We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misguided Concept - Average at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Golf Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Misguided Concept - Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The remodel appears to be nearly complete. We stayed at the end of November and did not see much construction going on except the front entrance to the hotel was not yet open. There were plastic tarps hanging in front of the windows. We knew what to expect when we booked our stay so that did not affect the opinion of our stay. The hotel is not very warm, it"s a pretty open and cold atmosphere. If this is the new "Fresh" concept for updates to future Hyatt properties, I would say this is a concept gone wrong that they should abandon. They really should of torn this hotel down and built a new hotel or toally gutted the inside. Keeping the same door frames with 10 coats of paint and the same rough texture ceilings from the 50's just doesnt work when conbined with ultra modern fabric, patterns and furniture. The lobbies on each hotel floor are stark and cold. The stark white flourescant lighting just adds to the coldness. The lobby on the main floor had live fish in the lamps, the fish did not look well & lamps did not look clean.

The staff were courteous and frinedly.

The bed was uncomfortable (lumpy pillow top mattress - not high quallity), the sheets were very rough and the pillow cases were rough retained the heat from your body.

The bathroom was postage stamp size. There is not much room to turn around much less have two people in there at once. Our room had just a small shower, no tub.

All in all it was an okay stay. We stayed for free using Hyatt Points and my expecations were pretty low so I was not horribly disappointed. I do know I will not stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds & Sheets
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    201
    94
    23
    7
See reviews for
89
102
36
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Certainly not the best of Hyatts. The hotel itself is a squat ugly building which is still undergoing a lot of renovation work in the communal areas. Even when the work is complete, I can't see it suddenly transforming the place, but even so I would avoid this hotel until refurbishment is complete. There was no prior notification of the extent of the work being undertaken which was a pretty poor stunt, and the temporary bar area and reception are a complete joke. Internet access is an extra charge (rip off). Our room had been refurbished and was clean and tidy, but even so it was still pretty dull and very average. Probably the worst Hyatt Regency I have stayed at, go to the Hyatt Place across the road instead.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We arrived on the finishing edge of the total refurbishment of the property. While some dust was still in the air, things really looked nice. The rooms were bright and airy but the common spaces were not yet finsihed. The staff was outstanding, they were every where anticipating our every need. The staff made all the difference in the world because it could have been a really difficult time with all the remodeling that was going.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The carpet patterns make you a bit dizzy
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This hotel is highly overrated for it's cost and we should have listened to the reviews concerning the construction, which was still ongoing when we arrived. We stayed two nights while I attended conference in Chicago so my husband and 5 year old could be within walking distance to IKEA and Woodfield Mall. When we arrived we had to use the stairs with luggage and a small child carrying many things since the elevator didn't go to the floor where our room was located and we didn't want to pay a bellhop. Newly renovated rooms looked like a magazine cover with minimalist decor. Beds were comfortable, although high. No easy chair or table in the room. We called for luggage stands and they didn't have them. We had problems with the room locking the next morning and had to wait until it was fixed before leaving. We left the room between 9 am-12:30 p.m. and the sheets were not changed while we were out. We called room service and left again in the afternoon. When we came back in early evening, beds were made, the shampoo, soap and conditioner were not replenished and we called room service again. The atrium was under construction. The pool is a lap pool and pretty cold for us, not a pool for the family.

Overall, on hindsight we felt because of ongoing construction the rates should have been much more reasonable since so many things were not running well. Then we would have felt it was worth it. On the contrary we thought it was a rip off.

When we return to Schaumburg, we will not stay at this hotel. There are many other hotels much more reasonable, more family friendly with better service.

