We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and more Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Internet
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and more Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before I arrived at the hotel I spoke with Vicky who was courteous and helpful. She was welcoming and professional. I asked to speak to her manager and Barb was warm and welcoming. When we arrived we checked in by Andre who was professional and fun. When we went to the lobby for dinner Adam was wonderful. Service was quick and pleasant. In the morning we went down for breakfast and was served by Sharon who is wonderful. Amanda the lady who cleaned our room was pleasant and did a great job.

The hotel was clean, the decor modern and serene. The people excellent. Everyone we met was professional and friendly. I would recommend This hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and they will give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It was great to have you and your family here during the Spring Break Week. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the pool and our Bistro. It was a pleasure getting to know you and hearing such wonderful things about the staff. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
7
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you need to stay near St. Charles, this is the place. The staff is top notch and really tries to make your stay the best possible.

The hotel is close to local attractions and restaurants , grocery stores, etc.

Great Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is great and the staff is fabulous. They are very helpful and will assist guests with whatever they need. They are also always smiling. I have stayed here many times and have never been dissapointed. Will return again soon. The hotel is very clean and everything looks fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
A smile can go a long way! Thank you for the kind comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to St. Charles for New Year's eve. This is the first time I have ever stayed at a Courtyard and if they are all like this place, it won't be the last. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Our tv was not working but I was not aware of it until the next morning so I did not complain about it. I did let them know at check out and they were grateful that I let them know. We did go to the pool to use the hot tub. It was a good size but Way Too Hot! I know they are meant to be hot but this was so bad that you could only stay in for about 15 minutes. They need to turn it down a bit. But we did enjoy the pool area, sitting and talking. The lobby is also very nice. We were not there long enough to sit there but it has a nice sitting area with a fireplace. They also have a sitting area with a large flatscreen tv. The business center was also located in the lobby and looked very nice.
If we decide to stay the night again the next time we visit St. Charles, this will be the place for us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We would love to have you back! Our lobby is very inviting with the fireplace, especially this time of year. Glad to hear you were able to use the spa. Our engineers check the tempertures daily on the spa and pool, but will have him do a double check based on your comments. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the far western Chicago suburbs this week. Booked this hotel, expecting nice but nothing exciting.

It turned out to be a wonderful place!
Easy to find. Easy check-in by a nice staff. Really great rooms.

Best part? There is a cool café right off the lobby.
Nothing too fancy--just a nice bar/light restaurant, right there.
Cocktails and appetizers close at hand.
LOVED it!
With a charming and lovely bartender.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you like our Bistro/Bar and that are bartender served you well. Your comments about the staff are also very kind and will be shared with them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a spa room at this property and really enjoyed it. The room was clean and spacious and the spa was just big enough for two people (but not very spacious). The bed was comfortable. There was a in room refrigerator. The only complaint I had really was the lack of movie channels or pay per view movies. The selection was very limited, which I thought unusual for a hotel of this caliber. The location was good -- not far from the main drag in St. Charles. Everything was a 10 minute car ride away, so plenty of food and entertainment choices. The lobby and common areas are beautiful - lots of comfortable chairs and fireplaces to sit around and enjoy the complimentary newspapers and coffee. Some TVs scattered about in the lobby. I didn't see a proper restaurant, but they have a snack bar with breakfast, lunch, and dinner items. There is also a walk up convenience store for microwaveables and snacks, etc.

Room Tip: 102 has a whirlpool right in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. We do have the most beautiful lobby in St Charles. We get a lot of positive comments about the size and the comfort of the lobby. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our spa king rooms. They are quite popular. Thank you for your suggestion on the TV channels. This is something I can look into to see what options are avaiable to us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love the pictures you took of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I stay at this hotel once a month for business, usually for two weeks but sometimes more, the staff are always very helpful and treat me with respect. The rooms are very well kept, clean and modern. The food in the bistro bar is pretty good but could do with a little more variety, it's a shame the buffet had been replaced but hey that's progress I guess....Sharon who serves my breakfast is always ready to serve me with a smile, she sets my day up. Andre is always nice to chat too later in the evening, ready to share a retort or two during the football on the tv screen....everyone else calls me by my name and I feel very welcomed. If you have to stay in St Charles then this for me is a must, value vs amenities vs friendly atmosphere A1+

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We love our regular guests. Thank you for your kind words about Sharon and Andre. They are excellent staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Address: 700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Chicago St. Charles hotel is nestled on a quiet corner, just a mile from downtown and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our hotel near Chicago serves a charming historic town on the Fox River, less than an hour from downtown and within easy reach of area airports. Shop nearby Charlestowne Mall or attend events at DuPage Expo Center. You'll feel right at home in a comfortable St. Charles hotel room featuring a large work area, in-room coffee and complimentary weekday newspaper. We also offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Start your morning off with reasonably priced breakfast options or a Starbuck's coffee. After a day of meetings or shopping, rejuvenate in our indoor heated pool or whirlpool, or relax by the fire in our cozy lobby lounge featuring a full bar. And if you're hosting a rehearsal dinner or looking for accommodations for overnight guests, we can customize a wedding package just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Courtyard Saint Charles
Saint Charles Marriott
Saint Charles Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.