We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 American Lane, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodations, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott on Oct 9, 2012 for a work meeting that was held on the 10th. The lobby was pleasing to the eye and quite large. Check-in was very fast and easy. There were 8 of us and we were checked in within a few minutes. Upon entering the room, it was exceptionally clean and good-sized. We were excited to see a refrigerator in the room because we planned on having a few drinks later.
After dinner, 5 of us went and got our drinks and decided to bring them down to the sitting area near the fireplace in the lobby. The front desk person was very accommodating to us, even though some were getting a bit rowdy. She got us ice, offered to heat up our dip, and humored us. She deserves a raise.
At bedtime, the beds were quite comfortable and the TV selections were fine.
A few of my coworkers ate the breakfast, I did not. They told me it was a bit expensive for what you get, but oh well since the company was paying for it anyway.
The next day we had a large group meeting in the conference room off of the lobby. The room was a bit warm, but opening the door helped, and the staff was there within a few minutes to turn the temp down.
During our lunch (I'm not sure who catered it, but it could have been the hotel), the staff kept the eating area very clean and garbages empty.
Overall, I would absolutely recommend this location for business meetings..

Room Tip: All of our rooms were on the 2nd floor, and all were in excellent condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the Courtyard for your stay and for your business meeting. We hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    85
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
43
16
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, IN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Clean room, no "hotel smell". Easy to find if go to the Weber Grill, then look directly behind it. Good weekend rate thru Marriott.com. Breakfast additional cost at rate I paid for room, was good food & good service, hours Mon-Fir 6:30-9:30 and Sat-Sun 7:00-11:00 am, included cut up fresh fruits & cook to order eggs & waffles. Check in 3:00 pm, check out noon. Free hot beverages & USA today in lobby 24/7. Large bathroom, good water pressure, well located grab bar, well lit. Wall thermostat, fairly quiet ac/heat unit. Heavy curtains kept room dark in morning when closed. My room had a sofa bed, small fridge and coffeemaker, but no microwave; was able to use microwave in Marketplace. Room was feather free at check in as I had reserved. In room wifi still slow. Elevators spacious, quick. Computers available in lobby free. Well lit, close, free parking. Curb cuts made with safety bumps, very nice on rainy day. Plenty of luggage carts. Pool indoors, small, open 6:00 am to 11:00 pm. Within few blocks of mall and other restrauants, within walking distance for the hearty. Easy access to 290 and 90 interstates with mapquest or google diredtions. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the nice, thorough review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

You won't be disappointed in this hotel. Very clean and well cared for. Beds are very welcoming! Rooms are very comfortable and the staff -from the front desk to the maid service- were very friendly. Good value for the money and well situated close to many restaurants. I will definitly stay here again on my next trip through Chicago.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review. I'm glad you found us to be a great value. Thanks for recognizing our friendly staff. We hope your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were there for two nights with my family because of the Bahai Conferance Art&Culture World Wide Union gathering.
Just great... Location was A++
Staff A++
Rooms were really nice.
Close to one of the best Mall in Chicago.A+++
I hope already they have got their renoation done.new version of Courtyard( New Remodeling) If yes with their great staff ( GM, FD, Eng,Hsk & sales they should be unbeatable.
Thanks for the best experience that I have had in my trip to chicago.
Sincerely
Arash T.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review. We will be refreshing our guest rooms and lobby and will be happy to unveil our new Bistro in early 2013. Come back and see our new hotel then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hi, I was on a business trip with Meru Networks on October2-4, 2012 and stayed in this Courtyard Mariott in Schaumburg. I left a bag in the bathroom that had toiletries and a special necklace in it as well as some other jewelry and called the next day and it had been turned in to management by Erendira, the head of housekeeping. It is so nice to know there are honest people like Erendira. I so apprecialte her turning it in.
When I called I spoke with Debbie Ortiz who was so nice, got my phone number, checked to see if found and called me back within 5 minutes. She took my credit card number and is sending to the bag to me Fed Ex. Wow, what a great staff they have. I finished up the call asking for the manager, Holly Zimmer who could not be any nicer and helpful. Marriott you should be proud of having these kind of superior employees working for you. On a last note the food was great and the customer service was awesome as well. This is a first rate hotel.
Thank you again,
Trish Ulrich
St. Petersburg, FL

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel because you will get incredible service! This hotel has great management. Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We were happy to be of service to you! Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here for Ryder cup . Rooms good. Shower good and staff very helpful. Great atmosphere.no breakfast included but good breakfast bar to purchase food. Ate in restaurant and food there excellent! We had a private room with tv on first night so we could catch up on the days golf

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard during Ryder Cup. We were happy to be your American host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for the Ryder Cup in Room 518. Room was comfortable and clean with a sofa, mini fridge, coffee maker and desk. Free wifi and breakfast was included and was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. There is nothing bad I can say about this hotel or the room. Excellent value and thank you for a nice stay.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us over Ryder Cup! We're glad we could be your host for the event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg

Address: 1311 American Lane, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#14 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg is just 25 miles from Downtown Chicago, near I-290, I-90, and only 15 miles from O’Hare International Airport. Business travelers love this ideal location near ORD airport and the close proximity to the offices of Motorola, Experian, and Zurich, while leisure travelers enjoy visiting LEGOLAND, Medieval Times, and shopping at IKEA or the Woodfield Mall. Free WiFi, the 24-hour business center, and our 6 meeting rooms with 3,100 sq. ft. of space offers the perfect place to organize your next business function. The new lobby is highlighted by personal media pods and the interactive touch-screen GoBoard to give you all the info you need about local news, weather, traffic, and airport schedules. The renovated guest rooms make you feel right at home with flat-screen TVs equipped with premium cable, in-room mini-fridges, and luxury bedding with crisp linens, plush mattresses, and fluffy pillows. You can dine in at our onsite Bistro to enjoy our healthy breakfast and dinner options, or you can sample the wine and craft beer menu while you relax in one of our comfy lobby chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago/Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Courtyard Chicago Schaumburg
Courtyard Schaumburg
Schaumburg Marriott
Schaumburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.