We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic.. realxingly slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
255 W Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60195-3605
847-843-8970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 276 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic.. realxingly slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Plan to take time. Its a great experience. The food takes time to prepare and come to your table. That cn be a little frustrating between courses. The portions could be a bit larger considering the money that you spend. We ordered a second bottle of wine that arrived too late to finish with our meal. Fondue is a slow experience, But that does not meand the wait staff has to be slow. That being said we loved it all. I have a big appetite. Eating slow does make you feel full. Although I did leave hungry, I still enjoyed it very much. They could improve a few things to make the money spent a little better value. And the staff could be a bit more attentive.. Again. this isnt cheap so you should expect and recieve a little more attention and timelinness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, take your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The beauty of fondue is that it forces you to take your time, enjoy the food and the company. Melting pot is always consistent, fresh food, great wines, and terrfic service. If you want to enjoy dinner as an "event" this is the place. Love, it...will go back regularly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Plan for a lot of time and money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

There was a group of 5 of us. We had a reservation for 6:15pm on a Saturday night. We were not seated until almost 7pm.

The hostess gave us a free round of drinks and free dessert. Even with those discounts, we each ended up paying $50 (including tip). We had the cheese, main course and chocolate fondue.....and a second round of drinks.

The server was very nice and walked us through the menu choices. The time between each course was a bit long. But the food was VERY GOOD!!

Beware....the pot stickers don't stay on your skewers very well! ;) But they taste wonderful!

So, if you have a few hours and some extra cash, this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, illinios
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“sweet chocolate fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

nice to do for a change of pace. and taste. seems a bit over priced but only place to go for fondue fun for couples or family. excellent friendly staff

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahomet, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dessert is probably the only way to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My spouse and I had a meal here on a Thursday evening in March. We walked in the door at 5:41 pm and were promptly seated after being asked if we had a reservation. Very nice wait staff and theme.
We had the standard cheese fondue to start with and each had a Caesar’s salad. We also each had the meat lovers main course $38 each. 1 sangria and two beers with the meal were our drinks. We shared the dessert at the end of the meal. Price was 130 before tip. The cheese fondue was alright, had lots of garlic in it. They brought apple and vegetable slices as well as white and brown breads for the cheese. Our table heater was temperamental and took a long time to heat and maintain the food. We had the wine based broth for our medium to cook our steak with. The filet migon was very good, the teriyaki so-so.

Dessert was the best and should we ever go again, it will only be for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.