We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth driving to - phenomenal cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chestnut Street Inn to your Saves list
Chestnut Street Inn
301 East Chestnut Street, PO Box 25, Sheffield, IL 61361   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Gourmet Dinners
Ranked #1 of 1 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth driving to - phenomenal cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went as a family party of 5 for their set 4 course menu. Everything was top class and expertly prepared. The venue is an 1854 restored house with lots of bits and pieces to look at and talk about. But the food was sensational - pumpkin ravioli with sage, corn chowder (a little hot for me), steak dianne and poached pears. Service was friendly and professional but the highest accolade goes to Monika, the chef.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Eccentric couple passionate about their vocation, wonderful food execution, and fun, personal service. This is the place so many of us would love to helm, but Monica and Jeff are here and ready to serve. The Inn is beautiful, the seating for dinner is a great mix of intimacy and privacy that you don't often find in B&B settings. This is a great restaurant in the unlikeliest of unassuming small towns. Just one of those perfect gems in life you can't define, but when you walk through the door, you're home again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful, relaxing stay. Arrived after a long ride and was greeted by the owner Jeff who showed us around his home. Our room was named The Federal Room and it was quite lovely. They have 2 suites which allow in room dining and two regular rooms. Dinner was provided at our request, 4 courses at $30 per plate,well worth the price. It is a foodies delight. Monika,Jeff's wife went to culinary school and serves wonderful meals. And she bakes the most AMAZING macaroons I have every eaten. They have drinks and snacks available. The town itself is small and quiet. If you want to shop you need to go to Princeton, about 15 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This B&B is splendid! The attention to detail in the rooms is wonderful. The linens, pillows, robes, towels, everything is luxurious. And the food! You will think you have died and gone to food heaven. Monika is an amazing chef. She and Jeff make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I have eaten here several times over the last 3 years. Each time Jeff & Monika surpass our expectations from our previous visit. The service by Jeff matches the amazing food made by Monika. It doesn't matter what we order... It's just Amazing! The Inn's atmosphere adds a comforting feeling to the meal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from spending the weekend at The Chestnut Inn. Quite a wonderful experience. Jeff and Monica, the owners, have created a restful haven where you would least expect to find it. We drove from Brighton Michigan to take advantage of the nice Christmas gift that I was given and not having spent anytime in B&B's I was quite surprised.
The accommodations were very inviting and well appointed. Enjoyed staying in the federal room which is at the front of the top floor overlooking the street with windows on 3 sides. Request this room if you can get it.

Enjoyed 2 breakfasts and had some of the best pancakes ever. Jeff was quite priud of himself as he filled in quite admirably for Monica and prepared all the meals including a nice roasted pepper soup accompanied by to die for scones and a butter lettuce salad. The filet mignon was also well prepared and for desert - 2 creme brulees - my favorite desert.

These owners will go out of the way to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Enjoyed sampling some of the product from the local farms. Would high recommend this gem to anyone looking for a quiet escape, who enjoys having a glass of wine or having breakfast on the patio overlooking a well maintained garden. An experience to remember. Paul and Nancy May 18 - 20, 2012

Room Tip: Not a bad room on this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had a fantastic Valentine's Day Dinner with Monika and Jeff. My husband Glen is not a risk-taker when it comes to his food. He likes what he likes and often repeats the same things over and over. BUT, when we eat at CSI, he will eat and love any and every dish that is placed in front of him! I am amazed at the types of dishes that he eats only here! He says there is a very good reason for this. He trusts Monika completely. If she created it, he will love it! That must be so, because we return every chance we get. Jeff's hospitality and service are second to none, but Monika is truly the "Belle of the Ball" when it comes to anything culinary. She is a very personable and yet highly professional chef. We love it when she dashes from the kitchen to visit and perhaps share a few secrets. No matter the occasion, the Chestnut Street Inn is the place to discover the tastes that so many creatively created dishes can offer. One cannot go wrong when this "Culinary Cutie" is in the kitchen!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Street Inn

Address: 301 East Chestnut Street, PO Box 25, Sheffield, IL 61361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate foodies bed and breakfast. Specializing in Mediterranean cuisine that features locally available meats, eggs, produce and more. 4 Comfortable guest suites with private baths, WI-FI, Dish Network, DVD/VCR, signature toiletries, full hot breakfast. LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chestnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.