We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Outdated Rooms for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Baker to your Saves list
Hotel Baker
100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Location, Outdated Rooms for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel does have charm. There is a nice bar and the river view rooms have a nice view. However, the rooms are not really updated. There is a flat screen tv and tile in the bathroom but old carpet and furnishings. Rooms are also quite small. The price tag on the rooms are pretty high too. However, it is a perfect location to walk the downtown of St. Charles and I always wanted to stay here so we tried it!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are sorry you were disapponted and thought our rooms were outdated. We have been undergoing a renovation of guest rooms and suites for the past year or two - done in phases as the property is privately owned. We hope you are able to return and enjoy the guest rooms and suites with updated beddings, drapery, flooring and flat screen televisions. Thank you for your feedback - we look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    14
    10
    14
See reviews for
9
39
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Loved the historic Baker Hotel. It was very cozy and the staff all very friendly and helpful especially Georgeanne. The only issue was the very soft bed that needs a new mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Baker on the 4th of July. They really have a great package that includes viewing the fireworks from their riverfront patio. It was our first stay and we were very pleased. The room was clean, spacious, and had so much character. The only real complaint was that they did not have a server or bar on the patio so we had to go into the restaurant bar to get our own drinks. Also, they did not have valet parking that day. The parking structure is only 1 block or so away, but it was brutally hot and we would have preferred valet parking.

Room Tip: Riverfront views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had a business trip and when I asked a friend about place to go and not to go she insisted I stay at the Hotel Baker even if it made my commute a bit longer. She was right on the money! This historic hotel was a fantastic place to stay.

The town area around the hotel was very nice as well. I ate in a different pub or establishement every night I was there and I don't recall a single bad meal at any of the locations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Baker for 7 days while in St. Charles regarding my profession.

A great surprise is in store for anyone who selects Hotel Baker. Its like stepping back in time of the Grand Hotels - but a smaller version but warm and elegant. First class front desk folks, friendly and efficient bellmen, housekeepers are perfect. The bartenders are two of the best I've ever found. A "perfect" martini is hard to beat. And, the restaurant is 5 stars in my opinion -- huge bone-in rib eye or rack of lamb all served in updated surroundings with an antique feel. Very unique.

You will not be disappointed at the Hotel Baker.

The small hotel opened in 1928

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I recently was a bridesmaid in a wedding that took place at Hotel Baker. The best parts were the beautiful location along the river in the rose garden for the ceremony and cocktail hour. The hotel itself is very old and historic and that is neat. However the staff is dumb and uncooperative. Check in is at 4 and our wedding ceremony was also at 4. We had called several different times in the weeks and months leading up to our event to request early check in for the rooms of those of us in the wedding and were told each time that our names could not be put on a list and we would just need to call in early the Saturday of the wedding and to request early check in and that then our request would be honored. When we called at 8 am the day of the wedding the person on the phone was totally confused and thought we were asking to check in then and told us other guests from Friday night were still occupying our rooms. Duh! We explained that we were following the procedure that was told to us multiple times in the previous weeks and months and then the person on the phone told us to check in at 1. When we arrived at 1:30 and the bride asked to check us in we were told our rooms would not be ready for 1-2 hrs! I then received a call from my friend who was only attending the wedding and she had already checked into her room and the hotel had called her earlier in the day to let her know she would be able to check in early! So then I stormed down to the desk and all of thf sudden everyone could check in. But this whole fiasco caused us to lose precious time for pictures before the wedding in the rose garden so the bride was not happy. My other complaint is that this place is not very clean. I know it's old but there were cobwebs everywhere and spiders. I was really glad my 18 mth old was staying at home with the grandparents as he would have been filthy! All in all everything worked out, but weddings are stressful enough without a room fiasco. It just seemed like the staff was ignorant and not trying to work with us to make the wedding successful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Enjoyable stay with down home midwest friendly staff. Definitely a must! St. Charles is a great community, voted #1 by FCM as the best town for families! Hotel Baker is right in the heart of downtown St. Charles, walking distance to pubs, shops and other restaurants. Noted weddings on premise - staff very attentive to guests' needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.