We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1600 E. Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Saint Charles
Saint Charles, Illinois, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had to vacate our home in St. Charles to have our floors refinished. The problem is "we" included our (2) dogs. There are very few pet friendly hotels in the area so the proximity to the house was great. The room was nice but best of all the rooms in the pet section backed up to a large grassy area to walk the boys. There are many other very nice hotels in the area but Holiday Inn provided the necessary amenities needed for the situation. Additionally they had a very nice breakfast bar and the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Steve B,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while our guest at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I am very glad that we were able to care so nicely for you and the extended family of "boys" and that you found Holiday Inn Express to have the best choice of amenities for your family. We believe, as you determined for yourself, that our staff is second to none for courtesy, helpfulness, and friendliness, and our great complimentary breakfast bar is just an added bonus for our wonderful guests.
Once again, thank you for allowing us to serve you while your floors were being refinished, and we welcome you the next time any additional work is being completed on your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
10
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently had to go to the St. Charles/Geneva/Batavia, Illinois area for a funeral. I don't know the area and I got this hotel through Hotwire®. I had no problems. In reference to other reviews I had no problems with fleas, bedbugs, or other insects. Okay, so the furniture may not have been the most modern in style BUT it was not beaten up, broken, or dirty; it was clean, dust free and did what it needed to do. The TV and alarm clock worked properly (something not every place can claim in my experience!) and there were enough outlets to charge my electronics.

There was no closet, BUT--and this is key--it was a handicapped accessible room with the necessary huge bathroom. That arrangement most likely took away from a dedicated closet space, but there WAS a shelf with a closet rod to hang my clothes on so there was no problem. The bathroom was clean, and while some people may grouse about every little water stain on the shower (and there were a few, but small, and around only a couple of screws holding the many grab rails and such in place) I had NO problems with cleanliness.

In short, it was clean, bug free, near chain restaurants that are nice for a passer-through. It was just fine. The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

I have no complaints and would stay there again if in the area for a short trip like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear phoeg,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

6 of us stayed here in a few diff rooms and within 5 mins of being in our room I had flea bites! By the time I left over 2 nights I had 54 and brought fleas home with us and are now dealing with getting rid of them, total pain!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sandiegodom,

Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your experience. We take each guest's comments seriously, be they good or bad, as this only helps us to provide a more excellent guest experience while staying at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL.

Since this matter was brought to our attention by you 2 days ago, along your recommendation to forget it if we provided you some money back or complimentary room nights for future stays, we thought it in the better interests of our guests, yourself, and the property to take immediate investigative action. To that end we contacted a pest control specialist who, the day after our conversation, conducted a thorough examination of all 3 guestrooms in which you and your associates stayed. After that examination I am happy to say that they found no evidence of any fleas or infestation of any type. We also learned from guests who occupied those same rooms after you and your associates checked out that they had no issues of the nature you allege. However, to be safe we did take those rooms out of service and did another complete deep clean of each.

We have a rigorous schedule of deep cleaning all guestrooms, and each room is also inspected at least 4 times per year by our own monthly pest control vendor. If any issue is found we take immediate corrective action. To do otherwise would be, in my opinion, not in the best interests of our wonderful guests who deserve and expect nothing less.

I do apologize for the inconvenience that you may have encountered, and again thank you for bringing this to our attention. As I stated earlier, we take these allegations very seriously and then do whatever it takes to correct any issues found immediately.

If you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stay in holiday inn express accommodations quite often. This property is very overdue for a renovation. The furniture is dated, carpet is aged and cleanliness is questionable! I had a small hair and nail clipping in/on my bed. I would not stay at this Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Apples7IEH,

Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your experience with us. I apologize for any issues that you encountered with your guestroom.

While we are not the so-called "new kid on the block" our housekeeping and maintenance staff works diligently each day to provide a safe and clean environment for our guests and team members. Our guest service and cleanliness scores rank very high in the brand, but I am sorry that you had a less than excellent experience. I have provided your review to our executive housekeeper so that she could share it with her team. In this way they understand our expectations and this helps to ensure that issues of the nature you allege do not happen again.

Again thank you for letting us know of your experience as it only serves to help us as a property. Please accept my apology for our lapse and we would ask that the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles area that you try us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here while in area for a 2 day meeting. Quick check-in! Room very nice. No fridge in room. I feel every room these days should have one. Best thing about this was the bed and the great night of sleep I had. I would have to say it was one of the best nights of sleep I've had in years. I have to give credit to the bed and pillows. It had to be. Thought I'd share. Breakfast in the morning was average. Plenty of options so choose from. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was impressed with the overall cleaniness of the hotel and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The outdoor swimming pool was very nice as well. My girls loved it. I think they need to consider changing out their older mattresses because they were not as comfortable as other IHI properties I have stayed at but overall I would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Tina,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning the excellent stay that you had with us at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I agree that our hotel is clean, neat, and that our team members are all friendly and helpful. I am glad that this is exactly what you experienced.

We are in the process of reviewing all of our bedding and looking to change out those items that are due for replacement. While this may take a bit of time, I would encourage you to visit us again the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles, IL area so that you may see the changes that we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed at this H.I.E. several times over the past few years.

Very efficient staff including Carlos at the front desk and Angel who fixes almost anything. A friendly crew!

Breakfast selections are abundant and tasty for "institutional" food.

The facility is showing some age, but still offers value.

Great location for those visiting the Far Western suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Keen,


Thank you for taking the time to write us concerning the excellent stay that you had at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I certainly agree that the staff is friendly and outstanding, and I also thank you for your kind words about Carlos and Angel. They do an excellent job helping to ensure that our guests have a great time while with us.

We thank you for being a loyal guest and look forward to your next stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, St. Charles, IL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1600 E. Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a lobby and breakfast room remodel. Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites St. Charles! The moment you enter our newly renovated lobby, you are welcomed into a unique hotel with a mix of contemporary design and charming traditional ambiance complimented by personalized service and contemporary amenities.The Quality Inn & Suites St. Charles is located in the scenic Fox River Valley near many attractions such as the Kane County Fair Grounds, Fox Valley Ice Arena, Nobel Fool Theater and the Kane County Cougar s Baseball Stadium to name a few. In addition, we are approximately 2 miles west from the quaint shops, & numerous restaurants that downtown St. Charles has to offer. Business near by include, ConAgra Foods, Power Packaging, Siemens, Fermi Lab National Headquarters and Ball Horticultural. Our newly renovated St. Charles hotel features 122 guest rooms, two meeting rooms with 1,500 square feet of total meeting space, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and a seasonal outdoor pool. In addition, guest laundry & same day valet laundry services, a 24-hour business center, 24 hour fitness center and our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar served every morning 6 AM to 10 AM featuring Holiday Inn Express signature cinnamon rolls, rotating hot items & much more! Visit St. Charles, IL and Stay Smart at the Quality Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Holiday Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.