We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baker

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Baker
Save
You added Hotel Baker to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Byron, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

quaint hotel in 30,000 population Chicago Suburb. Reservation included Suite room with large bedroom and "smallish" connected sitting area. Staff generally nice not a ton of interaction needed. 2 night stay during town festival called "Riverfest". Plenty of activities around even if the town festival wasn't there. Biggest down side is no hotel parking. You are reliant on street parking or parking structures two blocks or so away. Continental breakfast included that had a nice spread of fruit, breads, sweets, cereal and scrambled eggs. Appears to be popular place for wedding receptions and private parties. Nice set up and facilities for that activity. Hotel is right on the Fox River. Beautiful to look at but had a unique scent that is not appealing. Other challenge of the River is the river bugs. Nice garden for walk and view with photo opportunities. Neat touch was the housekeeping fresh cookie delivery post check in. Overall nice stay but a touch on the expensive side for the facility and it's age. WiFi available but did not use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
11
42
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here with my fiancé for my sister's wedding. The wedding was in the Rainbow Room and it was gorgeous! I really enjoyed how the hotel utilizes all of the entertainment rooms for events and weddings. The hotel has a vintage, romantic feel to it. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Overall we really enjoyed staying here. Unfortunately I do have one complaint. We were on the third floor above the bar and the music was very loud all night long, until 3am, so I did not get a lot of sleep the night before my sister's wedding. We did call down to the lobby, there was nothing they could do for us, I suppose the hotel was booked and we couldn't change rooms. Keep this in mind when booking your room if you like to go to bed early or before 3am. Other than the noise complaint, it was a great experience and like I said a beautiful place for a wedding!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not near the bar or even above the bar...music sometimes plays until 3am. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everything about the room was exactly as we had hoped it would be.
The character alone in this hotel is AMAZING...
We stayed in the JUNIOR SUITE - there were four ladies. and it was perfect for us !
Thank you BAKER

Room Tip: corner suite was end of the hall and worked out great because of location of ice machine -nice and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We'd stayed at this hotel before but it had been a few years. The lobby, elevators and guest room hallways all look as if time had stopped in 1928. The guest rooms were quite historic (or dated, depending on your point of view), too. The bed was comfy, but the sofa bed (like nearly all of them) was not great (and the mattress pad was dirty). Rooms are quite quiet though which we really appreciated.

Rooms need nightlights, more garbage cans and the maids need to put more than one bar of soap in the bathrooms. Continental breakfast was tasty.

Parking is ridiculous - two blocks away in a municipal garage. I know you're constrained by the river but come on.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our room was fairly ordinary but we had a great view of the Fox River, wonderful drapes that blocked the light perfectly, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. We expected the included breakfast, billed as "continental," to be just coffee and sweet rolls, but it was actually a wonderful spread that included fluffy scrambled eggs, delicious fresh fruit, toast, juices, and of course coffee and sweet rolls, complete with cloth napkins, offered in the elegant restaurant at the front of the hotel. We were in St. Charles for a concert at the Arcada just a block or so away, and this was the perfect location. While the hotel does not have its own parking lot, there is a free structure just across the street and it worked just fine for us. People should not be put off by this. We would definitely return to this elegant and unique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed several times at Hotel Baker and my wife and I look reward to it each and every time. Restaurant staff is attentive and breakfast is always fresh. Rooms are unique and inviting. At. Charles is a wonderful town to visit and Hotel Baker is a wonderful place to spend the night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family stayed at the spacious 2-bedroom suite, which had a whirlpool tub, and a lovely view of the river (especially at night when the reflected lights gave the waters a yellow orange glow). My kids were fascinated with staying in a historic building, and we had a fun time imagining the hotel, its surrounding and occupants in the 1930s.

Good service. When we got back to the hotel after dinner, we found the staff had left cookies - don't know if it was meant for the kids. We had an early flight to catch, and the staff arranged car service to the airport.

Quiet, unhurried atmosphere. All in all, a great experience, and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baker 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.