We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Baker to your Saves list
Hotel Baker
100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were visiting for a friends wedding the weekend of 9/27/13. The location is fantastic, the rooms are old school European but modern and updated. It's great to have the Rox City Grill attached.

The staff, the staff is amazing! Everyone went above and beyond for us. The cookies at night delivered to our room were so yummy.

We would definitely recommend this property!

Room Tip: The parlor suites are great, ours had a view of the Fox river and we liked having the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
39
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We attended a wedding there and it is a great spot in St. Charles right on the river with great river views, rooms are done in the "old style" hotel with modern features such as flat screen TV's, modern bathrooms, etc. All the comforts of home, great bar, good food, etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in the St. Charles area close to everything, shopping, walking, river walks, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Hotel Baker is the only place to stay in downtown St Charles. It is right on the river in the middle of downtown. Easy walking distance to night life and restaurants. Check in was easy. Our room was on the second floor on the street side. We did not notice any street noise! Our room was clean, spacious and was exactly what we expected. Did not stay for the complimentary breakfast on Saturday morning, but we have have had a good experience at Rox City to believe that breakfast would have been good. We will stay again at the Baker when we stay overnight in St Charles again.

Parking is not available on site but valet and free self park is available nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Monroe, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are planning a trip to St. Charles, IL, this is the place to stay. The location on the Fox River right in the middle of it all, is perfect! The Hotel is very cool with a lot of character and charm. We had fun just walking around and looking at all the architecture and antiques in the place. The outside courtyard was beautiful as well. Our room was lovely with a nice view of the river and gardens. Breakfast was yummy and very atmospheric with the large windows to Main Street. Great place to stay and walk to all the restaurants and shops in the area!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have had our company Christmas party here a few times. The first two times it was very nice. The last time, the food was cold. The next year we went somewhere else. We decided to give it another shot this year. BIG MISTAKE! I booked the party in January and the sales & catering manager was going to hold rooms for our out of town guests. I signed the contract (for the party) and paid the deposit. I assumed she reserved our rooms for our out of town guests (10) and I was never told I needed a contract for that. Now I discover she's gone and there are no rooms available...and on top of that, they wanted me to change the time of our party because there are 2 other events going on that night! This place is not worth what we are paying!

Room Tip: Very, very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
A follow up after Miss O O posted this review: After the company event in December 2013, the company she works for rebooked for a holiday party to be held in December 2014. The CEO/President/Chairman of the Board were quite satisfied with the event that was held at Hotel Baker. They instructed Miss O O to rebook the event for December 2014. We are delighted to hear they were satisfied with the entire event - food, staff, location and other. We look forward to seeing them again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this hotel! It is old, but so nicely maintained. The staff was very attentive. We had a plumbing problem with our first room, and maintenance was there in just a few minutes. We were moved to a room with an screened balcony with a hot tub, overlooking the river. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub, the bed was so comfortable, and everything was so clean and well maintained.
There was a buftet breakfast with again, very attentive staff.
It was a very beautiful venue for a wedding.
When we checked out, we were surprized that our room was discounted because of the inconvenience..The room upgrade would have been more than enough.
We never saw where the parking was for the hotel. We parked on the bridge, after circling the block a few times. We heard there is a city lot across the street. Maybe a sign outside directing the guests to the parking area would be helpful..

Room Tip: The room with the balcony and hot tub was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

family and I stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a visit from England for my brothers wedding. Upon our arrival with our 19 month old twins we were told that they did not have our reservation for that day and that the hotel was fully booked and had been for two months insinuating that it was my mistake. Since I had made the reservation by phone and had adjusted the original booking I had no evidence to prove that I had made the booking. We were offered a cursory sorry in a very unapologetic manner by a rather rude manager and were told we would need alternative accommodations (it was after 4pm at this point) anyone with young children knows how difficult it is moving around with travel cots and everything else that goes with it. I was very upset by the way we were treated. I had wondered why the rating on here had not been higher considering the reputation of the hotel and its step room rate, I now see at least part of the reason and wish I had read the reviews more carefully. Once in the room it was reasonable but the decor was very dated and the whole place seemed like it needed a good clean. The breakfast was a buffet offering only one hot item, very poor for a hotel charging such a premium rate. Watch out for the water in the rooms, it comes with a $5 price tag! The hotel has the potential to be amazing and the wedding reception we attended there was fantastic but we got the impression that it was simply trading off it's historic reputation and very little care seemed to be directed towards ensuring a high standard of service or accommodation for hotel guests. Many of the reception staff were very young and whilst pleasant had not been adequately trained and were unable to assist us with most of our queries, this may have led to the mix up with our booking as the young man who made my booking said there was so problem with adding the a night which the manager told us had been booked for months. I do not recommend a stay here, even the penthouse suite had dead flies trapped in cobwebs on the stairs. I have stayed in many historic hotels and modern hotels both in the USA and Europe and this has without doubt been the poorest service I have ever received with the most disappointing accommodations for the price tag.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road - they are VERY noisy! One of our family's rooms was so warm due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are sorry about your extreme disappointment. We are a historic, boutique hotel and privately owned. We have updated our guest rooms and suites in the recent year or two. Our goods are fabricated by a professional fabricator who deals with hospitality. They are reputable with high end hotel chains. The breakfast served is a continental breakfast which typically do not include any hot items - ours does include one hot item. Should you wish to place an order of any other item - the kitchen will certain try to accommodate should it be available. All one needs to do is make a request. We have had great reviews about our fresh pastries, fresh fruit display, our superb coffee and other items that are served during breakfast. We are also located next to the Fox River. The challenge of "river life" is the bugs. There are many bugs by the river and we do our very best to maintain and contain them. There is a time during the year that the concerns are much greater, but our pest control experts have been able to assist us, especially with spiders that regenerate their web in a moment's notice. The spiders are quite industrious. Our wedding guests do receive a lower rate due to the wedding block that the bride and groom reserve for their guests. The pricing is competitive and reasonable at best. Come and visit us at Hotel Baker where midwest hospitality is at its best. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.