We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Golf Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Savings
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Schaumburg
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nice, comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hyatt Regency in Schaumburg. It was a standard king room on the 4th floor. The room was very nice with comfortable furnishings. There was a nice work desk with a comfortable work chair, a modern looking comfortable couch, the king size bed wth several pillows. It also had a dresser that the tv sat on top of and then a full sized wardrobe and another smaller dresser which the coffee pot and safe were on. The only disappointment was that there was no fridge in the room. The room had a nice large window, unfortunatly the only view was of the roof of the lobby and the windows of the rooms across from us (no ground or trees or anything), but no big deal, we just kept the window closed.
The bathroom was nice, although I like a bathtub after a long day of shopping and there was only a shower. The shower head was nice and the water pressure good and the water easily adjustable in temperature.
The thermostat in the room was a little 'slow' at first, and seemed like it took a long time for the room to warm up, but once it did, it was fine.
Conversly, the halls were almost unbearable hot. There is only one elevator, and it is off the lobby. To get to our room we had to walk down two different quite long hallways. I didnt mind the walk, but the heat in the hallway made the walk not very pleasant. I thought I would be smart and take the stairs down, which were close to our room...The sign on the wall and above the above the door said "EXIT" and the sign on the wall said "STAIRS" that was it...I took them (we were on the 4th floor) only to find out that they 'deadended' at the second floor, with only an EMERGENCY access to the second floor, so I had to go back up and take the elevator. This should have been made clear at the top that the stairs are NOT a general exit.
Couple other small problems..we chose this hotel because of its location to the mall but also because it had a pool. The pool hours were listed at 10 am to 11 pm. We went down at 830 pm only to find the pool covered with a tarp and not useable. We thought maybe it had closed early, but when we checked the next morning before leaving at 11 am, we found the same thing. The only little thing was there is only one ice machine located on each floor and it was not in a central location..it was down several hallways from our room, but again, no big deal.
overall, it was a nice stay with just a few inconsistancies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to share a thorough review of their stay at the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago. Thank you for the level of detail that you've provided, as it really gives us the opportunity to get a clear perspective of your time here in Schaumburg. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced. It is never our intention for our guests to feel anything less than comfortable in all areas of their stay and your feedback regarding the temperature in our hallways has been noted. We also regret any confusion with our emergency exits and pools. We’d like to mention that although our outdoor pool is closed for the season, our indoor pool is open. If you ever need assistance in getting around our property, our staff is always willing to help in any way they can. Your valuable feedback is truly appreciated and we thank you for sharing your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    192
    89
    21
    7
See reviews for
79
97
36
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I received the best service from Monica Ramos at this Hyatt Schaumburg. She was very professional and patient with me. She went above and beyond to answer my questions and explain policy and procedure to me. I love getting superb service like this and I hope she is a valued employee!! We travel a lot and service like this is certainly appreciated. Gracias Ms. Ramos!

Room Tip: Ask for Monica Ramos if you need help finding the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your glowing review regarding the customer service that you received! It truly warms our hearts when we read kind comments about our staff members and we can assure you that your wonderful review will be passed along. We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just finished a week stay at the Hyatt Regency in Schaumburg, IL

