We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week in the Milkhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Artisan Bakehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Artisan Bakehouse
Save
You added The Artisan Bakehouse to your Saves list
No.1 - 3 Horsebridge Cottages | Horsebridge Common, Ashurst, Ashurst BN44 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely week in the Milkhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a lovely week with our 10 month old twin boys in the Milkhouse. They loved going swimming in the pool, exploring the grounds, going on the swings and in the sand pit, but mostly chasing the chickens! Les and Louise are really friendly, helpful and welcoming (without being intrusive) and the food we had from them (cream tea, bread, pizzas and a 3 course meal) was gorgeous too. We're planning on going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed with our 2 boys (3&1yrs) who would've happily stayed around the site the whole week. Daily dips in the warm pool equipped with toys, bounces on the trampoline, sandpit, swings, hens, rabbits and squirrels. The grounds are lovely and spacious for a good run around for the kids too.

Les and Louise are very friendly and helpful. The bread, milk, biscuits and jam on our arrival were so appreciated as we arrived at 1am and this was exactly what we needed for the next day. Speaking of arriving at 1am, Les and Louise were very accommodating of this and the tea lights were a perfect way to light our path, everything was made up beautifully such that we could put our sleeping boys to bed and ourselves of course.

Great location for loads of activities for people of all ages. Our boys loved Drusilla's park (thanks for the money off voucher!) and we ventured to peppa pig world too which was fun for them.

Evening meal that we had as a take out cooked by Louise was delicious and my only regret is leaving it so late that we didn't get a chance to be cooked for again. A chicken and chorizo casserole with potatoes gratin with freshly baked bread and a fabulous pavlova was simply devine.

Would definitely stay again and it's made us fall in love with the south of England again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Artisan Bakehouse with our baby and toddler and wanted to take the cottage plus Les and Louise back home with us. The Milkhouse which we stayed in was bursting with character and old world charm but had been sympathetically brought up to date decorated in a simple but comfortable style. Everything was in tip-top condition and immaculately clean. Les and Louise are wonderfully friendly and helpful without being intrusive or over-the-top. Les bakes mouth-watering breads and if you want to eat in without lifting a finger, Louise cooks delicious meals of the quality that you would expect in a very good restaurant whilst retaining the comfort of home-cooking. What a treat!!. Either served in their dining room or, even more conveniently as we had sleeping children upstairs, brought to our cottage so all we had to do was eat and put plates in the dishwasher without leaving the cottage. They also baby-sat for us one evening so we could go for a meal in Brighton. The gardens are extensive and lovely, with plenty to keep the children occupied and the pool was just the right temperature. The perfect baby-friendly home from home but better as we were cooked for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having spent a few happy holidays at Les and Louise's gites in France, we were thrilled to find them back in the UK. In fact, they have managed to transport all the fabulous parts of our French holidays (the lovely rural feel, the luxurious yet comfortable interiors and the beautiful, well-kept gardens) to a very pretty part of West Sussex - but without the ferry trip (only an hour from London). We had a really peaceful and relaxing week with our baby and 5 year old. Everything was provided for us, from a cot to a drying rack in front of the aga. The gardens and heated pool were a big hit with the children and we didn't manage to get through a fifth of the great looking days out available in the area (although we loved Petworth National Trust and Arundel town and castle). But most of all we appreciated the warm welcome and the friendly atmosphere that Les and Louise seem to effortlessly create, as well as the absolutely gorgeous food. Les's freshly baked artisan bread was always warm - it was difficult not to eat the whole loaf whenever possible. We loved our breakfast on the first morning with amazing sausages and bacon and particularly lovely smoothies for the kids. Louise's evening meals are as delicious as ever and served in monitor distance of our children which meant we "got out" for the evening a few times too! Les and louise also managed to give us some French summer weather which was much appreciated after a wet week in Cornwall. We can't wait to try out the woodburner and toasty kitchen in winter next. Really couldn't recommend this more.

Room Tip: The brewhouse has a shower (no bath), a well equipped kitchen with an aga and a washing machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Apologies to Les & Louise for not reviewing sooner. My wife, 3 year old daughter and I stayed in the Brewhouse for a week at the end of July/start of August and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We got out and about every day, but you could easily stay about the property and relax.

