We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the suburbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Schaumburg

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Schaumburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Schaumburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1851 McConnor Parkway, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lynfred Winery Package
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Schaumburg
Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place in the suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very nice, confortable and relaxing hotel in the Chicago suburbs. It is very close to a very nice and huge mall in the Schaumberg area. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They have suttle service to the mall and to some restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear rijos,

Thank you for your kind review! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Schaumburg area and all it has to offer, and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
55
41
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st louis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked the Hyatt Place on their website for a rate of $74!! For a Friday night, in a Chicago suburb with free parking and a wonderful breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub and workout room!!
Was also within walking distance of Ikea and had a restaurant/brewery right next door! Excellent choice!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear KarenpStLouis,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its amenities. We hope to see you back at the hotel during your next visit to the Schaumburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Hyatt Place Schaumburg is in a good area, a little hard to get to but good area. There is a huge mall across the street and pending your mood you could walk to it. There are many restaurants in the area as well. IKEA is literally across the street.

For the most part the staff is friendly, the folks that have been there a while. The newer folks are more concerned about what they did over the weekend or last night. I overheard some of the front desk personnel discussing their exploits related to shots at the bar and their hangovers...talk about fine but maybe you don't want everyone to hear like your guests.

The issue I take with this property is the lack of cleanliness such as the key boards in the computer room...good heavens the crud that is in those key boards. Also this is perceived as the business center...there is no paper to write on, no pends, no stapler nothing that would lead one to believe this is the business center other than the computers which this time were both working but so slow I gave up using them.

The hallways and rooms ...scuff marks on the walls in the elevator the dirty or stained carpets...time for new carpet folks the steam cleaning is done...same for the rooms. The Rooms are getting dated, the carpets and couches stained. The HVACS please someone clean the vents! And for heavens sakes the ones like in my room that make loud clanging noises please fix. The beds need replacing they are tired and noisy. They make sound every time you get in and out. The bathrooms need a refresh with new caulking round the tubs inside and out, kind of gross. The grab bar round the fittings needs cleaning probably should be sealed with a clear calk...molding and rusty. And the vent in the bathroom was FILTHY.

To Hyatt not to the property that Hot Breakfast, not a fan. The options are few. The offerings are carb and sugar laden less than healthy smattering of breakfast foods. How about some actual steel cut oats not quick oats, how about more healthful fiber and protein packed cerial options. Get rid of the corn syrupy fructose laden jellies and hydrogenated peanut butter...both brands that you cary actually make better options. And my goodness if you run out of bananas two days in a row can't someone run out to the grocery and grab some until the supplies come in just saying. Also just a comment I was told b-fast was until 9:30 however when I came down it was already being pulled up just before 9...the guy said it shuts down at 9. Guess there is bit of a gap in when b-fast ends.

I can't wait for the renovation to start! I understand they renovated 5 years ago when they converted to the Hyatt Place and that was nice but it is a well lived in property so that 5-7 year window for refurb well it is here actually it was here the year before last...again well liked location for the most part and most of the folks working there are good people too but the condition is becoming an issue. Might have to rethink my next visit and try a different property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nero1972,

Thank you for posting your review. As there were some areas of concern for you during your most recent visit, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss them further. We do appreciate that you seem to be a regular visitor to the property for some time and our goal is to assure our guests are happy and comfortable. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have always loved Hyatt Places and have almost always enjoyed our stays there as a family..but this particular one was a bit disappointing..I hate giving any negative reviews but we stayed here for 4 nights while we were on our Chicago road trip and all 4 nights it was ok. But it wasn't the best we have stayed bc of the reception we got. We were never greeted warmly even upon check-in, they forgot to refill shampoos/soaps when we ran out, breakfast reception was odd and uncomfortable and it made the stay awkward everyday. The room was ok-nothing bad about it at all but bc of the coldness of the staff, it made the stay strange. They answered our questions tersely and when we asked for refills, they got it done but it wasn't cheerfully as w/most Hyatt hotels. The breakfast although had a fairly good selection wasn't to par and some things were cold as if left out for awhile..even that is still ok if the staff was kinder. We noticed they were friendly to the business travelers but not to families which lead us to wonder if they rather house single businessmen vs larger families. In that case, this may be our last stay at Hyatt Places and opt to stay at Embassy Suites/Homewood Suites who warmly greet kids and families esp if we wanted more space for our family. The location was ok and near a lot of eateries but wish we could give a better review. Sorry, would not reserve here again :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
livelovex7,

