We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visiting Amsterdam for an event and had a one night stay. The Inn is located in a lovely, tranquil spot outside of Amsterdam. Room was lovely and had everything you could need. (Recommend for couples looking for a romantic spot). I had a very early departure the next morning but the taxi I booked did not turn up. Pamela (co-owner of the Inn) did a brilliant job in sorting out a replacement taxi in short order (it was a busy time and there was low availability generally), re-booked my flights and got me sorted out; without her I would have missed my next appointment.
This is an inn, not a heavily staffed hotel, so this was service above and beyond.
Lovely spot - will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were on a 10 day tour of the Netherlands. A friend recommended Broek in Waterland based on her fond childhood memories of visiting the area from her home in Amsterdam. We located this bed and breakfast on the Internet. What an excellent and lucky choice! While all of our other lodging was in larger cities, this was our foray into the Dutch countryside even though this is only a 15 minute taxi ride from Amsterdam. Inn on the Lake is a beautifully renovated former vicarage. Our room, the Taupe Room, was across from the kitchen. It was quite large and decorated with luxurious fabrics and draperies. The bathroom and shower in the room were very modern and there was a large heated towel bar. The toilet and another wash basin were in a separate small room within our room. There was a coffee/tea machine available in the main rooms for the guests. The included breakfast was elegantly served on a veranda that opened to a view of the lake and gorgeous flowers. We were served croissants and hot rolls, ham and prosciutto, Dutch and French cheeses, butter and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt parfaits with fresh berries. After breakfast, we took advantage of the bicycles they had available and rode out through Zuiderwolde through the countryside on a bike path to the dike. What a treat to ride though the beautiful countryside and see new lambs and giant swans! The proprietress Pamela was wonderful to work with, from the prompt response to the reservation and followup on how to find them. When we needed help on our train schedule, she researched the information we needed. When we needed laundry done, she ran a load of clothes for us. The village itself is delightful. Artfully decorated homes, a lake and canals and pleasant walking paths. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and this location as a respite from big city life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bermagui
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in October 2012 and I'm sorry it has taken so long to write this review. We were a family of 4 - myself and husband and 2 and 10 year old children.

Even though we had a pretty energetic 2 year old Pamela went to a lot of trouble to make us feel that he was absolutely welcome - maybe naively so - the interior and furnishings in the house are so stunning that I actually was constantly worried about him ransacking the place! If we'd been there sans kids we would have just luxuriated in the beautiful surroundings.

Having said that, our oldest just loved the gorgeous "cubby hole" bed and our whole family fell in love with the village. The houses on the canals, the tavern, the gardens, the lake, the swans, the nearby horses running along beside us on the bikes we'd hired - this village, along with the accommodation, totally exceeded our expectations and if we were to come back we would stay a lot longer.

I read someone's review saying the owners are not friendly - I must admit at first we found Karel to be a bit that way - not a lot of welcome chit chat on the way in from the airport - but as we stayed longer we realised he is just a reserved kind of guy. However both he and Pamela were incredibly helpful and we thank them for our visit and thank both of them for looking after us so well - including for our beautiful special dinner. We also thank them for posting back to Australia something we had left behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for my 30th after spending a few days in Central Amsterdam. I can only give this property a perfect score. Our room was incredible with a gorgeous view right over the lake. The free standing bath at the end of the bed, sumptious bed linen, the coffee machine for personal use on the landing was fantastic. The owners could not have been more helpful - the lady (a fellow brit) helped us select a delicious wine from her cellar below the kitchen. Food for breakfast was divine and the setting truly beautiful. We were kindly offered a lift to the airport by the gentleman owner. I will be returning as I cannot fault it. Next time we hope to stay longer!

Room Tip: If you want some luxury stay in the Black & White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This Inn is simply beautiful. The decor is great, tasteful with the feeling that you are escaping to a little sanctuary. The village is gorgeous, very quaint and nice for a stroll. There is a pancake house and a pub/restaurant in the village, both of which I recommend. We stayed in a room with lake views and a roll top bath in the room. The bus into central station runs every 5-10 mins and only takes 10 mins or so- it is worth it for the setting and extra space you get for your money by being a little way out of town. Also a much easier option if you need a hotel with a car park.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very comfortable bed in a cool, relaxing room in a beautiful house with scenic views of this picturesque village and it's lake. Nothing was too much trouble for Pamela. I thought of kidnapping her so I could continue to have her cook for me! Karel is more than happy to provide intelligent conversation and to share his philosophy of life late into the evening over a glass of wine. Don't forget to ask him for a boat trip too as it's incredibly relaxing and peaceful on the far lake and you get to see more of the local architecture on the way.
As someone who is somewhat fussy and hard to please, I was suitably impressed and would whole-heartedly recommend Inn on the Lake to anyone.

Room Tip: Ring/email to discuss your particular requirements/preferences - they couldn't be more helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastorie_9, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A perfect little boutique hotel on a tranquil lake just outside of Amsterdam. The hotel was a vicarage and is appropriately quirky, with the usual almost vertical winding Dutch stair to the first floor. Each room is individually designed. We stayed in the Red Room and our only quibble was that there wasn't enough hanging space. The bed was heavenly, the room had a large sitting area, the bathroom had a large double ended bath for two as well as a powerful shower compartment. We arrived after a long drive from the Polish border and were received with warm hospitality and were then served a beautifully cooked dinner with lovely wine. Breakfast was lovely and had fresh fruits and yogurt prepared lovingly. Coffee was outstanding (well the Dutch do understand coffee!) We were sorry to have to move on to catch a ferry home the next day, but fortunately could relax until noon enjoying Broek in Waterland itself and sitting comfortably in the beautifully designed gardens of the hotel. We will surely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.