We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff tried...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 East Bank Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 25 hotels in Schaumburg
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
37
20
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is very nice and had almost everything one looks for in a hotel. I stayed for 3 nights and I really felt like I am at home.
Good location- close to nice restaurants, mall, grocery store(they have kitchenette).... and good access to major connecting highways.....
Comfortable bed , nice & clean bathroom , bathtub with no stains....
positive attitude staff , they even replaced by coffee maker m/c at 12:30 am within 2 mins....
to go breakfast was very nice to have...
Overall Very Satisified...I will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Well Traveled Guest,

We are so delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. From 3 nights to 3 months to 3 years, our property gives you all the comforts of home and a warm and welcoming family feel. Our staff is quick to respond to any and all of our guest’s needs and always delivers with a smile. Good location is right. You have everything you need in crawling distance. If it wouldn’t drive my team crazy, I could easily move in tomorrow.
We wish you many happy hotel experiences during your travels and can’t wait for your return.
Your Appreciative and blushing, Hawthorn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKFORD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I enjoy my stay at this motel. The rooms were very clean. The service was friendly. The only thing I had a problem with is that expedia did not tell me when I check in there was a 20.00 deposit. Other then that I would come back to this motel and let my friends know how great this motel is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer G, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We will defiantly tell all your friends that you are one great guest. We are pleased to hear that our white glove ready immaculate rooms and our fantastically friendly team members made your stay memorable.
Return as soon as you can.
Your Hawthorn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is in need of some serious updating. Recliners in the room are difficult to use and close. Air conditioners are loud as are the bathroom lights that have an annoying buzz. The burners in the kitchen are small and ineffective at times when jiggled incorrectly.

The entrance where the small breakfast (muffins and juice only) impedes anyone from getting a large suit case or a cart through the front door. The elevator smells musty and the carpet on the upper floors has large indentations that people can trip over. On the first floor you can see visible metal caps but on the upper floors those caps are underneath carpet which provide an ample tripping hazard.

Garbage frequently piles up in the halls ways over the weekend and the grills outside have dirty towels and broken utensils thrown underneath. One of the picnic tables has visible screws missing and pulling out of the wood. If you sit on the picnic tables you must have a counter balance. Some of the outdoor chair backs are extremely loose.

This property lacks maintenance and substantial updates. Although this hotel is situated amongst higher end hotels it lacks any motivation to get to that next level. Counter space is tight at best and you end up chopping vegetables on the desk, and definitely not on the pebbled glass board that they provide. Chopping on a glass surface dulls knives.

Pots and pans are provided but the frying pan leaks a cup of water out of the handle after you pull it out of the dishwasher. The bedding is adequate and scratchy, whereas the mattresses lack any sort of support and you have to climb your way out of it in the morning because you find yourself sleeping in a pit at the middle of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSHKOSH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It is a nice hotel but I like to stay where they offer free breakfast they did have food items for sale they also have a nice kitchen in room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg

Address: 1200 East Bank Drive, Schaumburg, IL 60173 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg is located in the heart of the Schaumburg Business District. At Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg, we put amenities where they count: in your room Thanks to the addition of a FREE Hot Buffet Breakfast and a $2 million total hotel renovation completed in October 2013, guests will experience exciting upgrades within our spacious suites including new carpet, fresh paint, updated artwork, improved lighting, modern bed toppings, granite countertops in the full kitchens, flattop stoves, cherry and granite bathroom vanities, oversized back-lit bathroom mirrors, rounded shower rods for extra space, and spa quality soaps and lotions. The property also features a newly added 500 sq. ft. breakfast area and lounge where our enthusiastic staff serve full hot breakfast buffets and evening manager's receptions. Next to the our free guest laundry area is our completely renovated exercise room that features new flooring, lighting, mirrors, equipment and a motivating mural. But before you even check in at the contemporary front desk in our new lobby or visit our fully-equipped business center, you will be welcomed by the upgraded landscaping, resurfaced parking lot, and freshly painted building exterior. Our location is a perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are located near major highways, minutes from O'Hare Airport, Chicago, Woodfield Mall, Ikea, Medieval Times, Schaumburg Flyers and the Willow Creek Church. The area is also home to such businesses as Motorola, Zurich, Texas Instruments, Verizon, IBM and many more. There is no greater place to be for the finest in dining, shopping and entertainment; with all of these minutes away, you can be assured of comfort and access to the best of Schaumburg. Hawthorn Suites by WY Chicago Schaumburg is located near major expressways, downtown Chicago,Sears Tower, Wrigley Field and Navy Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Candlewood Suites Schaumburg
Candlewood Schaumburg
Schaumburg Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago-Schaumburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.