We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7:30 show is good family fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laugh Out Loud

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Laugh Out Loud
601 N Martingale Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173
(847) 240-0386
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 attractions in Schaumburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“7:30 show is good family fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family likes a good laugh... we don't even mind a few "corny" jokes, but we don't like the more R-rated comedy that most comedy movies and stand up comedians seems to push as entertainment. The 7:30 weekend show was advertised as 'family friendly' and it was. There were four comedians that worked well together. It was entertaining and included the audience without embarrassing them. It really is a 'no wrong answer' kind of venue. It's the kind of funny that can make you laugh again later when you are talking about it. We were inspired too - got some great ideas for improv party games that we can do with friends and family.

TIP! We purchased tickets about 20 minutes before the show for full price from the box office. We found out that sometimes shows sell out and walk-ins are on a waiting list for seating. Best option is to buy in advance. It was actually worth the full ticket price but we felt like we paid too much because we heard lots of people talking about paying 1/2 price for tickets. We will go back when we are in the area, but next time we will search for discounts if available to get the most for our 'entertainment buck'!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, WI
2 reviews
“First visit good, second visit not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We found Laugh Out Loud Theaters 2 years ago, and had an excellent time. We attended the 9pm Saturday night "adult" show. The performers were good, and the facility was adequate. We had a group of about 7 people and everyone enjoyed themselves.

We had so much fun the first time, we went back a year later. The performers were weaker and didn't seem to have a good flow. We also waited in 'line' to be seated before the show started. The line appeared to be started by the other audience members, and as more people arrived, they moved to the entrance doors and were seated ahead of those who politely waited in line. The theater really needs to implement a rope or a line to encourage those who show up early to be seated first. Not the other way around. Lack of organization in this process frustrates others before the show even starts.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A small place with funny shows. And the first was 100% family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I wouldn't have minded a racier show as my kids only go down to 14 now, but the 7:30 didn't even have sexual innuendos so you could take anyone of any age to it. They did make a joke at the beginning that like any "family-friendly" place, they did serve liquor. I don't drink and I'm pretty touchy about smelling it or having drunks around, but there was none of that.

Pretty good deal that kids 17 and under are only $12. Adults $19. We almost stayed for the 2nd show but the line was way out the door so it was probably full. We got there about 40 mins. before. I had purchased the tix online, and they had my name on the list at the window. We were the 2nd group in so we got front row, center! All the food and drink we ordered was find. You have to go up to a window to order but they bring it out to you if it's a food they have to heat up.

Audience participation was almost required. They regularly would pick out a section to yell out advice. They used audience members 3 times and they all had birthdays. That is usually the best parts because the actors have no idea about these people, and have to make it funny even if the audience member does nothing.

So on the last Sat. of the month, they have audience members do the improv. That would be a blast so we're going to do that sometime.

So it was funny. Not always belly laugh funny, but funny. I like "Whose Line is it Anyway" stuff so when they did "Sound Effects" and "Moving People," that was great. All the other was original stuff.

It was almost 2 hours but seemed like it was longer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited this comedy club for a fun night out with friends and kids. It was something different for the kids and they really enjoyed it. This theater offers adult shows as well. Several people who were celebrating birthdays were brought up on stage as volunteers. You can order drinks, food and snacks while watching the show. The show was just over an hour and a half with a short intermission. We were given discount coupons on the way out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugh Out Loud also viewed

 

Been to Laugh Out Loud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laugh Out Loud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Laugh Out Loud to your Saves list