We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Baker to your Saves list
Hotel Baker
100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Super Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a great hotel. My wife and I stayed here on my birthday. The rooms are excellent and the beds are wonderful. It has a great restaurant and a nice bar. Friendly and helpful staff. The location of this hotel is excellent and you have many bars, shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    14
    9
    14
See reviews for
8
39
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochelle, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

On my wife and I spent the night at the Hotel Baker. Our room was beautifully decorated, plenty large enough for a king bed, all very comfortable and homey. We actually saw two rooms...the first did not have a Fox River view, and the very gracious and friendly desk clerk was happy to change it for us. Regarding parking (I see from a few previous reviews that there were some complaints), I too was a bit surprised that parking was in a parking deck off site. But, turned out, it was only a half block away, easy to get to.....and, believe it or not....FREE...a rarity it seems to me for right downtown city/suburb hotels. Had an excellent, reasonably priced meal in the hotel restaurant, ROX City Grill. And it was fun to dine with live music, a gentleman doing vocals as he played the piano....I believe a 3 nights a week feature. The entire history of the building of the Hotel was fun to learn about. Also fun to roam the 2 banquet rooms, one featuring a unique "lights in the floor" dance floor. Breakfast was complimentary with lots of fresh fruit and a hot entree besides. We recommend the Baker.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at the Baker on a Thursday night and found it lovely. It was surprisingly quiet, given its location on a busy street. The rose garden was very pretty with spring flowers and tidy hedges and the proximity to the Fox River and a variety of restaurants was very convenient. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. This is a small historic hotel - very nice if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed on business trip and was leery about an old hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a lot of character but the room I stayed in with river view was very up to date and quiet. The service was fantastic with fresh baked cookies delivered to the room and the price included a large fresh cooked breakfast also delivered to my room, which I could not finish. There were robes in the room and the towels where plush and fluffy. The bed was comfortable and the room temp was easy to maintain to my liking, Very fast free wireless. I will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Recommend the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Baker for the first time. The room was clean but nothing special... probably will not return. The location is good with restaurants and bars within close walking distance. I will say the bed was very comfortable and really nothing to complain about for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Baker on New Year's Eve.

Prior to our stay we called three times to get more information. Twice we spoke with individuals who couldn't answer questions like "do you have any rooms available" and "what is included in the package that you are promoting on line." Once they had to call us back, and another time he simply said he didn't know. Then, asked if I needed anything else. Odd.The third time we called, we spoke with Jacqueline who seemed far more knowledgeable. But, to be fair, the bar was pretty low.

When we arrived, (there were two couples) our husbands went to grab a six-pack of micro brews so that they could relax while we got ready. The two of us opened a bottle of champagne to enjoy while we prepped. When the two men returned, they told us that they had been greeted by a doorman (we could have used him on our way in with all of our luggage) and some other staff. Everyone was pleasant to them as they walked through the lobby with the six-pack (no bag).

But then we got a knock on our room door. The manager came to confiscate the beer they had brought up. We found this extremely odd. The staff throughout the lobby could have easily informed them that they couldn't take any beer into the room, but they didn't. Instead, they reported what they saw to the manager--making an issue. To add insult to injury, the manager brought up the paperwork that we'd signed when we checked in. To illustrate to our husbands that they were breaking the rules. I was the person that signed it, and frankly I did not read every line - I should probably be put in jail.

It was really, really uncomfortable and the experience took us back at least 15 years. We are not typically rule-breakers. We weren't at all disruptive. We simply were unaware of the rule. There was no need to make such a big deal.

About the hotel: The location does not have ideal parking, I saw that in another post - it's accurate. The service is hit or miss. We had a doorman every 3rd time we went outside and I mentioned the wealth of knowledge you run into at the front desk. The rooms are quaint, but there are far too many great hotels out there to go to one that has such poor management and service.

Seriously, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Nice place and close to downtown and the fox river. The hotel is old but nice and very comfortable. I would stay again. Price is good and looked like the food and bar areas are nice. This area would be a romantic area for a couples get away. Arcada Theatre right across the river and is a good place for entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 West Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.