Every time I stay in Schaumburg this is my choice hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, clean rooms, comfy beds. I normally dine in or at the "Fresh 1800" restaurant located outside of the lobby. The room service staff is always a delight and my order comes quickly. The restaurant is always clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. If you around on a Friday afternoon I would recommend the fish tacos served by Jose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We couldn't be happier to learn that we're your first choice when visiting Schaumburg. Thank you for sharing your glowing review and recommendation. We are proud that we can continue to live up to your expectations and hope you'll visit again soon, as it's always our pleasure to welcome you to the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel looks old from the outside, but is very new inside. There is a restaurant and lobby bar with great food. It is located across the street from Woodfield Mall. The shuttle drivers were very accommodating. Every time we asked to go somewhere, we never waited longer than 10 minutes. They even took us to Finn McKool's for their St. Patrick's Day party! IKEA is also located close by. This was a great girls' weekend for shopping and fun! The shuttle drivers also gave us their card/phone number to call when we needed a ride back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for making the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago your hotel of choice for your girls' weekend! It seems like you truly made the most out of your getaway and it was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We appreciate you sharing our convenient location to IKEA and the Woodfield Mall and hope you'll visit with us again the next time you plan another shopping trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My Husband and I just completed a two day stay at this hotel. Before our arrival I called to make sure that we were given an allergy free room, as I am highly allergic to down feathers. Upon arrival, I once again asked about the allergy free room. Both times, I was assured that our room would be feather free and both times, I was lied to. They put a protective cover over the pillows but the comforter was 100% down. Once we discovered the mistake, my husband called the front desk to have it changed. It was about 11pm when he called and we didn't receive a replacement until about 1145pm after a second call and visit to the front desk. When we checked out, I asked the front desk clerk "Teodora" if we could speak to a manager. It took the manager almost 10 minutes to appear from the back office and that was only after my husband asked for the manager for a 2nd time. The manager was mildly apologetic as she told us "that should never happen". Yes, Ms. Manager I'm aware of that. I should also mention that Teodora was the same clerk who checked us in and on both occasions her attitude and customer service left A LOT to be desired. To say that she was unfriendly is an understatement. On the contrary, all of the men who helped with Valet and Baggage were very friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty. We tipped them every time. Unfortunately, that doesn't make up for the service we received from the front desk, or the lackluster apology from the manager on duty. We are Hyatt Passport members and we stay at the Hyatt very often. We just completed a 5 night stay at the Hyatt Regency in Century City, California earlier this month, at which the customer service was superb. The experience at the Schaumburg location was more than disappointing. If you have any special needs or if you value good customer service, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced at our hotel. While we greatly appreciate your loyalty to the Hyatt brand, we can understand any frustrations that you must have felt and truly regret the length of time it took for our staff to resolve the issue. Please rest assured that this oversight in preparation has been addressed to our staff and has been corrected. While your experience does not reflect the high standards of customer service that we’ve set, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to provide the perfect accommodations to better fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was okay. Tried to log in the wifi with my tablet and they wanted $9.99 a day for " basic inernet " and there were higher charges for upgraded internet. Well lets see if I used that for my tablet it would be almost $40 for my stay. Thankfully I was staying there for a class and didn't need to access the internet for business or anything. Next time will probably stay somewhere that offers free wifi, you think for $119 a night they could offer free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We never like to read when a guest leaves our hotel feeling disappointed. While we appreciate your feedback regarding our Internet, we truly regret any inconveniences. We always want to offer our services at the best possible value and will certainly take your feedback into consideration for the future. We’re pleased to announce that we will be making significant improvements to our Internet service with an upgrade to a 100 Mps Metro-e circuit in the near future. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the exciting changes. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff at the Hyatt are always friendly and helpful. From personnel at sales and reception to housekeeping and maintenance, employees are happy to assist. Fresh Coffee Bar staff were consistently excellent, providing anything you needed. Fresh 1800 staff, including Jose and Juan, continuously work with great care. Food is exceptional and the rooms are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and kind recognition of our staff! We're always delighted when we can provide our guests with such a positive experience and I'm looking forward to sharing your kind comments with our team. On behalf of our staff, thank you for sharing your lovely review and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago

Address: 1800 East Golf Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
#8 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable service you deserve at Hyatt Regency Woodfield. Superbly positioned to offer easy access to downtown Chicago, O’Hare, local businesses and area attractions, our exceptional hotel in Schaumburg is dedicated to ensuring a remarkable stay from start to finish. Great restaurants, deluxe amenities and unparalleled attention to detail add the finishing touches that make us the outstanding choice among Schaumburg, Illinois hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Woodfield Schaumburg Il

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.