We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Best hotel for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have 4 young children and a high maintenance wife and have never been totally satisfied with a hotel until we stayed here for Spring Break Week. Everything was set up perfectly for an enjoyable vacation. The rooms were comfortable and always clean, and the hotel staff answered all our questions for a fun filled trip that didnt hurt my pocketbook. We actually felt like this was better than our own home. We hated to leave.
The food and the fun made this vacation the best one we had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
It is wonderful to hear how your family enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard during your visit to St Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
8
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I travel every month around the country and I stay at Marriotts whenever I can. I would have to say this was the best overall experience I have had in a long time. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning ladies seemed to go out of their way for me. Nothing beats smiling faces when you have been on the road for a while.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
We appreciate your kind comments. With our newly renovated refreshing lobby, helpful staff, and clean rooms, we are proud to offer the best guest experience possible. Hearing these comments from a frequent traveler makes it even more special. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I tend to stay at Marriott properties when I can and have seen a lot of Courtyards. This is one of the best I've stayed in, mainly because it is a newer property. Staff was very friendly and prompt in their service. Lobby was roomy with a small bar, coffee, and two computers with printers. Location is tucked away from major roads so it's nice and quiet. It's a short drive to dining with more choices if you drive to the heart of St. Charles. This will definitely be my first choice when staying in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very proud of our new lobby and are happy to hear how much you enjoyed it too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traer, Iowa USa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Hotel, Room, Pool and people that worked there were awesome. But (through my mistake) - they did not have the free breadfast buffet as other hotels in the area do. Country Inn and others have basically the same price, service - but have free breakfast. The breakfast that they do offer is $7-8 each. So with my wife and i and 2 kids - we should have booked the Country Inn. BUT - this is a NICE place to stay - just more expensive for a family when breakfast is free elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you for your great comments about our staff and hotel. We do offer a special weekend breakfast package at a minimal price that includs breakfast for up to two adults and two children under 12. All of our breakfasts are cooked fresh and served to you with many options to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Clean, affordable and a great location. We were in St. Charles for a sporting event. The location was great, the High school is right behind the hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was great. They allowed us a late check out at no extra cost. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay while attending an event at the high school. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed one night for June 07 Pride of River Fest in St. Charles. The location is nice, what I like most is the check in literally took 1 minute at 6 pm! We did request a crib for our 18 months old, and the crib was right there when we entered our room. Excellent adminstration.

We had 2 Queen guest room on 3rd floor with a small balcony looking out. Our kids love the setting of the room and couldn't wait to visit the balcony. Beds were comfortable and fluffy, not much complaint as our family slept like a baby throughout the night.

We definitely will choose this hotel again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
I am very happy to hear that your family had such a great time! We will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2004

I get my mother a room here when she comes to visit and she's always quite pleased with it. The place is very clean. It's located near a mall and other shopping, but off the main highways so there's no noise problem. The staff is helpful, could be friendlier. Most hotels in this area offer a complimentary breakfast, Marriott would do well to follow suit. They do have a breakfast buffet but it's way over-priced and there are several nice cafes and restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
That is wonderful that you mom loves our hotel. We appreciate her loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles

Address: 700 Courtyard Drive, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Chicago St. Charles hotel is nestled on a quiet corner, just a mile from downtown and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our hotel near Chicago serves a charming historic town on the Fox River, less than an hour from downtown and within easy reach of area airports. Shop nearby Charlestowne Mall or attend events at DuPage Expo Center. You'll feel right at home in a comfortable St. Charles hotel room featuring a large work area, in-room coffee and complimentary weekday newspaper. We also offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Start your morning off with reasonably priced breakfast options or a Starbuck's coffee. After a day of meetings or shopping, rejuvenate in our indoor heated pool or whirlpool, or relax by the fire in our cozy lobby lounge featuring a full bar. And if you're hosting a rehearsal dinner or looking for accommodations for overnight guests, we can customize a wedding package just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Courtyard Saint Charles
Saint Charles Courtyard
Saint Charles Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.