We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center to your Saves list
Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old and outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean but small and showed wear. The hallways are cold dirty and very dated. The best feature of this resort is the outdoor/indoor pool. It was amazing. You could swim outside where it was snowy and freezing then you swim under the wall and are inside and can stand in the hot water that comes down the rock waterfall. But after swimming you had the very cold walk back to your room in the cold hallways.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay had some challenges. We take feedback (good and bad) very serious. It is truly what helps us to improve our product and services at the resort.

Thank you again,

Jeanne P. Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    109
    97
    75
    69
See reviews for
120
153
18
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed this past weekend and it was lovely. We received a complementary upgrade to the Tower as our room was not available when we arrived for check in just before 5 pm. Our Tower room was on the 15th floor and the view was spectacular! The room was very neat and clean.

Indoor/outdoor pool was warm and we enjoyed swimming in the evening with the snowflakes swirling about. The pools are open until midnight which is wonderful!

Jambalaya Restaurant was really good. The decor is fantastic, the food was delicious and reasonable priced. We did not use the Spa and we did not have breakfast at the resort.

We were disappointed with the game room. It was messy and the pool table is missing in action. The resort will not attract families with kids unless the game room is updated and cleaned more regularly.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the review. We always appreciate feedback and certaily hope we can welcome you back soon!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I took my husband to Pheasant Run for his 62nd birthday. We had a large whirlpool suite. The room was spacious and very nice. The resort and rooms are a bit dated, but well maintained and clean. The staff couldn't have been nicer! We didn't use the pool area, but it certainly looked inviting! My husband had a massage at the spa which he said was top notch.
I would book a room again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpj97, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience. We value your comments and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to beautiful St. Charles!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent a night at this resort for my daughter's bachelorette party. Although the rooms that we had (Courtyard Rooms) are a little dated, we all felt that the value of the room was good. Is this a 5 star resort? No. But the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Every single employee at this establishment was courteous, friendly, and very helpful. In fact I think we all made comments on how everyone was so nice. Food at the restaurants was good and Zanies comedy club was a hoot. Also had a great time swimming in the outdoor pool in the middle of winter. Where else can you do that. Ha.
Actually planning on going back again with our husbands.

The only problem we had was the TV. Every time we turned it off, it turned back on again. This would go on quite a few times before it actually stayed off.

Room Tip: Courtyard room are a little more dated than the tower rooms but in the summer I think the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PheasantResort, Director of Sales at Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the review. We always appreciate feedback and certaily hope we can welcome you back soon!

Jeanne Hahn
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

When we first arrived we were not impressed at all. The valet told us we could park our own car since he was too busy eating his dinner. The room was in the tower and was dirty. Hair all over the bathroom, empty cigarette carton tossed up in the closet and sheets that seemed to have been left in the dryer over night (extremely wrinkled) but at least that means they have decent chance of being clean. What a nightmare. They call this a resort...well they don't have to worry about me coming back for a personal stay.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here. Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are expecting a plush room because it is in St. Charles and is a conference center, don't rent a room here. We stayed in the tower. The rooms were old, worn, and things such as the shower and toilet showered their age. Toilet would not flush properly. The tile in the bathroom was old and not attractive. Check in was a nightmare since they did not have my husband registered. Don't go here for any type of luxury.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you are picky about accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for a dance competition. I was pleased when I saw that there were several pools on the property because it helps the kids blow off steam after they finish competing. Unfortunately, the only times the girls could swim the property chose to hold a prime rib dinner with maybe 30 diners in the main pool area which forced all the kids and parents into the indoor/outdoor pool area which was mobbed and completely ridiculous. I got in the water to keep my kids safe. The next day I made arrangements to go swimming after we checked out but the pool that was supposed to open at 2:00 didn't open until 2:40 after I asked what was going on. Everyone I spoke with just shrugged their shoulders. I was confused about the priorities the property chose when hosting a large dance competition for hundreds of girls and their families. Everything else was satisfactory.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center

Address: 4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.