We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated holiday inn express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1600 E. Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dated holiday inn express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stay in holiday inn express accommodations quite often. This property is very overdue for a renovation. The furniture is dated, carpet is aged and cleanliness is questionable! I had a small hair and nail clipping in/on my bed. I would not stay at this Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Apples7IEH,

Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your experience with us. I apologize for any issues that you encountered with your guestroom.

While we are not the so-called "new kid on the block" our housekeeping and maintenance staff works diligently each day to provide a safe and clean environment for our guests and team members. Our guest service and cleanliness scores rank very high in the brand, but I am sorry that you had a less than excellent experience. I have provided your review to our executive housekeeper so that she could share it with her team. In this way they understand our expectations and this helps to ensure that issues of the nature you allege do not happen again.

Again thank you for letting us know of your experience as it only serves to help us as a property. Please accept my apology for our lapse and we would ask that the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles area that you try us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
11
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here while in area for a 2 day meeting. Quick check-in! Room very nice. No fridge in room. I feel every room these days should have one. Best thing about this was the bed and the great night of sleep I had. I would have to say it was one of the best nights of sleep I've had in years. I have to give credit to the bed and pillows. It had to be. Thought I'd share. Breakfast in the morning was average. Plenty of options so choose from. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was impressed with the overall cleaniness of the hotel and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The outdoor swimming pool was very nice as well. My girls loved it. I think they need to consider changing out their older mattresses because they were not as comfortable as other IHI properties I have stayed at but overall I would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Tina,
Thank you for taking the time to write concerning the excellent stay that you had with us at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I agree that our hotel is clean, neat, and that our team members are all friendly and helpful. I am glad that this is exactly what you experienced.

We are in the process of reviewing all of our bedding and looking to change out those items that are due for replacement. While this may take a bit of time, I would encourage you to visit us again the next time your travels bring you to the St. Charles, IL area so that you may see the changes that we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed at this H.I.E. several times over the past few years.

Very efficient staff including Carlos at the front desk and Angel who fixes almost anything. A friendly crew!

Breakfast selections are abundant and tasty for "institutional" food.

The facility is showing some age, but still offers value.

Great location for those visiting the Far Western suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Keen,


Thank you for taking the time to write us concerning the excellent stay that you had at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I certainly agree that the staff is friendly and outstanding, and I also thank you for your kind words about Carlos and Angel. They do an excellent job helping to ensure that our guests have a great time while with us.

We thank you for being a loyal guest and look forward to your next stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, St. Charles, IL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked our room on Priceline and it seems like this Holiday Inn Express treated us as less-worthy guests as a result. When we checked in the front desk clerk informed us that we were given a smoking room (first, I didn't realize hotels had smoking rooms these days, secondly, we never requested such a room which seems like a requirement for subjecting someone to a smoking room)This was cleared up and we were given a open room right next to the smoking wing. (fine...but not great since smoke smells don't seem to be contained to just the room) Then the guy is explaining how we get to our 2nd floor room and informs us that there is no elevator. We were traveling with kids, which means we weren't traveling light. My poor husband had to haul everything up the stairs, down and around several hallways and make multiple trips.
This location also needed updating. Wallpaper was peeling and the hallways were stinky. I would not recommend anyone staying here. Other Holiday Inn Expresses have been very comfortable and nice...not this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear UWBadger22,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay. I apologize for the issues that you represented to us.

I can assure you that we do not differentiate between any of our guests, be they Platinum Rewards members or Hotwire/Priceline booking guests. One distinction, however, is that when you book a room on one of the opaque channels it is booked as a "run of house" room-that is, no choice of accommodation type. It is unfortunate that Priceline did not make you aware of that before you booked. Since we were in a near sell-out position we assigned to you the room type that was available. I am glad, though, that the staff was able to move your accommodation at your request and provide you a non-smoking room.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and I am very sorry that you had a less than excellent stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best accommodations and most excellent guest service in the market and we are most dismayed when that fails to occur.

If I can be of any further assistance to you please do not hestiate to contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Figuring being a holiday inn things would be fine, boy were we wrong. When you wait longer than 20 minutes to get checked in should have been our first sign... Room service lady had to tell us the front desk person would be right back... Yea in 20 minutes!!! Security door getting into the building doesn't close, let alone lock, and we have MOLD all over in our bathroom! This place is so dirty, can't wait to get out of here!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Kacieb123456,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret you found our level of service and cleanliness less than satisfactory. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to assure you that the points you've raised will be looked into.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is a bit old and worn but they make up for it in customer service.Good breakfast and enjoyed the new addition of pancakes. The beds were a bit saggy. The management at the Holiday Inn Express hotels seem to more visible than before and eager to please. No indoor pool, which the nearby Hampton Inn has...but a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear tlscorpio,

Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your stay at Holiday Inn Express St. Charles, IL. I agree that our team members provide excellent customer service, and all have the do whatever it takes attitude.

We are in the process of updating and renovating areas of the hotel, with particular emphasis on changing out some of the bedding that is due to be retired. I encourage you to visit us on your next trip to the St. Charles, IL area to see the updates we have planned.

Again, thank you for your time and kind words, and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1600 E. Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a lobby and breakfast room remodel. Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites St. Charles! The moment you enter our newly renovated lobby, you are welcomed into a unique hotel with a mix of contemporary design and charming traditional ambiance complimented by personalized service and contemporary amenities.The Quality Inn & Suites St. Charles is located in the scenic Fox River Valley near many attractions such as the Kane County Fair Grounds, Fox Valley Ice Arena, Nobel Fool Theater and the Kane County Cougar s Baseball Stadium to name a few. In addition, we are approximately 2 miles west from the quaint shops, & numerous restaurants that downtown St. Charles has to offer. Business near by include, ConAgra Foods, Power Packaging, Siemens, Fermi Lab National Headquarters and Ball Horticultural. Our newly renovated St. Charles hotel features 122 guest rooms, two meeting rooms with 1,500 square feet of total meeting space, free wireless high-speed Internet access, and a seasonal outdoor pool. In addition, guest laundry & same day valet laundry services, a 24-hour business center, 24 hour fitness center and our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar served every morning 6 AM to 10 AM featuring Holiday Inn Express signature cinnamon rolls, rotating hot items & much more! Visit St. Charles, IL and Stay Smart at the Quality Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Holiday Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.