We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yu's Mandarin Restaurant

Yu's Mandarin Restaurant
200 E Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173-3735
847-882-5340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 276 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
WESTMONT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Most of my life I have ate at local, general chinese restaurants that use all of that MSG. Yu's is an upscale true Chinese restaurant. You know the food is good when all of the Chinese people eat there.

My wife and I have been back several times. We won't go to any other Chinese restaurant.

You will not be disappointed.

Bob

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Probably the best chinese food in the Chicagoland area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Despite being Asian, Chinese food is not my favorite - mostly because I ate so much of it when I was younger and throughout my single life. Also because there aren't many really good Chinese sit-down restaurants if you don't count the take-out joints all over Chicago and the suburbs.
Yu's Mandarin is different because you get to see how your food is cooked through the glass windows. Sort of like the way you see them in China. It's fun to watch how your food is cook, it's also comforting in that you are assured of it's purity. Anytime a kitchen is visible to the patrons is always a good thing.
My favorite here is the Spicy Fried Eggplant. I usually don't like spicy so I ask for it to be mild but in this case I enjoy the flavor of the red spices because it's not overpowering.
They have a sensational Noodle Show on Saturday evenings (I believe around 8pm) but call the restaurant to confirm if you are specifically coming to see this show. It's entertaining to see a cook/chef making the noodle and stretching it out. This ends up the noodles you get on your dish - should you order a noodle dish.
Try Yu's but invite family & friends for a better experience. It's not a fancy restaurant but a change from the ho-hum, boring Chinese take-out dives. There are three separate parts or rooms, not certain why but maybe it's for private occasions/celebrations. I always to be seated directly in front of the kitchen windows because it's fun watching the cooks slave over my meal(just kidding).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Large Menu, something for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I dined at Yu’s on Friday 8/23 about 8:45pm. We arrived to find the restaurant quite busy with seating at least ¾ the way full. We were immediately seated in a great spot over looking the glassed in cooking area. After reviewing the large menu and specials for the night, we placed our order for Crab Rangoon, Chicken & Shrimp Szechwan Style and the Noodle Platter. The Crab Rangoon was delicious as usual, served piping hot. The Chicken & Shrimp Szechwan Style had great flavor, not too spicy but with a bit of a kick. The chicken was tender and the shrimp were large and juicy. There weren’t many green peppers or water chestnuts so next time I will select a dish with more vegetables. I thought the portion size was a bit small for the price. The Noodle Platter was GREAT with huge scallops, shrimp and pieces of squid. We will definitely order the Noodle Platter again as it was the best deal for the amount of food received. This is our 5th time to Yu’s and we were not disappointed. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Good meal, but quality not the same as prior visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good meal on our return visit to Yu's Mandarin. Our favorite two dishes were the hand pulled noodles, and the fatty pork with pea pod leaves which is not on the menu. Both were good, but the amount of food that they now serve is much smaller than before. The other dishes we had were okay. Had it not been for the craving for the fatty pork with pea pod leaves and the hand pulled noodles, the meal would have been a real disappointment...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
642 reviews 642 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese/Korean food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Yu's Mandarin is one of the better Chinese restaurants in the area. Yes, management has changed, but it's still pretty decent and you still have to compare this place to its competitors in the area.

This place is usually pretty busy and lively, and the decor is relatively modern. I like how Yu's Mandarin also incorporates some Korean elements into their dishes. Most of the dinner plates are pretty authentic. They also pay attention to presentation and make the dishes aesthetically pleasing. As a result, prices can take a bit of a hike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yu's Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yu's Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yu's Mandarin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.