  • Liked — Close proximity to IKEA and Woodfield Mall
  • Disliked — Poor value since room rates were expensive for what we received.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Yes, it was still under renovation today. There are always about 2-4 people at the front desk, which really was a makeshift table covered in black linen. The elevators were fast, the breakfast, room service, snacks were just overpriced for what you received. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi were closed for the season. They did have an indoor pool that was 4 ft. deep where you could do laps on. Nice, little outdoor area to hang out at. Our one king bedroom was decently sized. Very contemporary, meaning convenience went out the window. Speaking of the window, although it was beautiful out, we could hardly see outside the window because it was so thick with film--- it really needed a good cleaning. The hotel's website should really tell customers that they are going through a renovation and that there is a fee for internet services in the rooms ($9.99 for a basic connection, $2-$3 more for a better connection--ridiculous) and it should also state that because of the renovations, the business center is closed! I really needed this and no one could tell me where I could use a computer for internet access for business. The shower had no pressure at all, meaning there was no such thing as a quick shower. It was one of those rain showers. Great looking bathroom, but the only trash can was under the shelf that held the sink/counter, so you always had to bend down/ or kick out the trash can to get it out from under the counter. People were really nice and professional here. We had a small refrigerator that seemed out of place in the room-- on the floor to the side of a counter. No microwave. About ten sports channels on the t.v. There was a shuttle that took you to the Woodfield mall (okay mall, but don't expect a food court-- food places were scattered all over the mall). If you want to go to the city, rent a car, because the taxi would cost a fortune. This hotel is not convenient if you're wanting to visit the city. Schaumburg is in the suburbs. It is quite a distance from the airports, too. All in all, this hotel was okay.

  • Liked — the workers
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

This hotel was under major renovation when I was there at the end of September 2008. It seems like it will be beautiful when it's done. I booked it using hotwire and only paid $64 a night, so I really shouldn't complain at all.

They are totally remodeling all the rooms to make them look very modern and upscale, and they are pretty cool. All the furniture is very contemporary and the bed is extremely comfortable! The bathroom is very upscale and modern also. Be aware that there is no tub in the bathroom, just a shower (if you have little kids this could be a problem). There is a great workout room with brand new LifeFitness treadmills and ellipticals that have TV's built in to the console (love that!). There is also a small pool.

The only things I didn't like were related to the renovation. Itwas hard to tell where to go and they need some signs or staff directing people--when I got there I was wandering around and the check-in desk that looked more like a makeshift card table. Also, on the 3rd floor where I stayed, the little "lobby" right off the elevator had a huge hole in the wall with wires hanging out of it where an A/C unit should be. There was also a hallway under construction, and one of the doors was left open to a room that was being worked on, and there was a bunch of unsafe construction equipment in there. That could be a safety problem for little kids.

When they are done with the renovations, it should be awesome! I would recommend it if you don't mind a hotel that is under renovation/construction. I have to say that I didn't hear any construction noise.

  • Liked — Great location, workout room, and overall upscale quality
  • Disliked — The mess due to renovations and lack of signs/staff to help
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This Hyatt is nice regardless of the construction going on around you. I stayed 5 nights at this location and would stay here again if returning to the area. There are only 5 floors. The hotel does have an atrium lobby that is nicely decorated, and an exercise facility that has more cardio equipment than weights. There were 3 health clubs within 5 minutes.

I was a part of about 100 people staying at this location for a meeting. We spent a lot of time within these walls. One thing was consistent and that is the beds are very comfortable. My room had a flat screen television and free wireless is offered. The shower and accessories provided were fantastic!

There has been has some criticism of this property in regard to the construction. My floor was mostly finished and I heard no noises that I would consider disturbing. It appears the work is strategic to certain hallways and kept excluded. However, if your room was close to one of those halls, it could be a problem.

There is bellman and a complimentary shuttle service to area shopping and restaurants. All employees are very nice and professional. Some in our group felt the food offered on our buffet breakfast and lunches was mediocre. I did not take advantage of room service or the restaurant. There were too many wonderful eating options around the property. The entry to the Hyatt is directly across the street from the entry to the mall.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and location to shopping and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Exercise room too small.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago

Address: 1800 East Golf Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#6 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable service you deserve at Hyatt Regency Woodfield. Superbly positioned to offer easy access to downtown Chicago, O’Hare, local businesses and area attractions, our exceptional hotel in Schaumburg is dedicated to ensuring a remarkable stay from start to finish. Great restaurants, deluxe amenities and unparalleled attention to detail add the finishing touches that make us the outstanding choice among Schaumburg, Illinois hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Woodfield Schaumburg Il

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.