We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First ever deep dish.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
1 S Roselle Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60193-1638
847-985-1525
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 253 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“First ever deep dish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was my first time in Chicago so I wanted to try some deep dish pizza. It was about a ten minute wait on a Sunday evening to get in but the staff encourages you to preorder your pizza so it will come out more quickly once you are seated. We started with the spinach-cheese-tomato stuffed bread? It was served with marinara and was incredible. I liked it even better than the pizza. Then we got the Chicago classic on the butter crust - a small for two people yield 2 pieces of very deep dish pizza which was the perfect amount (if not too much) after an appetizer. The pizza was definitely not lacking in flavor but had too much sausage for my liking - my husband loved all the sausage though. The staff was friendly enough and the pizza was worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    65
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Deepdish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my first time in Chicago and I wanted to experience Chicago style pizza at its finest. We ordered one pepperoni and one sausage. The sausage was amazing!!! For appetizers we had the pizza chips - they cam with three dipping sauces which were really good. GREAT environment, service and food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
635 reviews 635 reviews
463 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
537 helpful votes 537 helpful votes
“Pizza King of Chitown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We moved away from Chicago in the 1970s. At that time there were 3 Lou Malnati's pizza
locations, now there are 34 and counting. They are doing something right.
My Chicago deep dish pizza Benchmark had always been those pies made by Uno, and Due
in their original downtown locations, with their original ovens. That was deep dish nirvana to me.
The Pizzeria Uno was a huge pie with sausage/pepperoni, green pepper and onions with thick tomato paste.
At 5 PM the restaurant was packed full and there was a line out the door waiting.
Fortunately I called ahead and they had my large deep dish, sausage/pepperoni was amazing.
The crust is the tastiest part of this pie, then the sauce, and the meat.
This pie has more sausage on it than any pie I have ever had. The prices are competitive with
the national pizza chains.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Schaumburg, IL. We were looking for a place that offered deep dish pizza and would deliver to our hotel. Lou's had a online coupon which enticed us to try it. It was an excellent pizza, fast delivery, great price. We will definitely order from them again when we are in the area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lou Malnati's is a chain in the Chicago area. I love deep dish pizza and am so happy we tried this place. Loved everything about this place. The atmosphere is great, try to sit in the porch area if it's a nice day out. We got a deep dish pizza with sausage, pepperoni and spinach. The pepperoni was melt in your mouth good and the sausage is generous. The tomato sauce is out of this world good. Cannot wait to go back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Malnati's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.