We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is not the quality it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Resort is not the quality it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Recently stayed here again. I've stayed here many times, but this time I really noticed that changes are needed. Probably the biggest issue was the smelly water. I stayed across the street at the Hilton Garden Inn for one night and at Pheasant Run for a couple nights. The Hilton did not have smelly water. The water at Pheasant Run stunk big time. Really didn't like the idea of showering in it or brushing my teeth with it. Another problem was the tub did not drain. I took a shower my first night and even though the drain was open, the water was over ankle deep and once I got out of the shower, it took an hour for the water to drain out. Those were the issues in the room, but another issue were the elevators. Talk about jumpy, scary elevators...they would stop between floors and really shake. I think some major upgrades are needed to Pheasant Run Resort. I would definitely stay at the Hilton Garden Inn next time instead because it's cheaper, in better shape, with non smelling water, and is a better property. For having issues at Pheasant Run, it is definitely not a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a tower room, higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    94
    81
    57
    57
See reviews for
107
133
15
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the resort for a wool spinners conference. Our room overlooked the outside plaza, and was fine. The food at the little cafe was good, but a little pricey for breakfast. It's a better idea to go to the breakfast buffet, which was fine though not exceptional. However, our shower had no ironing board, and a broken shower head. The maintenance man fixed that very promptly. Despite asking housekeeping twice for the ironing board, it never got done. Also, the room was not serviced by them one day. When we got back from town that night, we had to ask separately for service. Overall, the resort was undistinguished.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I flew in for 4 days from California. We were there to see family and the clerk at the front desk recommended the Scarecrow Festival. Parking was at the Charleston Mall (very close by) and there was a free shuttle. Not only was Pheasant Run one of the visible venders, they also entered a really cool tin man scarecrow. You have to be impressed by a hotel that is also an active member of the community.

The rooms were wonderful and there were 5 or six pillows on the bed. Our room was very clean and the wifi worked well. The inside/outside pool is awesome and the Sunday brunch was fantastic. We were treated to wonderful food and live entertainment! The singer sounds a lot like Harry Connick Jr. The golf course is beautifully kept and it was nice to smell the freshly cut grass. Next time we come back, we will check out the comedy club and the theater. This resort has it all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just got back from a great stay at Pheasant Run Resort. As soon as we walked in, we knew it was the perfect place for a fall getaway. It has a lodge feel and was decorated with pumpkins and scarecrows...perfect for the kids. We stayed in one of the penthouse rooms with a great view of the golf course. The room was much larger than we expected. We also did the smores and more package which came with a $25 dining credit, craft projects for the kids, smores kits and tickets to a magic show. We spent the next day walking around "bourbon street"...playing in the arcade and eating ben & jerry's! The indoor/outdoor pool looked great, but we didn't have time to use it. The jazz brunch also looked great, but we were not hungry enough for a buffet. We are planning on taking the family for the holidays!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Better than expected. We had tower rooms. The were newer and clean. Bourbon street was really nice. There were plenty of pools. I did not use the pool but the did look well kept. There is a walmart and a mall really close to the hotel. Not sure why some reviews say there isnt anything close. There are lots of activities to do in the hotel. The arcade for kids, a magician and as mentioned the pools. For adults there was the club which was nice. I only had breakfast food at the terrace grill but is was very good. There is a mcdonalds and IHOP down the street if you prefer. Overall a nice say. Would recommend

Room Tip: Try for a tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Only spent one night there but the children had a blast. They saw a magician, swam in the pool, made smores by the bonfire and played in the arcade. It was cold out when we were there but there was plenty to do inside. They even painted their own pumpkins. We at the best dinner since we couldn't remember at the Harvest Restaurant. Had great pumpkin spice lattes in their little deli type store. The only negative was the pool area. The water wasn't kept that clean and it was very dark in there and quite cold for not having the water heated that much. But the other indoor pool looked clear but that was in the atrium area which was absolutely freezing, so no one went into that pool. Overall a good price for a nice stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower rooms which are centrally located to all the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I checked in for an anniversary getaway. Upon checking in I found my room to be less than clean.. Dirt in the corners and dust everywhere. The shower curtain on the first floor of my room had stains that appeared to be fecal matter on it. There was room service trays outside my door when I checked in and they remained there for hours afterwards even after we called the front desk to have them removed. When room service finally came to pick them up they left two bottles and a coffee cup . These items were still in the hallway when we checked out the next day. This resort used to be one of our favorite places to visit for a quick weekend because we live in Chicago and it is just a short ride to get to. Until they do some kind of renovation to update and deal with their lack of housekeeping we will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center

Address: 4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheasant Run Resort and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.