We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn on the Lake
Kerkplein 11, Broek in Waterland 1151 AH , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Inn on the Lake. Beautifully restored and decorated, our room was clean and bright with amazing views overlooking the lake and best of all a bath you could relax and enjoy the view from. Care and attention given to all our meals, fresh breads, meats, cheeses and fruit for breakfast and lovely 3 course evening meal on one night. Two places to eat in the village both also got thumbs up from us. 15 minute bus ride into central station, Amsterdam. Relaxing village to stay in with lovely walks around and bikes for hire in the village. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 4 day break in this beautiful old house where we were able to get to the centre of Amsterdam in 10 mins. using the frequent bus service and likewise to outlying villages of interest. The hosts, Pamela and Karel, were very welcoming and helpful and provided a delicious continental breakfast each day. We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We experienced 3 wonderful nights of Pamela's hospitality - it was faultless! The location is beautiful (just a 12 minute bus ride into the centre of Amsterdam) and a world away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The decor is stunning, with each room designed in an incredibly stylish individual way. Breakfast is a real treat and dinner for eleven of us was superb. Pamela juggles everything effortlessly and made us so welcome, from bus tickets to converters. We cannot recommend this Inn high enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visiting Amsterdam for an event and had a one night stay. The Inn is located in a lovely, tranquil spot outside of Amsterdam. Room was lovely and had everything you could need. (Recommend for couples looking for a romantic spot). I had a very early departure the next morning but the taxi I booked did not turn up. Pamela (co-owner of the Inn) did a brilliant job in sorting out a replacement taxi in short order (it was a busy time and there was low availability generally), re-booked my flights and got me sorted out; without her I would have missed my next appointment.
This is an inn, not a heavily staffed hotel, so this was service above and beyond.
Lovely spot - will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were on a 10 day tour of the Netherlands. A friend recommended Broek in Waterland based on her fond childhood memories of visiting the area from her home in Amsterdam. We located this bed and breakfast on the Internet. What an excellent and lucky choice! While all of our other lodging was in larger cities, this was our foray into the Dutch countryside even though this is only a 15 minute taxi ride from Amsterdam. Inn on the Lake is a beautifully renovated former vicarage. Our room, the Taupe Room, was across from the kitchen. It was quite large and decorated with luxurious fabrics and draperies. The bathroom and shower in the room were very modern and there was a large heated towel bar. The toilet and another wash basin were in a separate small room within our room. There was a coffee/tea machine available in the main rooms for the guests. The included breakfast was elegantly served on a veranda that opened to a view of the lake and gorgeous flowers. We were served croissants and hot rolls, ham and prosciutto, Dutch and French cheeses, butter and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt parfaits with fresh berries. After breakfast, we took advantage of the bicycles they had available and rode out through Zuiderwolde through the countryside on a bike path to the dike. What a treat to ride though the beautiful countryside and see new lambs and giant swans! The proprietress Pamela was wonderful to work with, from the prompt response to the reservation and followup on how to find them. When we needed help on our train schedule, she researched the information we needed. When we needed laundry done, she ran a load of clothes for us. The village itself is delightful. Artfully decorated homes, a lake and canals and pleasant walking paths. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and this location as a respite from big city life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermagui
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in October 2012 and I'm sorry it has taken so long to write this review. We were a family of 4 - myself and husband and 2 and 10 year old children.

Even though we had a pretty energetic 2 year old Pamela went to a lot of trouble to make us feel that he was absolutely welcome - maybe naively so - the interior and furnishings in the house are so stunning that I actually was constantly worried about him ransacking the place! If we'd been there sans kids we would have just luxuriated in the beautiful surroundings.

Having said that, our oldest just loved the gorgeous "cubby hole" bed and our whole family fell in love with the village. The houses on the canals, the tavern, the gardens, the lake, the swans, the nearby horses running along beside us on the bikes we'd hired - this village, along with the accommodation, totally exceeded our expectations and if we were to come back we would stay a lot longer.

I read someone's review saying the owners are not friendly - I must admit at first we found Karel to be a bit that way - not a lot of welcome chit chat on the way in from the airport - but as we stayed longer we realised he is just a reserved kind of guy. However both he and Pamela were incredibly helpful and we thank them for our visit and thank both of them for looking after us so well - including for our beautiful special dinner. We also thank them for posting back to Australia something we had left behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for my 30th after spending a few days in Central Amsterdam. I can only give this property a perfect score. Our room was incredible with a gorgeous view right over the lake. The free standing bath at the end of the bed, sumptious bed linen, the coffee machine for personal use on the landing was fantastic. The owners could not have been more helpful - the lady (a fellow brit) helped us select a delicious wine from her cellar below the kitchen. Food for breakfast was divine and the setting truly beautiful. We were kindly offered a lift to the airport by the gentleman owner. I will be returning as I cannot fault it. Next time we hope to stay longer!

Room Tip: If you want some luxury stay in the Black & White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam
Inn On The Lake Hotel
Address: Kerkplein 11, Broek in Waterland 1151 AH , The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.