We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 North Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL 60195   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business. Absolutely great staff and local restaurant the snuggery. Had an issue with my sink in the room. They came right up and had it fixed in minutes. Room was clean and updated. Breakfast area was nice with lots of seating. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    48
    17
    11
    14
See reviews for
45
38
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First, I'm surprised that I've never reviewed this hotel before because we have stayed here multiple times in the past 5 years. Perhaps because it's always been 'meh,' I didn't want to be a negative nelly.

We had a very nice experience the first time we were here, and because of that, we keep going back, hoping that the fair to poor experiences were the exception rather than the rule. I have put an end to our relationship based on our most recent stay and we will not stay here again.

Check in was smooth and entry into our room was a sigh. Missing from the 'desk' was a lamp. The floor lamp that should have been by the chair and was wired to the switch at the door. Without that lamp, the chair was worthless as it was way off whack for TV and in the darkest corner of a dark north-facing room. Hotel Fail. There is no excuse for this nonsense in my opinion. Every time we have stayed here, we have been told that issues we encountered were being addressed by 'new management.' I don't get this. Why would a new manager remove necessary lamps from rooms. Not buying it.

I do not like the layout of these rooms and that is something that cannot be changed. You walk into a room to an open closet behind the door, a vanity on that side and a door to the water closet on the left. The room is small to begin with, but this allows absolutely no privacy unless you're sitting on the toilet or behind the awkward curved shower curtain beneath the dining-room-appropriate ceiling fixture. I am sorry that I cannot include pictures, but didn't take any as I was certain I had rated this place before.

The bathroom's tub surround appears to be made of granite slab, and the shower soap shelves appear to have been cleaned at installation ten years ago. The corners are grungy. Overhead were obvious signs of a poorly repaired leak. We were given one tiny bar of soap. The shower head was nice, the water was hot, the tub was clean. Even though the granite was grungy, I was okay with it - until I pulled a towel to dry off. I'll be damned if there wasn't a boxelder bug on it. UGH!! At first glance, boxelders look like roaches, but they're not. How on earth this bug got into the hermetically sealed room is beyond my comprehension.

The large bar fridge and the mini-microwave were nice, clean and adequate. We didn't use the microwave, but the frig is an essential for us.

On Saturday, we left the hotel early in the morning to attend a family event. We returned, exhausted at around 2:30. We did not have maid service the previous day, but on this day, we wanted to come back and relax in the room. The housekeeping cart was still in the hallway, but it was past our door, so I didn't think a thing of it until we opened the door. Our room had not been touched in the past seven hours. Really? I walked into the hall and just looked at the housekeeper who said, "Oh, you want it cleaned today?" "Well, yeah," I replied as I dragged my weary azz back to the elevator to wait it out in the lobby. Desk clerk on duty was puzzled and we told her that our room was not cleaned. She asked if we had the DND on our door. I must really look stupid....

Anyway, shortly thereafter, we were told that our room was ready, and we returned upstairs, opened the door and were hit with a HORRIBLE chemical smell. We turned on the fan which does no good at all, as all air is recirculated. There is NO bathroom fan. But we really didn't have the energy to fight this battle. We propped the door open, put the fan on high, and hoped for the best. I did not want to repack and move. I guess that eventually the fumes dissipated or I got used to them as I slept.

I wish that just twice, we could get a good stay at this hotel. Out of five, we've had one, and that was our first one. Lesson learned.

And now, HIE's crowning achievement for our Thanksgiving visit:

A bill was slipped under our door on the morning of checkout. My husband looked at it with horror. I moseyed over and saw a bill for $451.00 FOR JULY 2011, more than a year and a half ago.

We took it to the desk, and a clerk who was somewhat amused by the error.

Yeah. Me? Coming back? Not happening. My sense of humor just isn't that good any more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Had booked two rooms online, called and asked for a room with two double beds which they didn't have - was not an issue, asked for a rollaway - was told they put the note down - working in the business I know rollaway beds are a first come first serve commodity - upon check in - the front desk girl never said "I'm sorry were out of rollaway's" - got to room to find no rollaway went to the front desk she then said "no we're out" and walked away. There was no offer for extra pillows/blankets, or anything. One of us ended up sleeping in a chair with a personal blanket. The rooms were nice, and looked fresh and up to date. Easy to get too. Staff just needs a little work on the customer service side. Felt a little like I was interrupting the girl more than checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfiorito77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear SDS1706,

I apologize for the lack of service during your stay. This is a perfect example of our staff not going the extra mile. This is will be used as a good training example for the staff so we can improve and make sure our guests are taken cared of properly. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay and I hope you will still consider us in the future next time you are in the area.

