevators are old and take forever. Well below the standard of other Doubletrees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Colin,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. As a repeat guest, your comments are incredibly valuable. We appreciate your continued business and want to let you know about some planned improvements to the hotel. Any day now, we will have completed a huge elevator modernization project which I know you will be pleased with next time you visit. It is true that our elevators were slow, but soon they will be much faster and smarter. Additionally, the other items you mentioned are all on our radar and projects are being planned. We are constantly working to improve our hotel and take pride in providing our guests with an experience that we can be proud of.

We welcome you back for another stay soon and thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great entry point to Chicago if coming in from North/Northwest. Right next to large shopping area and Northwestern University. Lot's of choices in the area. Hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms and is priced for budget conscious travelers. No breakfast included but nearby choices abundant.

Room Tip: We were on eleventh floor and elevators ran quick and smooth for us. No worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of out hotel. Our proximity to Northwestern University and Old Orchard Shopping Center are very popular among our guests. I'm glad you found us convenient and a good value. We look forward to being your hotel on your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Address: 9599 Skokie Boulevard, Skokie, IL 60077 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.