We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Mold/Mildew Smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 East Woodfield Office Court, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Mold/Mildew Smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed under the new management, after the Staybridge switched over to Sonesta. The rooms had been updated and the lobby as well, and looked promising at the outset, along with helpful and professional concierge. However, our room smelled overwhelmingly of mold and mildew, most likely from water damage to the previous property that the new owners had simply covered up with the updating. It was revolting. Also, the bathroom had NOT been updated, same old tile, gap between toilet and flower, and a tub that dripped all night. We arrived late and left early, so it wasn't worth asking for a different room and having it smell the same - we just lumped it. But definitely would not stay again. And NOT worth 3 stars. Days Inn in Itasca is very close, and although only two stars with harder beds, I would recommend it over this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our customers and apologize we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the issues you had with the suite with our housekeeping and maintenance staff and have corrected it. If you come back to our hotel I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
11
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've never heard of the Sonesta ES Suites before and discovered a great hotel in Schaumburg which is close to the Woodfield Mall, and restaurants. The highways are nearby so getting into the city is easy. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

During the summer they have an outdoor pool, self-service laundry room, great when your traveling with children and business center for business travelers.

For couples who are on a budget, it's very cozy and you won't be disappointed with the room, lots of attractions nearby.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a quiet area so no matter where your room is it will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim G, Director of Sales at Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I can certainly echo the comments here that the hotel needs renovations. Our suite was clean enough, but run down. One sofa was torn, with the inner cushions hanging out of it. One of the televisions wasn't hooked up to anything.

What we did was get was a comfortable, quiet suite that's nicely laid out for a family with a child or two. The kitchen was well-equipped. You can't get that in this price range without sacrificing something. In this case it's modern LCD televisions and new furnishings. I'm happy with that trade-off.

It's a 40-minute drive into downtown Chicago. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is a little weak, but these buffet-style breakfasts are always weak these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#5 of 25 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago / Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Schaumburg
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Schaumburg Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg

Address: 901 East Woodfield Office Court, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#10 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the all new Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg near Chicago, IL! The hotel is located in the heart of the Woodfield Mall and only minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) and great corporate neighbors like Motorola, Zurich, Siemens, OSHA, Pfizer, AC Nielsen, ADP, Navistar,Experian, GE, Bechtel and Fanuc. Guests will find our close proximity to IKEA, Arlington Race Track, Medieval Times Dinner Theater, and downtown Chicago convenient. Sonesta ES Suites offers an all suite experience with extended stay rates, as well as free high-speed internet access and local calls in every guest room! Our redesigned in-room work areas and ergonomic desk chairs will make work a little easier, and we also offer a daily complimentary breakfast buffet, evening reception and on-site 24-hour convenience store. Enjoy our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool,sports court and BBQ grills. Shuttle service is available within a 5-mile radius. Spacious one bedroom, two bedroom, two bath suites are ideal for an extended stay as well as a quick visit. The newly reimagined Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg offers plenty of space and privacy with,fully equipped kitchens,full ovens, microwaves, full size refrigerators, even the pots and pans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.