We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodation in Perfect Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Inn on the Lake
Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
bermagui
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accommodation in Perfect Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in October 2012 and I'm sorry it has taken so long to write this review. We were a family of 4 - myself and husband and 2 and 10 year old children.

Even though we had a pretty energetic 2 year old Pamela went to a lot of trouble to make us feel that he was absolutely welcome - maybe naively so - the interior and furnishings in the house are so stunning that I actually was constantly worried about him ransacking the place! If we'd been there sans kids we would have just luxuriated in the beautiful surroundings.

Having said that, our oldest just loved the gorgeous "cubby hole" bed and our whole family fell in love with the village. The houses on the canals, the tavern, the gardens, the lake, the swans, the nearby horses running along beside us on the bikes we'd hired - this village, along with the accommodation, totally exceeded our expectations and if we were to come back we would stay a lot longer.

I read someone's review saying the owners are not friendly - I must admit at first we found Karel to be a bit that way - not a lot of welcome chit chat on the way in from the airport - but as we stayed longer we realised he is just a reserved kind of guy. However both he and Pamela were incredibly helpful and we thank them for our visit and thank both of them for looking after us so well - including for our beautiful special dinner. We also thank them for posting back to Australia something we had left behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for my 30th after spending a few days in Central Amsterdam. I can only give this property a perfect score. Our room was incredible with a gorgeous view right over the lake. The free standing bath at the end of the bed, sumptious bed linen, the coffee machine for personal use on the landing was fantastic. The owners could not have been more helpful - the lady (a fellow brit) helped us select a delicious wine from her cellar below the kitchen. Food for breakfast was divine and the setting truly beautiful. We were kindly offered a lift to the airport by the gentleman owner. I will be returning as I cannot fault it. Next time we hope to stay longer!

Room Tip: If you want some luxury stay in the Black & White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Inn is simply beautiful. The decor is great, tasteful with the feeling that you are escaping to a little sanctuary. The village is gorgeous, very quaint and nice for a stroll. There is a pancake house and a pub/restaurant in the village, both of which I recommend. We stayed in a room with lake views and a roll top bath in the room. The bus into central station runs every 5-10 mins and only takes 10 mins or so- it is worth it for the setting and extra space you get for your money by being a little way out of town. Also a much easier option if you need a hotel with a car park.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very comfortable bed in a cool, relaxing room in a beautiful house with scenic views of this picturesque village and it's lake. Nothing was too much trouble for Pamela. I thought of kidnapping her so I could continue to have her cook for me! Karel is more than happy to provide intelligent conversation and to share his philosophy of life late into the evening over a glass of wine. Don't forget to ask him for a boat trip too as it's incredibly relaxing and peaceful on the far lake and you get to see more of the local architecture on the way.
As someone who is somewhat fussy and hard to please, I was suitably impressed and would whole-heartedly recommend Inn on the Lake to anyone.

Room Tip: Ring/email to discuss your particular requirements/preferences - they couldn't be more helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastorie_9, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A perfect little boutique hotel on a tranquil lake just outside of Amsterdam. The hotel was a vicarage and is appropriately quirky, with the usual almost vertical winding Dutch stair to the first floor. Each room is individually designed. We stayed in the Red Room and our only quibble was that there wasn't enough hanging space. The bed was heavenly, the room had a large sitting area, the bathroom had a large double ended bath for two as well as a powerful shower compartment. We arrived after a long drive from the Polish border and were received with warm hospitality and were then served a beautifully cooked dinner with lovely wine. Breakfast was lovely and had fresh fruits and yogurt prepared lovingly. Coffee was outstanding (well the Dutch do understand coffee!) We were sorry to have to move on to catch a ferry home the next day, but fortunately could relax until noon enjoying Broek in Waterland itself and sitting comfortably in the beautifully designed gardens of the hotel. We will surely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The great thing about the Inn is that it is in a quaint, quiet little village but easily accessible from Amsterdam. It's a retreat from the touristy bustle of the city and gives you the flexibility of enjoying two sides of the Netherlands.

The property has been carefully and beautifully restored/renovated. As the owners explained and is apparent from the details, it was a tedious process. We stayed in the Red Room. It was tastefully furnished with a very pretty bathroom. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and served at your convenience. Eating on the sundeck off the kitchen was particularly nice. The owners were helpful in providing us bus/metro passes into the city and advising us on things to do.

We also enjoyed a meal at the pub-style restaurant near the main road. Places like this are what make visits to European countries so pleasant!

While I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn, I've hesitated from giving it a 5-star Tripadvisor endorsement. When compared to my favorite B&B experiences, for me it was missing certain qualities. I feel I've had a little better service in other establishments, for instance. This probably comes down to a "it's not you, it's me" situation; it's about my personal tastes rather than any fault of the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Inn on the Lake in Broek in Waterland - just a 20 minute bus ride from the Central Station in Amsterdam after 3 fun, hectic days in the city. Our room (Taupe, also called Hunter) was lovely and very comfortable and clean, our hosts (the daughter of the owners - who were on vacation themselves - and her boyfriend) were very hospitable, and served 2 fabulous dinners (at extra cost, but worth it) in addition to the breakfasts. The setting - on the lake, as the name suggests, was lovely - take a boat ride on the connecting waterways! The village is quaint, and very easy to rent bicycles and tour the surrounding coutryside, town and lakeshore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broek in Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.