We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average motel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Bay Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Runaway Bay Motor Inn to your Saves list
Runaway Bay Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   429 Oxley Drive, Runaway Bay, Queensland 4216, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“An average motel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed at Runaway Bay Motor Inn for a sporing event in late April. The room was a reasonable size and included a kitchen (microwave only) with tea and coffee making facilities and a toaster. The room was well lit and had an air con unit and a fan. The room was serviced daily, but we still found ants in the kitchen on 3 nights. Had room service breakfast and the serving size and quality was reasonable. The traffic noise was a bit of a pian as I am a light sleeper but I got use to this after 2 nights. Easy walking distance to a grocery store and a variety of other shops. Short drive or 20 minute walk to a shopping complex and Harbor Town (discount outlet stores). Overall the room did what it was meant to do. I would stay again if I was coming for a sporting event. Maybe not for a longer holiday with my family though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Runaway Bay Motor Inn was a very clean and well appointed hotel with all that we needed for us and our two children. The rooms were reasonably roomy and had a very nice little kitchenette (with table and chairs) that enabled you to store your own food and drinks for meals such as breakfast which is always handy with two children. This saved on breakfast meal costs while also giving us somewhere to sit and eat before we went out for the day.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we had no problems with either check in or check out.
The only minor problem we had was that there was no internet access unless you have a wireless laptop, not very handy when you are trying to avoid taking your laptop on a holiday.
The hotel is approximately a 15 minute drive to Surfers Paradise but was well priced when considering what other hotels were asking for over the Christmas/New Year period. It was however close to the Gold Coast theme parks meaning that the drive back to the hotel after a long day at Dreamworld was relatively quick!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This motel is a bit off the beaten track as far as Gold Coast Motels go but it is a quality property and it is close to major shopping precincts and there are a number of restaurants and fast food outlets nearby.
The property has a modern fresh look about it even though it is probably 20 or more years old. It has obviously had an ongoing update programme.
The staff were very friendly and cooperative. We checked in on a very hot day and found that the air conditioning was not operating very well. They changed our room without any hesitation and we had no further problem in that regard.
The rooms are huge by any standard and have a separate kitchenette with additional crockery, cutlery and a microwave; the bathrooms are also more than adequate. The ground floor units also have a private courtyard at the back.
The motel management are gradually updating the air conditioners and all the TV sets are currently being replaced with flat screens, not that anyone goes to the Gold Coast to watch TV (do they?)
The restaurant provides a reasonable fare, but as previously mentioned there are a number of alternatives within walking distance.
It was a pleasure staying here, and the fried eggs for breakfast are the best I have had in a motel in 10 years. Best of all we were nowhere near the "schoolies week" fiasco.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My Husband and I spent one night here at the end of a two week sales trip starting in Cairns and ending in Runaway Bay..
We found our room towards the back of the complex to be quiet. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. We had a disabled bathroom which was well equipped and spacious. The kitchen was all everything we needed with microwave, fridge, sink, toaster, electric jug and crockery and cutlery.
We felt it was good value for money and would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We spent 3 nights at this motel and found it convenient for our purposes. The rooms are a little tired in the decor department as are the bed covers. The ensuite bathroom was more tired than the rest, the shower doors have very narrow opening via sliding glass doors and large people will have a squeeze to get in the shower!
There are little courtyards at the rear of the rooms which cater for smokers etc. The courtyards are not covered and there is no undercover parking.
The reception staff were very pleasant and all rooms have a small kitchenette area with sink, microwave, cutlery and crockery. Flyscreens were fitted and you will need these in this area in summer.
Noisy box in the wall air conditioner and a ceiling fan provide heat/cooling although I don't think I could sleep with the noise of the air con all night.
I'm really not sure if the place deserves it's 4 star rating but al in all it's a comfortable motel.
The restaurant is excellent (refer review on "The Portly Pelican")

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Runaway Bay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Bay Motor Inn

Address: 429 Oxley Drive, Runaway Bay, Queensland 4216, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Runaway Bay Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Runaway Bay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Bay Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.