We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legoland Discovery Center Chicago

Legoland Discovery Center Chicago
601 N. Martingale Road, Intersection of Higgins Road and Martingale Road near Woodfield Mall, Schaumburg, IL 60173
+1 847-592-9700
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Legoland Discovery Center Chicago like an insider
Special Offer
$85*
and up
Go Chicago Card
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Schaumburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit LEGOLAND Discovery Center and it's like you have just jumped into the world's biggest box of LEGO bricks! This indoor attraction offers 30,000 square feet of LEGO fun including two rides, a 4D movie theatre, a build and test zone where kids can build their own LEGO creations, Miniland - the Chicago skyline built from 1 million LEGO bricks, a soft play area, LEGO Star Wars Miniland, LEGO Factory Tour, Model Builder Workshop, LEGO Shop and Cafe. It's a fun place for LEGO fans young and old!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We traveled specifically to this location as it is the closest to our home, so our intention was to enjoy it as much as possible. If you are not able to get the cheaper tickets online ($13.50 for the later entry times), then you could be taking a chance of not getting in if you go during popular times (we went during spring break) as tickets go fast at times. You will likely stand in a long line with or without tickets during peak times so be prepared for that.
It's part of a mini mall area so there are a few restaurants to eat at and stores to shop in. Parking is free as a result, but may not be convenient as you are competing for spots open to ALL of the businesses in that area. It is a little pricey ($18) since all age groups pay the same admittance costs (two and under are free). However, I must say that you will get your moneys worth! Especially considering that the admission costs includes the complete lay of the land; all activities there are included, no separate fees for the 4D movies, tours, rides, etc..! You are automatically dumped into the store upon exiting so prepare to buy something Lego themed ($4 - $70).
My son spent a great deal of time in the play gym area. You can also build and race cars, work as a master builder, do a factory tour, watch 4D movies, and ride two rides that are suitable for the entire family among other things.
The most important thing to consider when planning your visit is that once you exit, no reentry is permitted. If you wish to complete most of the activities, plan at least 3 hours for your visit (we were there for 5.5 hours and did not do everything!) and either eat before going in or plan to play until you are starving and then eat afterwards. They have a small cafe inside but I wouldn't label it as my choice for meals, but it is an option for those who wish to stay inside for longer periods. Legoland has a diverse amount, and variety of activities to keep kids of most ages happily occupied for hours on end.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_LDC, General Manager at Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, responded to this review, yesterday
I'm so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed their visit all the way from Columbus! I really love it when families enjoy the center so much that they choose to stay for 3, 4 or even 5 hours at a time. While Spring Break can be a busy time for us, we do our best not to allow too many people in at a time so that lines never go above an average of 15-20 minutes, and I'm happy to hear that the system seemed to work well for your group.

Thanks again for visiting, and I hope to see you again!

Nick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    157
    142
    86
    64
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun for kids but book online to assure access.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We went on a Saturday morning. We almost didn't get in as all slots were booked until 3pm. Definitely book online to assure a time slot. There were lines for the shows and rides, but it was a Saturday. The movies were meh, tour meh. My daughter enjoyed building cars, the jungle area and the rides. Kind of expensive but worth doing once with kids aged three through seven. Don't bother with the extra passport pack they offer for purchase.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_LDC, General Manager at Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for your visit! Saturdays are definitely popular times to arrive, so your advice of booking in advance is right on the money! If you'd rather use a couple, we also can book here onsite up to two months in advance of your visit, which is another option for those who live closer by. Glad you enjoyed and I hope to see you again.

Nick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny...book your tickets online”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We visited Legoland late Tuesday evening in April. I had booked our tickets online to save some money and make sure we could get it. Since it was a weekday, the place was quite empty. My three year had a great time identifying all the Lego creatures. She also enjoyed playing with a whole bunch of Legos in one of the rooms. There was a short amusement ride, which was okay. The best part was upstairs. I loved watching two 4D movies while the kids had fun with a fancy version of merry go round ride that moves up if you pedal. There was also a decent sized play area suitable for our one year old. Everyone enjoyed seeing the factory simulation of how Legos are made. We could easily have spent about three hours there if the place had not closed at 7 pm. All of us had a great time and the $13.50+tax felt like a good deal. All the staff was friendly and we would definitely have bought an annual pass if we lived in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_LDC, General Manager at Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Awesome awesome awesome! Weekday nights can honestly be some of the best times to visit the center - you get plenty of chances to go on as many of the rides as you'd like, and you have access to thousands of LEGO Bricks at once! Next time, you can book your tickets at 4PM for the $13.50 price online and spend an extra hour with us for the same low cost. Hope to see you again!

Nick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TOO BUSY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

The place is too busy and crowed along with being expensive for 2 kids these were my grands we had to leave and they were upset it was just too much money for what i would have spent i could have taken a Disney Trip (being funny) I want even walk by this place with no child but if you have the money it's ok have fun.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_LDC, General Manager at Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the review! Sorry to hear that you experienced a busy day last summer - this year we've implemented a virtual queuing system to try and reduce lines within the center and in our Admissions area. Since you don't live far away, you can also visit during the school year, which is far quieter especially on the weekdays. Hope to see you again!

Nick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LEGOLAND in Chicago Burb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I arrived here with my daughter in a whim.. Had only two hours before closing time at 7 PM, Sunday.Plan wisely for in two hours we barely had time to cover: a ride, a fly, some car modeling and testing ,a movie ,a Lego Monster builder class (aprox 40 min. long, aprox 30 persons, lesson on screen) and were left with no time to simply enjoying creative building !
As you arrive check the 3 D shows time (every 30 min. back to back ) and the Master builder class time - then enjoy the rest of your stay. The Model builder class was taught by Travis, a very patient guy.Spaceship models remain in the lab; similar sets can be purchased at the cafe counter for $5.
Although busy place lines for rides moved fast, between 5-10 minutes wait time.

There is a cafeteria that features a $12 kids menu or other expensive options (eat outside the facility - is a plethora of options just across the street).Also a parents den with couches is available by the children`s play area.
The place is not as big as it might seem but requires more than 2 hours for relaxed enjoyment.
Both rides were favorite highlights for us !!
Look for coupons to save your kid`s entrance - our was printed on a LEGO toy bag.Ask about annual pass.
Excited to return here.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_LDC, General Manager at Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Sounds like a fabulous visit! I'll pass your compliments along to Travis, he's a fantastic builder who is always trying to help people build their creations. Happy to hear about your enjoyment of our rides, movies and building areas as well! Ann Arbor is quite the drive, but I hope to see you and your family again soon!

Nick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legoland Discovery Center Chicago also viewed

Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg, IL
 

Been to Legoland Discovery Center Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legoland Discovery Center Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.