We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Schaumburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 Thoreau Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
New Jersey
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
653 helpful votes 653 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Schaumburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I attended the ATIA Conference at this beautiful modern hotel in October. The hotel is magnificent with rooms to match. When I arrived my bathrob awaited me on my bed. I especially liked the flat screen TV, which was built into the bathroom mirror. As a platinum member what was best of all was my access to one of the best members only 2-story lounge within steps of my room. Here I could enjoy complimentary breakbfast and evening snacks with a beautiful view. I could easily return here. I had one minor issue when checking out with a telephone charge, but, other than that it was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    141
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
55
61
26
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed at this Renaissance for a large corporate conference that I was attending for the week. I loved everything about the hotel... the staff was excellent, the decor was fantastic, the food and bar was very good (a little pricey, but expected for a hotel bar/restaurant), and the room was very comfortable. There is shopping very close by that I was able to escape to from time to time. IKEA is just across the highway, as is a very large shopping mall.

Overall, this hotel was excellent! I made a return reservation while I was there for this March, just to visit IKEA and some of the other stores in the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justice, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Check -in was great, we checked in around 6:15pm, the customer service represenative at the front desk were very helpful,courteous and friendly. We were asked if we wanted our champaign brought up right away. By the time we got to our room, our server was at our door with excellent service. When it came to dinner though, we called down to see if we needed reservations, we were told it would be a 2 hour wait, we decided to order room service. we called for a menu to be brought up to our room.We waited 15 minutes, my husband called down to the front desk only to be told they were shortstaffed. About 20 minutes later the guy comes with the menu. we ordered steak and lobster and when it arrived, to our dissapointment the lobster was the size of shrimp and was very rubbery and way overcooked. my husband called to tell them about the lobster and was told that the manager would call back in 5 minutes. after 15 minutes he finally called. He offered us a bottle of wine which my husband declined. we were finally told that our meal would be free. It was nine oclock when we finally sat down to eat our dinner. This was really not the way i wanted to spend my anniversary. The breakfast was excellent and the server who waited on us was wonderful, I just wish I asked her name. I think if we decided to go again, we would definitly eat before we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

I have stayed at several hotels in the Schaumburg area and this was by far the best one. I was very surprised when I arrived as this hotel truly stands out from the rest. The lobby is large and welcoming. The staff is attentive. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The built in tv in the bathroom is a unique touch. The restaurant insure is also great for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Ok, so I arrived in the middle of a snowstorm - straight from Orlando, FL, and I was cracking from the cold. But like a bright, friendly beacon there was my hotel for the night - the Schaumburg Renaissance. Big, but warm and cozy, with lots of open social space and work space and firepplaces. I was upgraded immediately to a nice big room with a great bathroom. Business ammenities were right on target and the Workout room was awesome. For its location this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

From the time we pulled up and someone opened our car door, till check out, service was above and beyond. It was genuine, which made it so memorable. Unique flat-screen tv in the bathroom mirro was also a good memory. We were there for a conference and the food was excellent as well as the service. An excellent stay; start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We're Marriott card holders, so we try and stay at Marriott properties when we can. We knew the Renaissance was rather new and it was close to where we were going, so we booked it for 2 nights.

Having stayed at lots of business hotels over the years, I expected a very generic experience and got it. The room was really small - 240 sf. The room designers had worked some magic to try and put enough furniture and amenities into the room to try and make it seem worth the price.

It was okay and if I'd been traveling alone on business, it would have been fine. However, for two people, it presented some challenges, especially in the bathroom.

I can't rate a Marriott or Renaissance without mentioning my main gripe - $14.95 for internet access. Absolutely ridiculous. I know their business clientele could generally care less, but when we stay there for pleasure, it's a big turnoff.

One final word. Parking is a problem, especially if it's raining or cold. It's a long walk from the parking lot to the entrance. When the Chicago wind is blowing, it's not fun. Harry and Sam's restaurant shares the property and we parked in the lot next to the restaurant. It was a little closer to the building and although the length of the walk was the same, more of it was inside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 1551 Thoreau Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#5 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover modern sophistication from a powerhouse hotel in Schaumburg featuring contemporary design that is expressive, yet functional at the Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel. Located near IKEA, Woodfield Mall and upscale dining, this Schaumburg, Illinois hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to top area attractions. Boasting spacious, yet modern rooms and suites with oversized bathrooms and a media connectivity center, guests can rest and recharge in style. Indulge your senses at the award-winning Sam & Harry's, serving sizzling steaks and fresh seafood, or relax with friends and co-workers in the stylish Club Lounge. Enjoy our sparkling pool and fitness center and stay connected with our business center and complimentary wi-fi in public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.