We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically CHARMING!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bookmark
You added Hotel Baker to your Saves list
Hotel Baker
100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historically CHARMING!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Hotel Baker was exactly what I thought it would be by the pictures and website. I have always enjoyed staying at different hotels especially ones of historic value. The hotel itself has so much charm and character. From the arched walkways and the old historic check in counter, the old mail box and the MOST enjoyable the Rainbow Room. How romantic the Rainbow Room is. I do understand that some people may write bad reviews but I feel most of the reasoning behind that is because they do not appreciate older buildings. Most people these days are used to staying at new, up to date, modern hotels like a Westin or W. Which are both lovely, but in their own way. Either way myself and partner loved our stay at Hotel Baker and we WILL return to Hotel Baker in the future for whatever the reason.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
39
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knightstown, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I'm glad I read some of the bad reviews of this place long after we'd booked our travel. I was afraid we'd find a real dump. That was not our experience. Our room (suite #212) was spacious and, to my tastes, luxurious. The jacuzzi-tub wasn't working, but the shower was great (all I wanted), there were plenty of large clean towels, two nice big white terry robes in the closet, a big working flat screen TV in the sitting room (plus a CRT in the bedroom, though we never turned it on), a working coffee pot, ice right across the hall, everything I'd expect or even hope for and more. Maid came by in the evening and gave us the best cookies I've ever eaten and offered more coffee, towels, or whatever we needed. Room was clean and nicely decorated. This is a very old building to be sure, and some of the refurbishing has been second rate (e.g., windows were updated cheaply, though adequately) and some of the finish work is less than top quality, though still much better than you typically find in a modestly priced chain motel.
Those accustomed to spending $200 + for a nights lodging might be disappointed, but we usually keep it closer to $60, wanting only a clean bed, a hot shower, and a working TV. We were looking to splurge on something a little classier this time and wanted to be downtown for an early event the next morning. All in all I think we got our moneys worth, especially this close to Chicago, and had a very pleasant stay in any case.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was the most unpleasant, distasteful lodging experience I have ever had. Shock & disbelief were my immediate reactions when I saw the suite that I was paying $219 a night for. I would be amazed if this place has been updated in any way in the past 50 years. The furnishings in the room were old, dated and dirty. The lobby, hallways and common areas were seedy and uncared for, and the entire building smelled like dirty river water. Our so-called river view was difficult to appreciate since the windows had not been cleaned in years, and definitely needed replacing. Needless to say, we found every excuse possible to be out of our room, and left immediately the next morning happily forfeiting the complimentary breakfast.

In addition to the appalling condition of the property, the hotel staff consisted of high school students who were untrained and unprepared to assist guests in any way. When asked for restaurant recommendations, the front desk clerk told me that she really knew nothing about any of the restaurants in town but her parents liked the Italian eatery across the street. The Catholic Church we were sent to the following Sunday morning turned out to be a Methodist Church.

I will never return to this horrible establishment, and will go out of my way to warn people about it. I am amazed that there are other reviewers who found anything good to wriite about.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010 via mobile

I could write a Novel but decided to keep it short and sweet. We had our wedding here and were completely disappointed by the hotel staff and owner! Everything was great until the week before our wedding. Food was good service was only o.k. Rooms could be cleaner. Cake vendor from hotel referral totally screwed up cake colors! At least the cake tasted good! We wanted to stay longer but we were so upset with the hotel we decided to leave. Also a big disappointment because we wanted to return for our wedding anniversaries and after the neglectful attitude of the owner we will never return!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The hotel is definitely historical. We attended a party in the banquet room. However the service was nothing to be desired. The room was beautiful with a view overlooking the river. All was fine until we went into the Restaurant and the owner of the Hotel was sitting at a table with a few others. He was there for a while, and just before we left we over heard him say, after he got his bill, he didn't need to leave the server a tip because he signs there check and they can't do a thing about it. Hotel might be amazing, but I refuse to recommend this hotel to anyone and I refuse to give them anymore of my money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Our room was disgusting, I don't even know where to begin. We purchased a suite and the first thing we noticed was that it smelled musty upon entering. We walked into our sitting room and there was a T.V. from probably 1992, with NO REMOTE. There was a couch and a chair, and the arm rests on both we dirty, like people wiped their hand on them and no one ever cleaned it off.

The next thing we did was walk into the bedroom to discover the MOST uncomfortable, and VERY OLD king sized mattress I've ever seen. The mattress squeaked and you sank WAY down into it because it was so old and saggy. When sitting on the old saggy bed I looked at the wall and saw HUGE scuff marks of black in three different places, I think it must've been ten years since they last painted and 20 since they've bought new curtains.

I walked into the "spa" bathroom and it was no better than the rest. The wall paper was peeling off all over the place and the "spa" tub was a one person tub with no back or feet jets, only jets on the sides of the tub.

It was so bad that we ended up leaving after just one night, we had no idea where we were going, but we knew we wouldn't spend 200.00 a night to stay in this dirty old place again. Some historical hotels are gorgeous and worth the money, but this one was not at all. In this hotel they lean on the word historical so that they don't have to renovate or make an effort.

I wouldn't reccomend this hotel to anyone. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I have stayed at the Hotel Baker perhaps 50 nights over the past year and found it to be the best value for the money in the area. I previously stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn which is your typical box motel without character. Then I tried the Herrington Inn in Geneva and found it to be nice but overpriced and of lower value. The Hotel Baker does lack parking on the property and in the winter or during rain that makes the walk from on street parking or the nearby municipal (free parking) more of a hassle. None the less, the staff are outstanding and they work very hard to ensure that guests are treated to a high level of service. The lounge is very comfortable for an after work drink of dinner.

For anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay, which is quiet and offers the services which are important to frequent travelers, the Hotel baker is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.