My sincerest apologies you found your stay a bit disappointing. We always strive to assure our guests feel warm and welcomed regardless of if they are return business traveler, or a family staying for pleasure. Our housekeeping staff refreshes the shampoo and soap daily and I apologize that didn't happen in your case. I'm unsure as to why you felt the breakfast was odd and uncomfortable. Please feel free to reach out to me directly as we always want to assure our guests are happy and want to share their positive experiences with their friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I travel a lot for personal and work. My family loved this room. I have two older teenage boys who prefer not to sleep together so the huge sectional couch was a plus and let us really spread out. The table was perfect for homework that had to get done over the weekend along with a separate table stand and inset snack center with mini-fridge. The room divider was a good idea and placement of the t.v. for all of us to see. Our sink and shower drains were too slow, which was the only disappointment in the room. The breakfast was a neat set up but very cramped and crowded. No free hot chocolate packets here, despite free coffee---hot choc was $2.25 a packet, which was a bit disappointing. Regardless, I would stay here again. It was a refreshing room set up vs. the normal and standard floor plan of practically all other hotels. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
OnH0liday,

We are glad you and your family loved the room and found the sectional couch and television perfect for you and your two teenage boys. I'm glad you utlilized the table and room divider, along with the mini-fridge to feel at home and spread out. The breakfast is a nice perk for our guests, however, as you stated, there is a charge for the hot chocolate. Hot chocolate is a specialty product for Hyatt Place hotels and cost prohibitive to offer at no charge to our guests. We were sorry to hear that the sink and shower drains were slow.
The hotel, and staff, looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next trip to Schaumburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed 9/19/13-9/22/13. We had a double room w sofa bed. The room was very nice and spacious. The breakfast is an awesome feature because it's real food, fruit, yogurt and juice. Rick was exceptional. At one point he had to plunge our toilet and did so with no complaints! He was very friendly. Also a hostess( can't remember her name) but she has a long blonde ponytail was exceptionally friendly. The rest of the staff wasn't as friendly but those two stood out!! Would I stay again.. SURE!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Travelgirl9208,

We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed the guest room and amenities. A special thanks to you for mentioning our wonderful staff members, Rick and Patti. It is always nice when one of our guests take the time to do that. We have posted your comments on our board for the rest of the staff to view.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your next trip to Schaumburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our first time Staying at a Hyatt Place. At only 5000 points for a last-minute free night, it was a steal.

We enjoyed the large rooms, free hot breakfast, and the restaurant in the lobby. The large "suite" style rooms were great as well.

Just a couple of issues.

1. Although this hotel was relatively new, the carpets and upholstery in this hotel were stained and frayed, almost to a point of being humorous. Literally every chair cushion, hallway carpet, seat in the lobby, etc. had a large, unknown stain. Do they ever get cleaned?

2. We ordered late night food, and our nachos took forever to come out. We found out later that one of the back-office managers was making the food... The nachos were great when they arrived, but it would have been nice if there was someone else working the kitchen so food would come out a bit faster.

Overall, though, it was a fine experience, and we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hyatt Gold Passport is a generous loyalty program and we are glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, breakfast, room and lobby. Please know that we do clean the carpets and upholstery on a regular basis. We currently have new chairs on order and awaiting delivery. I am glad you enjoyed your food but apologize that it took longer than you would have liked. We normally are very efficient with getting our food to guests, usually quicker than you would experience at a restaurant. We hope to see you back soon to enjoy our new lobby chairs during a late night snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Schaumburg

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel
Hyatt Place Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Place
Amerisuites Schaumburg
Schaumburg Amerisuites
Address: 1851 McConnor Parkway, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#11 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Schaumburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just west of downtown Chicago, and only 13 miles from Chicago O’Hare International Airport, the Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg is centrally located to popular area attractions including Woodfield Mall, IKEA, Lynfred Winery, and Schaumburg Flyers’ Stadium. For sports fans, the Schaumburg hotel offers easy access to West Meadows Ice Arena and Arlington Park Racetrack. For business travelers, the hotel is within close proximity to the Zurich, Motorola, Beckman Coulter, IBM, Pepsi and ADP offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.