We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havencrest Castle

Havencrest Castle
140 N 5th St, Savanna, IL 61074
+(1)815-990-7159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Savanna
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience one of our popular guided tours at northwest Illinois' grandest mansion, the six story, 63 room, hilltop home of Mr. & Mrs. Alan St. George. Step into a romantic dream of Love and Art where the line between fantasy and reality blurs. Elaborately-themed rooms transport the visitor to distant lands, and long-forgotten eras. Visitors are left with an unforgettable experience of beauty, elegance, and fantasy, embraced by a never-ending love story. Go beyond the tour: Imagine staging your special occasion amidst the splendor and opulence of our incomparable settings. Medieval Dinners, Chinese Feasts, Fantasy Weddings, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Victorian High Teas, Persian Masquerades, Club Meetings, and Business Luncheons. Havencrest Castle awaits to embrace you and your guests with elegance and art. Please call us to discuss options and your available budget, or to schedule a tour. Call Havencrest Curator and Event Director, Michael S. Dunavant.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

A very thorough tour. Very interesting and guide extremely knowledgeable. So much to look at and enjoy. Very fascinating history. We were fortunate to have the guide play the piano and sing a song chosen by a tourist. A must see.A hidden gem that should be explored.Go before the winter as it closes for the winter season.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

When you want to experience how the rich & famous from Medieval times lived, tour this Castle. It is a one-in-a-million time for you. We toured as a group from Stockton. Step back into time to experience this story of a devoted couple.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“TRY TO GET A TOUR - AND DINNER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went here with the Rolls-Royce Owners Club and had both the tour and dinner. If you can go as a group, go and get a dinner package. Michael, the curator, is very entertaining and the castle itself has an interesting story of love and devotion of a couple who bought it and built on to it over the years.

A lot to see in Savanna - this is a must see.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Life Fairy Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment I stepped in the door, I had exited the real world and stepped into the pages of a fairy tale. Never would I have imagined such a gem in such a place as Savanna, IL. Each room that we toured was more unique and extravagant than the other. And what's even more amazing is that everything was created as a labor of love by the St. Georges themselves. I've never seen such amazing paintings, sculptures and artwork outside of a museum before.... And to think, we were walking through someone's HOME! I feel lucky to have had the opportunity to walk the halls of the castle and hear the stories that go along with it. Havencrest is an absolute MUST see and is worth the trip. Photographs simply don't do it justice- it must be seen in person. Michael, our tour guide, was very entertaining and kept us laughing along the way. I can't wait to have the opportunity to go back and share the experience with my loved ones.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Havencrest Castle Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Michael is an amazing tour guide and really makes the tour fun. Cash only. Smaller groups are best since the rooms are quite small in the house. Cookies and alcohol are served. A very unique experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavencrestCastle, Public Relations Manager at Havencrest Castle, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us you enjoyed your visit, and we are happy to report that Havencrest Castle now accepts all major credit cards. We hope you'll come and experience us again. We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havencrest Castle also viewed

 

Been to Havencrest Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havencrest Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.