We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay cation for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 West Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A stay cation for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I live 15 minutes from this holiday inn and the other family members all live within about 1 hour.

We spent 2 nights last week end at the hotel. 4 kids and 4 adults and we had the most wonderful time. Adnan, the manager was great and the hotel is spotless. We commented that we could have been at a resort somewhere on an island. The pool and hot tub are in an atrium, open to light and a patio dining area.

Except for lunch we ate all meals and happy hour at the bar Louie restaurant in the hotel. Servers were the best. That is saying a lot with 2 nine year old girls and a 2 and 4 year old boy cousins.

During the day we visited a fabulous county aquatics park/pool (10 minutes away) with terrific amenities for kids including the 2 and 4 year olds. We swam at the hotel before breakfast, before and after dinner.

Why didn't we think of this before? If you are in the Chicago land area, the Holiday Inn Chicago north shore Skokie is a wonderful respite and a perfect stay cation or vacation if you are visiting.

Thanks to Adnan and his staff. Ann Rainey

Room Tip: Over the pool if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    88
    46
    49
    54
See reviews for
94
50
35
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Room noisy, air conditioner leaks and sounds like a jumbo jet on take off! Room stinks of chlorine - not happy!!
Taxi cost $45 from city so not at all convenient - Internet average.
Pub was ok and food was average.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear 100Mike,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the food selection.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently attended a very large wedding and reception at the Holiday Inn in Skokie, Illinois. The food, entertainment and service were very good. What impressed me most was the care of the staff. I lost my bracelet, with sentimental value, at the event. The wait staff graciously introduced me to the Service Manager Mike, who indicated that they would look for it. The next day they contacted me to say they had not found it. Several weeks later, however, Mike contacted me again. They had kept my contact info, found the bracelet and shipped it back to me. I really appreciated their care and follow through!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stay on a regular basis at this hotel and the staff cannot do enough for me. There are occasionally glitches which happen in all large hotels but once notified the hotel responds quickly and professionally. Linda on reception books my room and she always has it in the location I prefer for a good night's sleep. The bar was extended a few years back and now is as good as any in a hotel locally. Reasonable food selection and great selection of local beers. Why am I writing this report? To thank Linda and the team for their good service over the years as I know they read these reviews.

Room Tip: Can be noisy on the front of the hotel due to constant traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very professional and friendly staff throughout the hotel. the bar and restaurant had reasonable prices and food was great.
I had inadvertently left my blackberry phone charging by TV and forgot it when checking out early in morning. I called from atlanta airport on way home and front desk held it... for my friend to pick up and mail to me.

Thank You!

Room Tip: rooms were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location right off the Highway. Staff was excellent and food was good. Soft pretzels and cookies were fantastic. VIP dinner was Awesome. Nice cuts of meat and a wide variety of food. Big Screen TV in Lobby for Blackhawks playoff game. Free parking and lots of places nearby to eat. I wish more Chicago area seminars used this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my 2 children in April & only had 2 requirements-an indoor pool & whirlpool, as we were doing a nearby "cold weather getaway". I called the hotel directly to make sure that they actually had a pool & whirlpool so I thought I was covered....wrong! After check-in we walked toward our room & saw a maintenance man mortaring an empty whirlpool. Needless to say I was furious, and confronted the front desk who was completely unaware this was going on??!! However, I was upset enough that they offered to give me enough reward points on my member card to come back for a free night another time. Well, OK I thought. That seems fair. Yeah, that was a complete lie. Points never given, motel claims they submitted them & to contact the points program as it can take 30-60 days for them to show up. Points program says that is a lie-talk to the hotel. Hotel management doesn't return my calls. Emailed corporate with the whole story. They respond more than 2 weeks later with "the hotel needs to handle this directly. They will contact you within 48hrs. Sure. Four days later I contact corporate again & tell them I no longer want to play this game & simply want a refund as I no longer am interested in staying at their motel again based on their lack of customer service. "Jeffrey" tells me my situation doesn't warrant a refund, but he can authorize $50 back. I say, are you kidding? You have such an unhappy customer & that's your solution? $50 & no empathy or apology for how frustrated I am? Ready for his response...."Well you already said you aren't gonna BE a customer anymore, so I think that's pretty fair to even offer you $50. After all, you did have a room to stay in!!!!" HOW is this company in business?? I asked to escalate to upper management SEVERAL times with various service reps during my multiple calls over 2 months and all kept me from getting past them by leaving me on hold or saying there was no one else to speak to. WOW Hope no one else patronizes this crappy organization. This was soooo unacceptable and unnecessary. This should have been a no brainer for ANY customer service group.

Room Tip: A good room is anywhere but at a Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sandra G,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Skokie.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)

Address: 5300 West Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Skokie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Chicago Hotels...Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Hotel near Downtown Chicago and O'Hare Airport. Welcome to the Holiday Inn North Shore Hotel. From the hotel's immediate surroundings in Skokie to the heart of downtown Chicago, we offer a full assortment of diversions, services and opportunities. Area attractions include: Downtown Chicago, Brauer Museum of Art, Chicago Botanic Garden, Adler Planetarium, Wrigley Field (Home of MLB's Chicago Cubs), Soldier Field (home of the NFL's Chicago Bears), and Navy Pier to name a few! Area businesses near our hotel include: Life Time Fitness, North Shore Center for the Performing Arts, Music Institute of Chicago, The Winnetka Community House, Bahai Temple, O'Hare Airport, Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, and Midway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Skokie Hotel Skokie
Holiday Inn North Shore
Holiday Inn Skokie
Skokie Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.