We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners absent / Poor experience of a 9 day stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owners absent / Poor experience of a 9 day stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I found out about Inn On The Lake via the Mr and Mrs Smith web site initially and before booking directly with the venue a last minute NINE days holiday I telephoned the Inn to reserve our room for one hour on 22/07/13 whilst securing flights. The call was answered by Pamela van der Schaar - the joint owner. As she is British we felt at ease booking and she very kindly reserved our room and in passing I enquired whether the Inn had sun loungers. Pamela kindly informed me that these would be available. She did not mention that both her and her husband would be in the UK during the entire course of our holiday. She was surprised at the length of our stay as most guests stay for much shorter periods apparently. We booked the Black & White Room for our entire stay at a not insignificant 189 Euros per night. I sent Pamela a confirmation email separate to our on-line booking and stated that we would probably book meals for most of the nine evenings if that was possible. We received a reply stating that we would be met at the airport by a lady named 'M' (name withheld by me) and that 'M' would expect us for dinner that evening. There was no explanation as to whom 'M' was but we subsequently identified that she was a Dutch friend of the owners and "helps them out". We arrived and was warmly met by 'M' who prepared a great meal. We learnt that Pamela and her husband were in the UK for a number of weeks. Fabulous Lakeside location exactly as described on the internet. Also assisting was another Dutch lady named 'B' (name withheld by me). 'B' is the cleaner and assisted 'M' in the running of the Inn. We were told of restaurants where to dine as Dinner would not be provided on night 2. 'B' cooked meals on two further evenings but informed us that she had never cooked an evening meal for guests before! During the course of our stay we were only allowed to have evening meals on three out of nine evenings. This is not what we had expected based on the web site information and the Information Sheet in the room and the Inn's colour brochure. The Inn is promoted for its culinary delights and Private Dining / Pampering / Boutique Hotel / High Teas / Table d'Hote / Dutch, French & English cooking with changing menu with fresh seasonal products daily. Sadly, when owners of such an apparently 5 star Inn abandon their business to go abroad (for whatever reason) and leave the running of the venue in the hands of a friend or part time cleaner (who was assisted by her 14 year old daughter for most of the time) then it is inevitable that the service provided will suffer. We booked a boat trip on the Inn's boat at the time of our initial booking. After making a number of enquiries as to when we could take this trip we were subjected to delaying tactics as it became ever more evident that 'M' found this an inconvenience. Eventually we secured this trip on the penultimate day. Captain was 'M' and 1st officer was 'B'. No sooner had we left the Lake into the adjoining canal the instrumentation showed a warning light and the engine made a unhealthy noise. 'M' did not know what the warning was and without the boats' instruction manual we continued on some way and docked near a church only to eventually learn that a pump had failed. We had to abandon the boat in order to be taken back to the Inn by a van. I suppose these things can happen at any time but to also learn that the boat in question had not been used for some time raises questions as to its' service maintenance. This was on top of it not having enought fuel prior to setting off which resulted in a delay whilst fuel was purchased as the last user had left the tank nearly empty. So much for our eagerly awaited boat trip that ended as quickly as it had started. One other evening, after returning from a restaurant in the next town, we sat alone in the garden at the Inn enjoying the peace of the Lakeside. This peace was soon shattered when a Dutch couple arrived in their boat accompanied by 'M' and her husband with two Jack Russell dogs and a brown labrador dog. They clearly found it irritating that we were sitting in the garden under the canopy and disrupted their planned social gathering. They were joined by another couple together with another Jack Russell dog and a young baby in arms which was crying loudly. There we sat with FOUR dogs running amok, fighting continually and trying to jump all over us. We did not know whether we were on holiday or at Battersea Dogs Home or a Maternity Unit. Peace and tranquility?. It gives me no pleasure to have to write this review but the enjoyment of our long stay was ruined by the services advertised not having been provided. For much of our stay the Inn was devoid of any staff and by day eight 'M' had gone away on holiday leaving 'B' and a 14 year old to run the show. No High Teas, no private evening meals dining, no offer of an alternative to the repetitive Continental Breakfast of meat and cheeses taken for nine days! The Visitors Book shows entries that the owners have during the past two years left the running of the Inn in the hands of other people (ie. Sophie, Martin, etc.) whilst they were away so this suggests our experience was not a first. If a venue such as this can not meet its promises when the owners are absent then it should close its doors during such periods.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastorie_9, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear of your bad experience at Inn on the Lake. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and relaxed on their vacation. And I feel that our many positive, indeed
outstanding reviews amply demonstrate our commitment to making our guests stay with us one
they will enjoy, remember with great affection and hopefully want to repeat , as indeed many do.
