We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & Internet
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the far western Chicago suburbs this week. Booked this hotel, expecting nice but nothing exciting.

It turned out to be a wonderful place!
Easy to find. Easy check-in by a nice staff. Really great rooms.

Best part? There is a cool café right off the lobby.
Nothing too fancy--just a nice bar/light restaurant, right there.
Cocktails and appetizers close at hand.
LOVED it!
With a charming and lovely bartender.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you like our Bistro/Bar and that are bartender served you well. Your comments about the staff are also very kind and will be shared with them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
7
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a spa room at this property and really enjoyed it. The room was clean and spacious and the spa was just big enough for two people (but not very spacious). The bed was comfortable. There was a in room refrigerator. The only complaint I had really was the lack of movie channels or pay per view movies. The selection was very limited, which I thought unusual for a hotel of this caliber. The location was good -- not far from the main drag in St. Charles. Everything was a 10 minute car ride away, so plenty of food and entertainment choices. The lobby and common areas are beautiful - lots of comfortable chairs and fireplaces to sit around and enjoy the complimentary newspapers and coffee. Some TVs scattered about in the lobby. I didn't see a proper restaurant, but they have a snack bar with breakfast, lunch, and dinner items. There is also a walk up convenience store for microwaveables and snacks, etc.

Room Tip: 102 has a whirlpool right in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. We do have the most beautiful lobby in St Charles. We get a lot of positive comments about the size and the comfort of the lobby. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our spa king rooms. They are quite popular. Thank you for your suggestion on the TV channels. This is something I can look into to see what options are avaiable to us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and love the pictures you took of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I stay at this hotel once a month for business, usually for two weeks but sometimes more, the staff are always very helpful and treat me with respect. The rooms are very well kept, clean and modern. The food in the bistro bar is pretty good but could do with a little more variety, it's a shame the buffet had been replaced but hey that's progress I guess....Sharon who serves my breakfast is always ready to serve me with a smile, she sets my day up. Andre is always nice to chat too later in the evening, ready to share a retort or two during the football on the tv screen....everyone else calls me by my name and I feel very welcomed. If you have to stay in St Charles then this for me is a must, value vs amenities vs friendly atmosphere A1+

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We love our regular guests. Thank you for your kind words about Sharon and Andre. They are excellent staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

very friendly staff, clean rooms which were much bigger than even a typical marriott rooms

location is ok, easy to find when you know where it is, but no obvious for someone who doesnt know the area.

Pool was clean and well staffed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Friendly and clean is the key to keeping our guests happy. We are proud that you choose our hotel when you visit St Charles. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very courteous staff, very clean modern rooms with good availability to a variety local attractions. You get food, nightlife, and entertainment all with in 5 minutes of the hotel. What ever you can not walk too the shuttle is available to get you we're you need to go. I am a corporate pilot and have stayed at several other hotels in the area, the staff is by far the friendliest and always ensure a pleasant experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We do love our pilots! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your business and are very happy to provide a pleasant hotel experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Used the Courtyard by Marriott in St. Charles for all our wedding guests and we/they received excellent service. All welcome packets were handed out and everyone was happy with the hotel staff and bar/restaurant. Will use it again for our next daughter's wedding next October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
When it comes to someone's special wedding day, it is very important that the hotel delivers a flawless experience. We feell very lucky to be a part of this special day for our guests. To see family and friends get together for such a joyous experience is a rewarding part of our jobs. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at the wedding as we look forward to the next one in October. Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel really understood our needs as a group of families travelling for hockey in the area. They were accomodating, welcoming, and friendly with our 13 year old boys, who are generally well behaved. The desk staff allowed them to play xbox in the lobby, which drew a crowd and kept them entertained and out of everyone else's hair. They customized a breakfast for our group, and allowed us to use the space throughout our stay. They even assisted us with finding a local restaurant to deliver a team meal. The hotel was beautiful and conveniently located. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel. Our staff meets after we have groups in the hotel and we find ideas on how to make the stay better based on our customer. We have had many hockey groups come to the hotel. Having this experience has educated us on how to make future hockey groups have a perfect stay. We are so glad to hear that we accomodated all the needs of your group. Thank you for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Address: 700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Chicago St. Charles hotel is nestled on a quiet corner, just a mile from downtown and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our hotel near Chicago serves a charming historic town on the Fox River, less than an hour from downtown and within easy reach of area airports. Shop nearby Charlestowne Mall or attend events at DuPage Expo Center. You'll feel right at home in a comfortable St. Charles hotel room featuring a large work area, in-room coffee and complimentary weekday newspaper. We also offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Start your morning off with reasonably priced breakfast options or a Starbuck's coffee. After a day of meetings or shopping, rejuvenate in our indoor heated pool or whirlpool, or relax by the fire in our cozy lobby lounge featuring a full bar. And if you're hosting a rehearsal dinner or looking for accommodations for overnight guests, we can customize a wedding package just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Courtyard Saint Charles
Saint Charles Marriott
Saint Charles Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.