We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 East Bank Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Schaumburg
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
20
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just settling back from our 4th of July family weekend and it started out with a blast at the Hawthorn. Staff was amazing, housekeeping so friendly and attentive, rooms were clean, comfy and spacious. LOVED the white linens to notice the cleanliness of sheets and towels, as well as LOVED the kitchens, so convenient having that luxury, especially with children, and my little quirk I most enojoyed was the in room ice maker. I didn't have to go down several hallways looking for random ice makers, and who know what you're getting form those nasty things. This hotel has them already in their freezer - PERFECTLY CLEAN. We very much enjoyed the breakfast food in the morning, filled us up perfectly. Enjoyed the location of the hotel in relation to the mall, and other fun activites in the immediate area as well. As a family, we would give this hotel a 10 if we could, but will most definitely incorporate all Hawthorn brands in our future travel. Especially the Hawthorn Suites Schaumburg/Chicago. Just a great, honest, clean, friendly hotel all around. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
To our Excellent Guest,
Thank you!!!! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your family vacation. Schaumburg is the perfect place to enjoy a holiday. Convenient to the downtown festivities (without the downtown price) and all the great local festivities, we have to be the perfect location. With three teenagers myself, having that kitchen saves a bundle when we venture out. Our entire staff thanks you for the recognition, they all take pride in providing the best service in the area and just glow when mentioned. Wishing you many more happy travels and looking forward to your return, Your Grateful Hawthorn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived in our room, the previous trash was already therer. Bedsheet was not clean. They did not clean the room for all the 3 days we were there saying that their cleaning staff was on vacation. Bed was horrible

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the worst experience staying at Hawthorn suites. We had a family and friends get together and we booked multiple rooms almost a month ago and we had confirmation with us. However when we reached late night at 11 pm to the hotel after driving 8 hours, we were told that one of our rooms is at different location which was almost 6 miles away. We were never told about this while booking the rooms and this completely ruined our purpose of having rooms at one location because we wanted all our family and friends at one place. After a lot of argument with the most rude manager I have ever seen, he finally said that we need to go to the other location for only first night and he arranged the same type of room (one bedroom - 4 people) at the previous location for remaining days. We were already in doubts about their arrangements therefore we asked for a written confirmation for the same. They printed the confirmation for remaining nights for us. We were partially relieved and went to other location for first night. Next day in the morning, we checked out from that new location and came back to the earlier location to find that we do not have the room available at this earlier location. The confirmation that they printed out last night didnt mean anything and the manager simply said that they made a mistake and they asked us to go back to that new location where we spent the first night. Then somehow, after again a lot of argument the manager found a room which was for 2 adults only, which was not sufficient for us as we needed a room for 4 adults. Finally we had to switch rooms between our group to accommodate the family members and it caused a lot of trouble to us. The manager, on the other hand, was not even apologizing for all this. I had to spend 2 hours to fight with the rude manager and compensate for this inconvenience. We had booked total 5 rooms for 3 nights. The manager finally gave credit for 2 nights for just one of the rooms after a lot of argument.
This was a very bad experience. It not just wasted our time, but also spoiled the whole trip and the whole purpose of having all family members together.
We will never go to this place again and would recommend everyone not to opt for this place ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Traveler,
I don’t know where to begin…. Yes I do… I am so sorry for the miscommunication. When we learned that we were in an oversold situation, we began grouping our incoming reservations. The only match we found was 2 rooms booked under the same name for the same amount of nights. We immediately emailed a member of your party to ensure that only two rooms were needed. When we received her email that yes, she only needed 2 rooms, we began the relocation process. We did not learn that this was a mistake until you checked in. Our front desk agent apologizes if you felt his conduct was rude and was only thinking that he wish he would have known that you had 5 rooms with your group. We want you to know that these occurrences are rare and we take great care in trying to contact our guests.
My only advice is when you book a large party through parties that do not supply the guest’s information; you call ahead and inform the hotel that you have a large group that you would like to keep together. As someone that has been relocated from my group a few times, I know how frustrating it can be. Please give the Hawthorn Suites Hotels another try; we truly do take pride in our guest satisfaction.
Your Wishing for another chance because we are very sorry that we upset you and value the fact that you chose us for your get together and would love another chance, Hawthorn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg

Address: 1200 East Bank Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg is located in the heart of the Schaumburg Business District. At Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg, we put amenities where they count: in your room Thanks to the addition of a FREE Hot Buffet Breakfast and a $2 million total hotel renovation completed in October 2013, guests will experience exciting upgrades within our spacious suites including new carpet, fresh paint, updated artwork, improved lighting, modern bed toppings, granite countertops in the full kitchens, flattop stoves, cherry and granite bathroom vanities, oversized back-lit bathroom mirrors, rounded shower rods for extra space, and spa quality soaps and lotions. The property also features a newly added 500 sq. ft. breakfast area and lounge where our enthusiastic staff serve full hot breakfast buffets and evening manager's receptions. Next to the our free guest laundry area is our completely renovated exercise room that features new flooring, lighting, mirrors, equipment and a motivating mural. But before you even check in at the contemporary front desk in our new lobby or visit our fully-equipped business center, you will be welcomed by the upgraded landscaping, resurfaced parking lot, and freshly painted building exterior. Our location is a perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are located near major highways, minutes from O'Hare Airport, Chicago, Woodfield Mall, Ikea, Medieval Times, Schaumburg Flyers and the Willow Creek Church. The area is also home to such businesses as Motorola, Zurich, Texas Instruments, Verizon, IBM and many more. There is no greater place to be for the finest in dining, shopping and entertainment; with all of these minutes away, you can be assured of comfort and access to the best of Schaumburg. Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg is located near major expressways, downtown Chicago,Sears Tower, Wrigley Field and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Candlewood Suites Schaumburg
Candlewood Schaumburg
Schaumburg Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.