We arrived to an offer of help with our luggage, and fresh 'nutty' bread, eggs & homemade jam in the spotlessly clean and horizontally spacious Brewhouse. Vertically... the one problem i had the whole week was being 6 foot 2 - I found myself stooping regularly during the week to avoid the wooden beams. Don't let that put you off though - I'd go back... with a hard hat :)

In the Brewhouse, you've got an Arga oven, steriliser, ipod station, stairgate, barbecue outside; the list could go on. Its easier to say what you haven't got and the only thing I can think of is a bath. Also, there is the pool, trampoline, hens who try to make themselves at home, squirrels, and wild rabbits. Next door you've got the perfect hosts - friendly, any queries/isues and they're dealth with quickly, and excellent with food.

Half way through our stay we got lazy when it came to cooking so asked for the take out option. Oh, we should have done it sooner! One night we had pizzas, with a mixed salad. Another night we had a vegetarian lasagne accompanied by a mixed salad and rosemary foccacia followed by apple crumble, and another night we had a potato gratin with mixed roasted vegetables and a piece of stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon for me and a vegetarian tart for my wife followed by chocolate brownies. All and I mean all of it was homemade and utterly delicious.

What to do...Well we went to the beach at Littlehampton, Steyning, the Sealife center in Brighton (which was disappointing when you've been to the Blue Planet aquarium near Chester), Knockhatch adventure park (as Drusilla park was closed due to a power failure), Brooklands pleasure park, Amberley museum and heritage centre, and still we thought we could fill another week easily.

In summary, accomodation, hosts, food, surrounding area all great and would not hesitate to come back. Thank you Les & Louise.

Room Tip: Choose the Brewhouse if you want to try out cooking with an Arga. Alternatively, if you want a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TABH2012, Owner at The Artisan Bakehouse, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. Happy guests are so important to us - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the homecooked food we made for you.
We hope to see you again so that you can explore & enjoy more of beautiful Sussex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I visited the Artisan Bakehouse with my three children for a break last week and what a fantastic time we all had!On arrival your appetite is wetted with the fabulous scones, and bread baked by Les.The grounds lend themselves to a relaxing wander taking in the pond,hens or as we were able to take a dip in the beautiful pool.There is a large trampoline that Ellie kindly shares as well as a couple of small swings for the younger members.The location is great for the beaches at The Witterings or to the stunning village of Steyning with its great selection of independent shops-mine liked the old fashioned sweet shop!Louise and Les have thought of so much detail-comprehensive local info,all baby equipment and they can provide ready made meals for you in your accommodation should you require it.Go and have a beautiful slice of peace and harmony!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We were made to feel really welcome from start to finish,nothing was too much trouble! The food was amazing too.Really enjoyed it despite the rain and would definitely go back,hopefully might even get to go in the pool next time! Would definitely recommend it if you want a really relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Artisan Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artisan Bakehouse

Address: No.1 - 3 Horsebridge Cottages | Horsebridge Common, Ashurst, Ashurst BN44 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Ashurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ashurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 16th Century Sussex Farmhouse set in 5 acres of pretty gardens and woodland. Offering two newly renovated self-catering holiday cottages with the option to enjoy delicious home cooked AGA meals from our Farmhouse kitchen. Kingsize beds, luxury bathrooms, cosy log fires & deep armchairs in the winter, a heated outdoor pool to swim in, or relax by with a book in the summer. Relaxation treatments available from visiting Covent Garden Neals yard therapist. Acres of gardens and woodlands, chickens & ducks to feed and lots of other wildlife to spot. Parents will appreciate the tasteful luxurious cottage interiors and thoughtful added extras from fresh baked breakfasts, gourmet meal deliveries, babysitting and plentiful baby gear; whilst mini guests make the most of exploring. Set in a secluded rural ideal on the edge of the beautiful South Downs National Park yet just 5 minutes from the pretty vibrant village of Steyning and beaches within 10 minutes too! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Artisan Bakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.