Sincerely

Jeff Fiorito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in Schaumburg, some 45 min from downtown Chicago, in a nice area close to good restaurants and a good mall..!! The premises are old and it can be seen in the room, even though they have updated furniture and tv's, the rooms were clean and looked fine.. The eating area is really small, and nothing out of the ordinary breakfasts for a Holliday inn express....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfiorito77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mike C.,

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent stay. We are actively updating our hotel (TV's Furniture, Lobby, etc.) but do realize that more is always needed. As we go forward we have numerous improvements planned both in 2012 and 2013. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on the hotel and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Jeff Fiorito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in a few different places in Schaumburg recently, late August, and this is the place I would recommend. Originally got a room with mildew on the tiles, but was politely and with no bother moved to another room. It was much better. It was clean, as quiet as can be, (except for the bath fan that never turned of and quietly squeeked all night). Minor things considering some of the other places I stayed. The lobby here is bright and clean. The building one of the newer, nicer looking ones. The rooms are of good size, and clean, which is more than I can say for the other hotel in Schaumburg where I stayed. The people at the desk were very courteous and businesslike as well.

Room Tip: top floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfiorito77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Charlieeats,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Even though you were happy with your second room and I do apologize that you had to be moved in the first place. We will take some extra time when inspecting our rooms to make sure our bathrooms are cleaned well. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jeff Fiorito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went for a last minute getaway With the Husband. This place has a very nice medium sized pool, a restaurant right next door and also a 7eleven right there as well. If you would need it a dry cleaner. All within a few steps. The rooms were very nice but not sound proof, not bad though. If you go to the pool stop by the 7eleven first and get a banana slushie and put a miniature bottle of Bacardi gold in it, taste just like a banana daquiri! We ate at the Snuggery and that was fun and tasty! We had breakfast in the Motel and it was very well equipped, stocked and cleaned all by a wonderfully attentive keeper named Wanna (hope I'm spelling her name right) For the mass of people there she was on top of everything , My husband spilled a whole glass of juice and BAM, she had it taken care of in seconds! Talbes were spotless as soon as they were empty. She needs a big raise. wonderful job! After that we went to the pool very clean and nice comfortable furniture. Then off to the races about 15 mins away. The rooms a little small but did not plan to spend my day in it and the pool small but nice the only thing a little bothersome was the noise but no biggie. Rooms had microwave and frig. And the store had everything. A lot packed in a small spot! Just a great little get away would definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two weekend nights in August. First off this hotel is clean, from the lobby to elevators to hallways to most importantly the rooms. We booked what the website called a 2 double bed room, the beds were queens. This made the room seem small but no matter to us we were happy with bigger beds. Breakfast was nice, plenty to choose from and well stocked. My only complaint is that the outdoor pool is separated by only a fence from the outdoor patio of a neighboring bar. When our kids wanted to swim on a Saturday evening it seemed a little too close for comfort with the bar patrons drinking right next to them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg

Address: 1550 North Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL 60195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at our award winning and newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Schaumburg Hotel. The only Holiday Inn Express in Schaumburg, our hotel is conveniently located within miles from O Hare International Airport and Downtown Chicago. Additionally, the hotel is within miles from many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Motorola, Sears Holdings, Medieval Times Dinner and Tournament, Allstate Arena, Sears Center, and more! Our luxuriously decorated room features triple sheeted beds, new Simmons luxury mattresses, expanded cable television with HBO movies, as well as microwaves and refrigerators discretely stored in imported granite vanities. Relax with our Simply Smart guest bathroom amenities featuring fluffy towels, our exclusive Simply Smart Showerhead by Kohler, with its unique compensating flow regulator, which delivers strong and steady water pressure every time. Experience up to 25% more elbow room thanks to the brushed chrome curved rod with our waffle-weave fabric curtain that s always fresh, never clingy. Finally, awaken to our Holiday Inn Express Smart Start Breakfast which includes healthy items such as whole fruits, cereals yogurts, biscuits and gravy, and hot items such as pancakes,omelets, sausage and bacon. Also available to you is free 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, & Snuggery Restaurant conveniently located next door and a 24-hour 7-Eleven convenience store with an ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Holiday Inn Hoffman Estates
Holiday Inn Schaumburg
Schaumburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.