Due to a serious health emergency, I was unfortunately detained in the UK at this time.
Normally I would never dream of leaving our Guest House in High Season.
My manager who has over 20 years experience in the hospitality sector would have certainly done
her utmost to address any concerns that you had if you had mentioned that you were at all dissatisfied at any time during your stay with us. 9 days is a long time to feel uncomfortable.
I hope that in the near future you will visit us again and that I myself can welcome you to our
Guest House and that I will have the opportunity to cook for you.
Kind Regards
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Owners Pamela and Karel have restored this 17th century original buiding beautifully - with Pamela´s delicious breakfast, Karel´s assistance in getting our heavy suitcases moved to the 2nd floor, this was an experience to remember. Having 17th & 18th century ancestors from this very village made this stay even more interesting. Our son loved his bedstead.
We had a room for three which was very spacious, a great bathroom, very comfortable beds. For those interesting to visit Amsterdam: in less than half an hour you will be by bus standing in downtown Amsterdam. Karel & Pamela can supply tickets for public transport. Also at the end of the street you can rent bikes, which is another great feature. The village of Broek in Waterland is an absolute gem, with dozens and dozens of 16th-17th-18th-19th century wooden buildings. Boattrips on request!
A sauna & spa will be built in the near future in the - still to be restored - building next door!

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room, which fits three persons easily. Getting heavy suitcases to the upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Inn on the Lake. Beautifully restored and decorated, our room was clean and bright with amazing views overlooking the lake and best of all a bath you could relax and enjoy the view from. Care and attention given to all our meals, fresh breads, meats, cheeses and fruit for breakfast and lovely 3 course evening meal on one night. Two places to eat in the village both also got thumbs up from us. 15 minute bus ride into central station, Amsterdam. Relaxing village to stay in with lovely walks around and bikes for hire in the village. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 day break in this beautiful old house where we were able to get to the centre of Amsterdam in 10 mins. using the frequent bus service and likewise to outlying villages of interest. The hosts, Pamela and Karel, were very welcoming and helpful and provided a delicious continental breakfast each day. We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We experienced 3 wonderful nights of Pamela's hospitality - it was faultless! The location is beautiful (just a 12 minute bus ride into the centre of Amsterdam) and a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The decor is stunning, with each room designed in an incredibly stylish individual way. Breakfast is a real treat and dinner for eleven of us was superb. Pamela juggles everything effortlessly and made us so welcome, from bus tickets to converters. We cannot recommend this Inn high enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visiting Amsterdam for an event and had a one night stay. The Inn is located in a lovely, tranquil spot outside of Amsterdam. Room was lovely and had everything you could need. (Recommend for couples looking for a romantic spot). I had a very early departure the next morning but the taxi I booked did not turn up. Pamela (co-owner of the Inn) did a brilliant job in sorting out a replacement taxi in short order (it was a busy time and there was low availability generally), re-booked my flights and got me sorted out; without her I would have missed my next appointment.
This is an inn, not a heavily staffed hotel, so this was service above and beyond.
Lovely spot - will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were on a 10 day tour of the Netherlands. A friend recommended Broek in Waterland based on her fond childhood memories of visiting the area from her home in Amsterdam. We located this bed and breakfast on the Internet. What an excellent and lucky choice! While all of our other lodging was in larger cities, this was our foray into the Dutch countryside even though this is only a 15 minute taxi ride from Amsterdam. Inn on the Lake is a beautifully renovated former vicarage. Our room, the Taupe Room, was across from the kitchen. It was quite large and decorated with luxurious fabrics and draperies. The bathroom and shower in the room were very modern and there was a large heated towel bar. The toilet and another wash basin were in a separate small room within our room. There was a coffee/tea machine available in the main rooms for the guests. The included breakfast was elegantly served on a veranda that opened to a view of the lake and gorgeous flowers. We were served croissants and hot rolls, ham and prosciutto, Dutch and French cheeses, butter and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt parfaits with fresh berries. After breakfast, we took advantage of the bicycles they had available and rode out through Zuiderwolde through the countryside on a bike path to the dike. What a treat to ride though the beautiful countryside and see new lambs and giant swans! The proprietress Pamela was wonderful to work with, from the prompt response to the reservation and followup on how to find them. When we needed help on our train schedule, she researched the information we needed. When we needed laundry done, she ran a load of clothes for us. The village itself is delightful. Artfully decorated homes, a lake and canals and pleasant walking paths. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and this location as a respite from big city life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broek in Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.